We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and stayed two nights at Ikies. The hotel is built on the caldera in Santorini, and the view is spectacular, especially at sunset. It is within walking distance of Oia.
Our room was 2 floors, with the bedroom on top. Each morning, breakfast was served on our terrace, and the food was fine. The staff was eager to help in whatever way possible.
All in all, this is a great place. I strongly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Elliott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Ikies - Traditional Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

If I could give more stars, I would! Ikies is, without a doubt, the most unique and wonderful hotel that we have stayed in anywhere in the world! We visited for our Honeymoon and just now for our 5th Year Anniversary and stayed in the Carpenter Suite both times! The accommodations are absolutely amazing and, again, so incredibly unique. Each room/cave is built into the side of the cliff! My husband loved the steam room in our bathroom and the hot tub on our large patio, which he enjoyed each day. Breakfast is served each morning at the time of your choosing on your patio with complete views of the Caldera! We have to truly thank everyone there for making our time (each one) at the hotel something we will never forget! Looking forward to returning again!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Carpenter's Suite, which is situated at the end of the hotel and up agai...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A beautiful traditional hotel with modern touches without the snobby stuffy hotel vibe. The staff tends to your every need and are also just good kind people. It felt like home while we were there. It is in a great location in the village of Oia but not in the middle of the foot traffic. Spend the money and get a room with a private mini pool and add breakfast to your stay.
Will be back again!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a room with a private mini pool
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaLaLuna36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was a beautiful hotel with an amazing view. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The best part was the staff. They were so kind and helpful. They made dinner recommendations and made reservations for us. I am vegan and they actually talked to the restaurants for me to make sure I could eat there. They booked a tour for us and were always inquiring to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstr1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I still can't believe this place is real. The whole time I was there it felt like a dream.
The feeling when you are in Oia is like nothing I've felt before, pure joy,love. Too hard to describe in words.

We caught the bus from Fira and walked around to find Ikies, I left my partner waiting at the church with the luggage and went off to find it. As I got to the hotel and explained that my partner was at the church, the lady at the reception told me to get in her car and off we went to get him and drove us back to the hotel. No hassle what so ever.

We checked in and basically spent the rest of the day at the pool and on our balcony just starring into the amazing view ikies had to offer.
Eveytime we would order something, the waiter would bring it out with the biggest and the nicest smile making us feel so comfortable.

I live in japan where you basically get good service everywhere you go, so my standard is quite high.. but at Ikies the service was so natural, it was like coming from the heart. Everyone was so kind and would go out of your way.
So happy with the location, service, and the atmosphere.
Highly recommended! Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is definitely worth the splurge to stay here. The service can't be beat, the rooms are FANTASTIC (beautiful layouts, wonderfully, clean, great amenities [drinks, snacks, the BEST internet connections/WiFi in Greece]). In fact, our group had a hard time LEAVING the room each day to explore Santorini - the breakfasts and other room service items were wonderful, the view from our room unbeatable, and the service was one of the best I have encountered in my world travels. We all had a tendency to just want to stay at IKIES all the time. If you take a look at the photo from the room's indoor-outdoor jacuzzi, you can get a hint of why we wanted to stay in our rooms all of the time.

I am especially glad that we stayed at IKIES because of it's location - it is on the south side of town, but near the main walkway to Oia. Therefore, it is a lot quieter and you don't have a lot of tourists looking down at your patio/pool while you are trying to relax outside (unlike most of the hotels along the Caldera in the heart of Oia).

All of us loved IKIES (and our rooms in the Collector's House) so much, we are already planning on a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

How do you put into words something you struggle to find words for?
This was our second visit to the Ikies and we fell in love with it all over again. We stayed in the Boatmans house this time and being higher up the cliff the views over the town and the caldera were spectacular. Every time you walk out onto your terrace it takes your breath away, the deep shimmering blue of the water framing the white painted houses that cling to the russet tones of the cliff side. You feel the warmth on your face cooled by a breath of breeze and as you stand there as high as the Gods the birds ride the thermals then swoop and glide as if performing just for you.
Could you ever tire of sitting in your jacuzzi, a chilled white wine in hand with a view of heaven before you ? I think not and with all this what could make it any better? Well the amazing staff for one. They never miss a beat and genuinely care about their guests doing all they can to make sure you have your own Santorini experience. They heated the tub to bath water temperature so we could ease own weary bones after arriving at eleven o'clock at night and to sit there with the sparkling lights of Oia in front of us and ice bright stars against the darkest black velvet sky above gave us an amazing start to our stay. Having a breakfast of delicious produce laid out with such grace on your terrace is had to beat and now with the added selection of eggs to the menu you have even more choice.
Our room although smaller than the suite we had last time was more than adequate and the fact it was smaller made the air conditioning more effective and it soon felt like our own little Santorini home and one we did not want to leave.
When we did venture out the 15 minute walk into town gave more time to gaze over the caldera and is only marred by a short stretch of road with no pavement so do keep an eye on the traffic but you are soon in the pristine whitewashed town of Oia.
Do try the little tavernas down the little side streets and also the ones going out of the town especially Anemomilos as they knock the spots off the hyped up places, after all you don't need a restaurant with a view as non of them will beat the one you wake up to every morning.
I could go on but I will leave you to feel your own heart swell with joy when you have that special Santorini experience at the Ikies that you have all been dreaming of.

Room Tip: Spend as much as you can afford you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GILLChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#8 of 56 in Oia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $411 - $1,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing