We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic place on earth”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I was here in a honeymoonish vacation and cannot forget it still. Spectacular views during the sunset. Everyone on the island come here everyday to see the sunset.

Great food, great view, very cozy rooms, and price comes with the experience of course.

You should never think of staying else where then OIA in Santaroni. Hotel is located close to the Best restaurants and shops in OIA. Fira is a wird tourist attraction and nothing else.

Overall it is worth for the experience

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MertKaymakci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great location to view the sunset, friendly and helpful staff - but didn't meet our expectations just upon considering their pricey room rates. The room itself is large enough, but the interior is all dated and needs refurbishment. The bathroom is especially quite dated - every time we used the shower, the bathroom floor was all wet and we felt yucky.
If you expect a beautiful hotel with spotlessly clean guest rooms, you would be very disappointed... It might be good for a family, but if you are on your honeymoon trip, I recommend you would rather look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tabi_mania_plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located , has a great view of the Caldera and you can enjoy the sunset with a drink at the tables in the terrace. All the people very kind and make you feel welcomed. The Restaurant very recomendable, with a good wine selection. I would certainly come back.
It is not necesary to rent a car, because they arrange everything for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Being in Fanari was indescriptible, the hotel is beautiful, and the view the best in santorini, Nikolai (the receptionist) is just wonderful, he helped us with everything, including some problems we had with the arrival, he also gave us an upgrade of our room, and was very kind always. The room was just like a dream, very clean and full of details, so, if you want to pass the day of your life somewhere in the world, let Fanari do de magic!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidErnesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Fanari Villas to celebrate our anniversary. After much deliberation, reading and rereading of reviews, we determined Fanari Villas was the perfect place to have privacy while viewing the spectacular sunset from our room. While the sunset did not cooperate everyday due to much cloud coverage, the room did. It was quaint and elegant, wrapped into one. The staff was always readily available to help with any glitches, particularly internet problems. We were always greeted with a 'Goodmorning' or 'Good afternoon'. We felt like we had our own little apartment in Santorini. It was romantic and beauitful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Fanari Villas for a week for our honeymoon. The Fanari was absolutely fantastic! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the amazingly friendly and professional front desk staff and given a personal tour of the hotel grounds. You just feel welcomed and get that personal touch that you cannot find at big hotel chains. The accommodations were authentic Greek with a modern twist and we had two balconies overlooking the Caldera and had priceless views of the famous Santorini sunset. The Fanari offered continental breakfast, WiFi, and DVD’s at no additional charge to their guests which were really nice amenities. The front desk staff was available all day to address any needs or concerns. They arranged all of our excursions, they exchanged money for us, and so much more! Everything was carefree and easy and really made the trip enjoyable and relaxing. The Fanari is also conveniently located only 5 minutes from the center of Oia, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants, and lounges/bars. The Fanari also has an amazing in-house fine dining restaurant that has beautiful views and the best food in Oia. If I visit Santorini again, I will definitely stay at the Fanari Villas and I highly recommend staying at this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room overlooking the Caldera and the one floor suites were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Even for the most experienced traveler, Fanari Villas are a dream come true. The small collection of white washed, cave villas are perched on top of "sunset view" in Oia. The only thing you need to do from any room of this hotel to view one of the world's most impressive sunsets is to open your eyes. The views are breathtaking 24h a day - yes even at nighttime you can view the Milky Way or the Ammoudi Bay below from your eagle's nest location.

The entire staff are very friendly, professional and helpful - perfectly extending the owners' personality and attention to detail to all corners of the property. The front staff of Nicholas and Poppe are both darling nice and lead the chorus of friendly conversations.

Rooms are spacious, well decorated, well accessorized and each one is uniquely beautiful.

ONLY warning is if you have trouble with going up and down steps, this property is not for you. Then again probably much of Santorini will be out of your range.

Room Tip: No bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeseBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.8 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $398 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing