We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven....”
Review of Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“A little piece of heaven....”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Pelagos and we can't rate it highly enough. There was 9 of us (and an 8 month old baby) and it was the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. The apartments are clean and freshly decorated and are set in a quiet location away from the road. There are a couple of beaches within walking distance but to be honest the pool is so lovely that you will struggle to pull yourself away from it. The food here is excellent; straight from the garden to the plate with a nice selection of traditional Greek dishes as well as some old favourites. The best part about this place is the staff - so helpful and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble! Thanks Antonis and Pericles for being such amazing hosts and taking care of our numerous requests! We definitely hope to return even if it is just for the spaghetti bolognese!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBandPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    32
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
47
108
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a second trip to Pelagos, after a wonderful time last summer. It's a perfect place -- beautiful pool area, the most delicious home-cooked food on the island, and impeccable service from Antonis and the team. We are torn between wanting to keep the place a secret and spreading the word about their good work! If you are considering staying here, go for it; you won't find a more reasonable or hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IVWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in Nice
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There are 3 'terrible' and 2 'average' reviews of Pelagos on TripAdvisor. They are from 4 years ago or more, and since then ownership has changed. I don't know what it was like back then, but now the service is amazing. From the moment we arrived, we were treated very well and all the staff were so helpful.

It really makes a difference, especially when coming off a ferry and carrying all your bags in hot weather. Rather than just being given a key to our room and then off to do our own thing, the staff encouraged us to rest a bit, have a cool drink if we wanted, maybe eat some lunch. I was sort of in a bad mood when I arrived but the warm welcome turned that around.

The room we got was amazing, on the second floor, with access to a north and south aspect. Great for all times of the day, especially in the evening when the stars and the galaxy are easy to see with the naked eye. Pelagos is even 10 minutes walk from the beach, and you can have even more darkness there to view the stars (or go for a swim during the day of course!).

Anywhere you stay in Santorini, you will need a car to go where you want (easy to rent anywhere). So even though Pelagos isn't in a village, it doesn't make a difference (5 minute drive away). And in any case, you're probably better off not staying in a village just because this way you are closer to a beach, and it is less busy.

Anything you need to organise, Adonis and his staff will help you with. Cruise, car/scooter/quad rental, taxi, transfer, dinner. And the prices they organise for you will be the same as anywhere on the island so it's best to organise with them.

I could say a lot more about how great our stay was but I'll keep it short.
TL;DR. Warm welcome, amazing service, great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozdogzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed a week at pelagos after our wedding and it was a great stay! The hotel is ran by two amazing guys Antonis and Perikles. From the start they made us feel really welcome and the they are genuinly nice people. The hotel itself has a beatiful pool area with great relaxing atmosphere, good music and really nice food: all the greens come from their own garden and are cooked home-style in the small kitchen. We tried allmost everything on the menue and everything was delicious! We had a car for the whole week and we strongly advise everyone staying there to rent some transportation (either a car or a quadbike etc.) because it is 3km from Oia and the walk is 40 mins alonside the road. For us the location was perfect; there is no rush, no tourists walking by, no traffic, just calming, relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is not luxury by posh standards, clean nice rooms with daily housekeeping. I strongly recommend this hotel for it's great staff, great pool area and good location outside of busy and touristy Oia

To Antonis and Perikles; if you guys read this, thanks again for making our honeymoon just perfect!

-Janne and Tiina

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The pool is beautiful, though we didn't swim there, we walked to a close by secluded rocky beach that was lovely and recommended by Perry! Very relaxed feel! Some rooms can reach the wifi, ours didn't, but when we wanted to check our email or face time family the pool area was a nice relaxing area to do it by. Nice breakfast! Loved everyone we met there! We got married during our stay, and the staff helped make it special!! It is out of the hustle and bustle of Oia's center, so if that's not what you're looking for, you won't be happy at this hotel. For us it was great! We went into Oia or Fira when we wanted, and got to feel away from it when we didn't. Also, we loved the restaurants recommended by staff!! Everyone here was so helpful, cheerful, and lovely, it really made our stay memorable! Rooms are large and very clean, with a little patio area outside the rooms with some chairs. Bathrooms are similar to other places we've experienced during our stay, small, and with a stand shower not attached to a tub. Lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lostgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Where to start - there are so many wonderful things about Pelagos. The staff could not be more helpful (thanks to Perry and Antonis), nothing was too much trouble. Most food is organic and home grown on the premises. The pool is lovely and has sun loungers and tables to eat at, towels are provided for free. Our 4 person studio was spacious and fully equipped and had maid service every day. You do need a car as its quite a remote location, but it's walking distance to a small black sand beach. It is a 10 min drive to Oia (great to watch the sunset at Ochre) and 20 mins to Fira which has good night life. Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days here and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The owner (Adonis) and bartender (Pericles) sold the place. The accommodations are absolutely lovely -- though the steps to get to our bed were a bit tricky for a tall guy like me. I liked being away from the city by just a few km; this hotel was more of a place to relax rather than get caught up in the tourist-y parts of Thira.

We spent a fair amount of time on Santorini just enjoying drinks by the pool, playing with the hotel's mascot (Sheila the dog). Pericles was fluent in both English and French, so once our limited Greek vocabulary gave out, he was kind enough to chat the night away in language of choice!

The meals were fantastic -- everything (near as we could tell) grown on the hotel grounds. We had this one apricot smoothie where Adonis just wandered over, picked the fruit, and put them in the blender.. and every meal seemed to have that touch.

Overall, just a fantastic trip -- would definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: If you are big or tall, try to avoid one of the "loft" rooms -- the steps, and getting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
1.3 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
7.7 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
1.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
1.8 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.7 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Hotel-Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Property: Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Address: Pelagos hotel, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Oia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelagos Hotel-Oia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelagos is located at “Baxedes” of Oia in Santorini island, just 3km from the center of Oia village and 200m from the most beautiful beach of Oia, among vineyards and gardens where you will find all the beauty and calmness for your relaxation. You can choose to swim in the beautiful and nearby beach of the hotel (300m), or in one of the nearby beaches (Columbo, Paradisos, Pori), or to take a dive in our amazing pool (10m x 20m). For our little guests there is a smaller swimming pool. Relax drinking your coffee or cocktail at the fully equipped bar and try traditional Greek cuisine in the renovated restaurant next to the pool and in the shade of the vineyard surrounded by friendly and cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pelagos Hotel-Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Traditional Studios Hotel Oia
Pelagos Traditional Studios Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing