We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cave room and beautiful views”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Fanari Villas on the last night of our holiday to Santorini. We organised a transfer to the villas from our previous hotel in Imerovigli which cost 15 euro. Our taxi driver called through to the villas to let them know we were arriving and a porter met us at the main car park which was about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

The room was a junior suite 'cave' style with a great view of Therasia and the Med from the Patio. The furnishings had a nautical feel and the bathroom contained a jacuzzi but could have done with a bit of modernisation. When we arrived in our room we were presented with a nice bottle of red wine and some fresh flowers. The pool area was great although the pool could do with some depth indicators and the ladder in the cave was a bit loose. We watched the famous Oia sunset from our patio in the evening which provided us with the perfect view without the crowds. The hotel is in a great location to explore Oia.

The breakfast the next day was buffet style again with magnificent views from the restaurant area. The staff were really helpful and we were allowed to keep our room the next day until 7pm for free as there were no occupants the following day which was really generous.

We would recommend the Fanari Villas for a well placed hotel to visit Oia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunset view to avoid the Oia crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 316 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here as a birthday surprise for my husband during our trip to Oia. The view from our hotel room was just absolutely stunning and the staff was just great. They were very accommodating and made sure that everything was in order and perfect. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on out own private terrace and watch the beautiful sunset. This place is just amazing! Very romantic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaGirl0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, it was the last hotel stay in our Greek islands holiday. We booked initially for 3 nights and ended up extending our stay for a further 6 nights as Oia is such a lovely place and the hotel is situated in an excellent position. (The photos I've posted show all the people gathering at the old castle to watch the sunset which we were able to enjoy from the terrace which was fairly private.)

If you are travelling as a couple and wanting privacy, I would make sure you state when booking you need as private as possible an area. Some terraces were better than others. We were travelling as a family of 4 therefore we had two rooms which meant we had a whole terrace to ourselves and we moved halfway through our stay to two new rooms which were cosier but even more private.

The location really is the best feature of the hotel. I had to think hard whether I could rate this 'excellent' versus 'very good' but we had just stayed at the 'Rocabella Art' in Mykonos (similarly rated 4 star) which was perhaps not situated in such a spectacular location but it was so much better in service, comfort and food. And I have to agree with a recent reviewer that the female on the reception desk was rather rude on several occasions. (Definitely needs to work on her people skills!) I didn't bring it up with the lovely Nicolas (also at reception) because hey, we were on holiday and couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

The beds could be softer, the food could be better, the reception desk female could be less abrasive. But otherwise we had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Needed 4 nights to relax between busy work schedule. This place is amazing! The staff are wonderful. The location is the best I have ever seen. The food is great. You feel as if have come home. Your spirit relaxes and all is well! The staff have got the balance exactly right - all the service and attention you need, but also sufficient space and distance so you can be yourself as required. Not an easy thing to do, but they achieve it with grace and style. Those used to boutique luxury hotels will find this very much to their liking. The location is beyond words. You simply must experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trubeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Views from hotel room and restaurant were extremely great ! We've never experienced such great views ! But an female clerk at front desk gave us terrible impression. Her attitude was rude and impolite. That made our trip spoiled... Aside from that, everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingkazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FANARI, Guest Relations Manager at Fanari Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for spending some time to write for us after departing our complex.

We surprisingly read your notes that created us mixed sentiments. We are pleased that you found your stay with us pleasant & “excellent” but we were disappointed that you got the impression that our personnel / colleagues were behaved inappropriate and “impolitely”, as you noted, as it was not reported any insidence or issue.

Really it is the first time that we receive such comment as it is our basic and stable policy that we try to reach and fulfill our clients’ expectations as much as we can because we believe that you are working minimum 360 days of the year and you need these 3-5 “holly-days” to relax and feel like home cocooning.

We hope that you would give us the chance in the future to welcome you once more and feel the hospitality by enjoying our unique style and facilities of our complex.

Thank you for your sincere and constructive comments, which we always encourage and take under great consideration.

Remaining at your disposal

Alexandra Darzentas
Guest Relations & Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything was terrific. Great room for the three of us. We had a perfect sunset viewer on our balcony.The food in the restaurant as well as breakfast was delicious. The location was perfect.. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannatravel_ny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Fanari Villas for a week in June and it was faultless. Nikolas and his colleagues were very friendly and very helpful throughout the week. Car hire, trip bookings, restaurant booking were all taken care of very easily at reception.
The room was nice and the location is 10/10. We had the sunset view every night from our balcony. The pool/sun lounging area is fairly small but it was never busy so it was perfect.
The breakfast (buffet style) was good and had a lot of choice. The food at the restaurant was amazing too with good service and a great view!
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of going to Oia, Santorini.

Ryan & Ashley

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which was perfect for the two of us. Luggage/clothing space is limited but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $443 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing