We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini is stunning; Fanari made it magical”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently stayed at Fanari Villas for five nights, and couldn't be happier. We were unsure how the stay could live up to the reviews we'd read on this site, but it really exceeded our expectations.

The location is unmatched in its beauty, with the private terrace giving a remarkable view of Oia's famous sunsets. And our suite (number two) was both spacious and surprisingly cool even with the air conditioning switched off - this was a pleasant relief when the heat got a little too much! Everything was clean, well-presented and with modern facilities, but with a traditional twist in the cave setting. The suite was right next to the pool, and it was the perfect temperature for cooling off. Opening the doors each morning was truly breathtaking.

The courteous and friendly staff made us feel welcome from the moment we had booked. As well as arranging airport transfers, they suggested restaurants and activities while we were on the island, including making reservations. And a bottle of wine was waiting for us in our suite when we arrived. During our stay, we witnessed a wedding taking place in the complex (wow, what a destination!) as well as another couple planning their upcoming wedding with staff. And with all interactions we saw, as well as our own experiences, it was clear the staff are willing to spend the time to truly understand their guests' needs.

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Fanari Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 315 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location superb, the facilities clean and tranquil, the staff courteous and gracious - best four day mini break I have been fortunate enough in my life time to experience. The view amazing, everyday I woke up was like waking up to WOW !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Keenlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Fanari for 5 nights in the summer for our first trip to the Greek Islands, and our stay was perfect! Oia is a beautiful village with great restaurants and lovely people. The staff at Fanari went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as good as it possibly could be. Our fantastic suite overlooked Amoudi bay and the Santorini caldera and we had a perfect view of the famous Oia sunset from our private balcony. It was simply amazing! Can't wait to get back there for another trip as soon as possible. The staff felt like old friends by the time we left. They are absolute gems of the service industry. Nikolai, Mimi and Maya are amazing hosts and will make you laugh and feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. A perfect 5 days in paradise. Note: for older or less physically able people, there are a lot of stairs in Oia, and this includes Fanari Villas. But that's what makes the location so amazing and have such beautiful views from the cliffs. (And the porter will carry all your luggage up and down the stairs).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roscoe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I went to Oia Santorini to celebrate our 10th year anniversary. We stayed in Fanari villas for 3D2N. We had a beautiful spacious room with private balcony. We had the beautiful sunset in Oia. The staff here are friendly especially Nicholas & Maya. We definitely will come back! For sure not just 3D2N ^^

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank thomashino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

As my husband and I begin this review, we realize we have a hard time putting into words just how remarkable and wondrous Fanari Villas truly is. Our expectations were exceeded beyond our wildest imagination.

We recently stayed in the "Sunset Honeymoon Suite" for 5 nights. Santorini was our first stop on our honeymoon and we had lost our luggage on the way over from the states. The second we got to Fanari, Mimi and Nicholas took our luggage situation into their hands and tracked down our bags, ensuring that they were delivered in time for us to have our clothes and amenities the next day. From then on out, we felt that we had known Mimi and Nicholas for years as they were exceptionally accommodating and always greeted you on a first name basis.

The Sunset Honeymoon Suite was absolutely breathtaking. You have a perfect view of the sunset every evening as well as amazing views of the rest of the island. We really enjoyed having our complimentary (yes, complimentary!) bottle of wine on our private deck every evening with some local snacks as we watched the sunset.

Every morning we jumped out of bed and eagerly went down to the breakfast Fanari provides. We are still talking about the breakfast to this day! The spread is diverse, delicious (some of the best eggs we have ever had AND they make their peanut butter every day) and the view from the breakfast patio is exquisite!

Fanari is in a perfect location. Removed from the "tourist hub" of Oia which makes it very quiet and romantic, but it is still easy to get anywhere on foot within minutes. We loved taking the steep donkey trail down to Amoudi Bay to eat lunch and swim at the swimming spot around the rocks.

We cannot encourage you enough to plan your stay at Fanari Vilas. It was a dream and our favorite part of the entire honeymoon in Europe. We already are saving for our next trip back and could not imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Fanari Villas during our honeymoon. I have previously been to Santorini with a few of my girlfriends, however it was my husband's first time there. Although this was my second time to the island, it was my first stay in Oia. Fanari Villas is in such an amazing location. Although in Oia, Fanari Villas is almost as north as you can get and quietly tucked away from tourist hubs and restaurants in the Oia center. We were greeted by Nicolas and Mimi who were young and willing to accommodate us to whatever we needed. They even called the boat company to reserve us tickets and picked them up for us! We later met Mia who was also just so nice and cheerful. Although there was a slight mix-up with our room, they apologized profusely and moved us to our correct room. They also treated us to a dinner at their restaurant one night and gave us what I think (and what Mia thinks!) the best table on their beautiful balcony. The sunsets are amazing in Oia. People actually clap when the sun goes down! And Fanari Villas is THE place to watch it from. The service was magnificent, the rooms were very clean, and the hotel had this rustic Greek charm that you want when staying on the islands. If we were back in Santorini, we'd shout it from the cliff: You cannot go wrong if you stay at Fanari Villas!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time in Santorini at Fanari Villas. This is a perfect location to stay with stunning views of the Caldera and sunset.

The room was spacious and comfortable; difficult to find any fault, but if I had to find anything, I would have to say it was the housekeeping. We stayed for 11 nights and in that time the floors and surfaces were never swept or dusted in our room.

We upgraded to a room with a Jacuzzi because of the length of our stay, however if we were to return I would not go to the expense if there for a shorter period of time.

I cannot single out an individual member of staff as every single one was perfect. Everyone made our stay welcome and comfortable and was so helpful they could not have done more.

Breakfast in the hotel was perfect, with more than enough variety for everyone to find what they like. I did struggle with the coffee however and you can order a cappuccino but you will have to pay extra for it I believe €4.5; for me it was a small price to pay.

The island is beautiful, lots of walks including the hike from Fira to Oia which we actually did three times! We certainly did not need to rent a car because of the location at which we stayed, and the local buses run extremely frequently and are on time!

Very rarely returned to the same place twice, but definitely will be returning here!

Would recommend the following:

Oia to Fira or Fira to Oia (approximately 4 hours, take lots of water and trainer type shoes)
Amoudi bay
Byzantine castle ruins
Kamari beach (best of all beaches; buy some cheap swimming shoes when you're there approximately nine euros as the black stones are extremely hot)
Akrotiri ruins
Fira
Monday 16 chillax in Oia
Tuesday hike Fira to Oia 3:20hrs
Wednesday cruise
Semi-intimate Catamaran island cruise (don't choose any other as totally cramped this one was perfect €150 per person)
Skaros

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.5 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#8 of 56 in Oia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $426 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing