We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most incredible hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most incredible hotel!”
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Ikies is among the most beautiful, serene places I have ever visited. The staff, Elena and the rest, are so warm and welcoming and the hotel is so quiet that we often felt like we were the only guests there. The view is unbelievable- I have never seen light like the light in Santorini. And it's a quick walk into town if you can motivate to leave the hotel. I cannot recommend this hotel more. We loved every second of our stay.

  • Liked — Quiet and romantic
  • Disliked — I loved it all
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LF-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
543
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

I have traveled to almost all of the continents and so many countries that I lost count.

This is the nicest, most friendly, professional, luxurious, and just all around wonderful place I have ever stayed.

I am v hard on hotels on this site as I always give a review and I think a hotels job is very simple, its not a guessing game. But Ikies outdoes all expectations and does it with a genuine smile.

It is a bit pricey, but you'll be happy you stayed there.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bronco1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We should not have waited so long to write this, I guess we are still recovering from being home after the fabulous time we had at Ikies. We had high hopes as the service received even before we arrived was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble, it was like staying with friends.
When we arrived, the Ikies folks were there to meet us and nothing could have preapred us for the breathtaking view that awaited us on the short walk to the house. It was paradise, you could not help but relax, which is what we needed most.
This was out 1st wedding anniversary, it was romantic luxury. The breakfast is served on your own terrace at a time to suit you, scrumptious. We stayed in the House of the Cook for 4 nights and then (as we could not bare to leave) the Gardeners House.
Apart from the view, hospitality, sunsets, fabulous houses, tasty breakfast and need I go on-it's the people here that really make your stay memorable. I can honesty say that this must be the best place on earth, I would go back tomorrow if I could.
I can not thank Ikies enough for letting us share in this really magical location.
Thanks, we will be back. Tom & Julie

  • Liked — View and hospitality
  • Disliked — Having to come home
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Sleighties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

My wife and I decided to go to Greece for our honeymoon, and couldn't decide what hotel to stay at. We looked and looked and finally she came across Ikies and absoultely loved it. She was right. From the first moment that we arrived at the airport to the ride back to the airport everything was fantastic. We went in the slow season, but would definitely recommend going there then. The food service was excellent, all you had to do is make a request of time you would like your breakfast and what you wanted for breakfast and they would have it on your patio waiting for you every morning. The concierge service was excellent as well. We requested dinner reservations, flight reservations, boating excursions and even taxis the day before we wanted them and everything was taken care of. We never had to worry about that. If you don't want to take a taxi everywhere and want to drive they even have a deal with a rental car company and they will arrange for you to have a rental car. The concierge staff was friendly and informative. They would recommend things that are good and be honest on the things that are not so good. They recommended Captain Ted's adventure and it was the best time we have ever had. I will be honest with you that alot of the hotels look the same and have the same kind of feel, especially in Oia, but the friendly service and prompt response to things that you request set Ikies far above the other hotels in Oia. I would recommend going to this place anytime of year. This is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Liked — My room was amazing.
  • Disliked — Alot of stairs everywhere.
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately pick Ikies
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank scottraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I can't really say anything that hasn't been said by the review immediately preceeding mine...other than I agree entirely.

Oia is beautiful and unless you are looking to be right in the middle of a busy (read, slightly dirty and rundown), small city, I wouldn't recommend Fira. As many guide books suggest, go to Fira for some action, stay in Oia. It doesn't take long to figure out how to navigate Santorini, so exploring the entire island is possible from any of the towns you may choose to stay.

Most of the hotels in Oia have nice views, so I imagine it is service and cleanlyness that really matter when choosing one. The staff at Ikies was super friendly, accomodating and ready to help you do anything it is that you wanted to accomplish. Which is probably sit on your balcony and take in the fact that you picked the perfect spot to spend your holiday.

We stayed in the Antiquarian room. Just 2 of us in a 2 bedroom room, so for us it was quite large. As is the balcony, which while not entirely secluded, was still very private as there aren't that many guests bustling around anyway.

We, like many, moved from Santorini on to Mykonos and kept wishing we were back at Ikies for the rest of our honeymoon.

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — Greek plumbing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure to visit the restaurants in Amoodi Bay
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank tannins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2006

We had a fantasic stay at Ikies in September, staying in the House of the Captain. Ikies was the highlight of our trip to Santorini. Our suite couldn't have been more luxurious and beautiful. As stunning as the photographs are of this place, pictures can not do it justice. Ikies is just stunning. We were pampered and spoiled the whole time, and had a very difficult time adjusting to our next hotel! We loved the wonderful breakfasts, our very private hot tub, and our balcony, which was perfectly designed to let us imagine we were the only people there. And the view!!! Sunsets over the caldera were a magical, spectacular experience. We LOVED Ikies!

  • Liked — utterly gorgeous views
  • Disliked — nothing. It was perfect
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Sisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing