We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Casual Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are not too many words to describe our experience at Ikies but "perfect." The Oia location is absolutely ideal, near the village but not in it. The rooms are charming and cozy and the views are endless. The breakfasts were wonderful and and the staff was accommodating in every way. We hope for a romantic return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Fisherman's Cottage was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SearchingUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear SearchingUsa,
Thank you for your kindness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 wonderful days on this stunning island, and the hotel and the staff are just simply amazing. Marie, Katarina, Loella and Michael made our vacation so special, and the hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. We stayed in the House of the Sailor and it had a wonderful view. Breakfast is elegantly served on your patio every morning, and I have no complaints about the housekeeping at all. All you have to do is ask and you will be provided with fresh towels and evening turn down service. The meals at lunch and dinner are excellent. The wine is also fabulous. The walk into town only takes about ten minutes and there are lots of shops and restaurants. We were also able to book a private book tour with Captain George on a sunset tour of the caldera. On our last day we spend an hour hanging out with Maria and the girls while waiting for our transfer and I felt like I was with family. You will not regret staying here. I can't wait to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divotdiva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Divotdiva88,
Thank you for such a nice and supportive review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Sailor’s House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went to Ikies for our anniversary and my husband's birthday and I must say it turned out to be one of the most memorable trip of our lives! Santorini/Oia was always in my bucket list and i used to keep seeing the pics of the breathtaking caldera and the oh-so-blue Aegean sea! And i must say that the place turned out to be even more spectacular than i had ever imagined it to be! :) It was also our dream to stay at Ikies...and so it was truly a dream come true! We stayed at d cook's house...small and really cute i'd say with amaaazing views of d caldera from d balcony! I so enjoyed my early morning there and our breakfast was served there as well! Late nights with d lovely breeeze and a lamp lit on that sweet table in d balcony ...are still fresh in my memory! Sunset was ofcourse an out of the world experience ...a must see /do in Oia and we could enjoy that from the comfort of our balcony! The hotel staff was exceptional in their service and sweetness!!!! Maria /Katerina/Loella d three angels! truly! They even helped me organize a sweet surprise for my husband for his bday -all planned over email before we finally arrived(a choc truffle..and they even got us some wine!...i was soo touched and ecstatic with all d help i got to plan that little surprise..Greek people are soo sweet n so warm :)) Also, thru d mails exchanged i had kind of blurted out that its our anniversary and so we were welcomed by a bottle of wine and warm wishes on our arrival ..there was a lovely card wishing us a happy anniversary!) Such sweet small gestures one never forgets. Heartfelt gratitude albeit this review comes in a bit late...but, last yr around this time i was heading to santorini/ikies and so feeling even more nostalgic! And i still remember d amazing food we had at wind mills which Maria recommended to us! Oia was magical! loved d streets d free spirit in d air...d sweetness ..one of d most romantic places i have ever visited! And Ikies surely contributed towards making it d most special vacation! Would definitely go back one day:D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divinedivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear divinedivs,
The gratitude is ours for such a sweet review!
The Cook’s House is indeed perfect for an evening under the stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was our second time at Ikies having visited five years ago for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Boatman's room which, in our opinion, is one of the best rooms on the property. As before, the staff were fantastic and the location and room are perfect. There's not much to add to what others have said before but just that we'll do our best to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The Boatman's is undoubtedly one of the most private and has the most spectacular hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear londonaustralia,
We are honored to have had you back at the hotel for a second time – thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from our anual trip to Greece this year we decided to go to Santorini for a few days first. Our first impressions of the Hotel Ikies and the surrounding area was wow The welcome we got was second to none and nothing was too much trouble from the staff... Waking up on our first morning to a fantastic view of Oia and having our breakfast served to us on our own private patio was something we will never forget. I would recommend Ikies to anyone who wants to be spoilt in fantastic surroundings. The whole experience is quite unique. All our food was served to us on our patio including lunch the quality was superb.

Room Tip: All rooms look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichSuffolkMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear IpswichSuffolkMeg,
Thank you for your great review and praise. We are so glad you enjoyed Santorini and Ikies so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I said at Ikies for three nights in August in the Boatman’s house. We had very high expectations after reading all of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. We had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this place. The view is one of the best in Oia (in my opinion – because you have a full view of the town). But since there are so many reviews boasting that Ikies is “the best hotel I’ve ever stayed at,” I think it’s important to acknowledge that Ikies is not a luxury hotel. It’s a very nice hotel with a five star view, but it is definitely not the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

First off, the staff at Ikies are wonderful. We felt like we were friends with them by the end of our three night stay. They helped us with restaurant reservations and gave us lots of good advice about Santorini. Upon finding out that my husband was allergic to gluten, they immediately went to the store and purchased a box of gluten free cereal for him to eat at breakfast. The service was very personal and you could tell they really wanted to make sure you had a good stay in Santorini.

We stayed in Boatman’s house – and that balcony is really as amazing as the pictures reflect. Although it is right next to reception, it still felt very private. Occasionally other guests would stand close enough to our balcony to be able to see in, but no one ever lingered. The hot tub right on the edge was glorious. They will adjust the temperature upon request – which was great because we made it cold during the day and when we returned back from dinner it would be hot. The balcony also has a large futon for two people, so you can relax comfortably all day and enjoy the view. The room itself is very simply appointed with a queen sized bed – but spacious and had great views out the windows. There is a kitchenette with a refrigerator, small stovetop and plenty of cooking supplies. The bathroom is tiny and only has a small stall shower.

The main pool is very small – but because we had our own hot tub we really didn’t use the pool. There is no real restaurant, but the room rate includes breakfast and there is also a limited menu available during the day. We really enjoyed eating breakfast on our balcony every morning. The food was good, fresh and plentiful.

My only complaint is that, for the price paid, we expected a more “luxury” experience. I knew that the hotel had limited amenities, but I expected the amenities that were offered to be provided at a higher standard. First, the sheets on the bed were so uncomfortable. The hotel needs to invest in higher thread count sheets, or least start using fabric softener. The sheets were extremely rough and scratchy against our skin. Also, our room came with two pool towels. Housekeeping never replaced these towels throughout our entire stay. I understand reusing towels to save water, but housekeeping never even refolded our pool towels, they just stayed untouched draped over the futon during our entire stay. Finally, when we arrived at the hotel, I noticed that the floor of our balcony was dirty and obviously had not been cleaned since the prior guests had checked out. The edges around the hot tub were also dirty and I noticed hairs where someone may have been resting their head while taking a dip. I immediately got a towel and scrubbed it down. I was kind of grossed out and thought about complaining, but didn’t want to be interrupted by housekeeping and just figured they would get to it on the following day. The following day, housekeeping came in and all they did was make the bed, wash the glasses and fold the bath towels. I was annoyed at this point because there were crumbs from breakfast on our balcony, so I went to the front desk and asked that the floor to our balcony be cleaned. They must have simply swept up the crumbs because the floor was still grimy with dirt when we returned to the room. I just gave up caring at that point but for the amount of money we paid, we shouldn’t have to ask to have the room properly cleaned. A dirty balcony may seem trivial to some people, but we spent most of our day relaxing on the balcony, hopping in and out of the hot tub. A quick mop of the floor in between guests would have been sufficient.

We had a great stay at Ikies – and will always remember our visit fondly. Just keep in mind before you book that you are really paying for that amazing five star view and don’t expect luxury amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear JennyG123,
Thank you for your kind review and honest feedback which is much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Boatman’s House and its hot tub but are sincerely sorry to have let you down in terms of our housekeeping services. There are no excuses to be made by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second time at Ikies. It is an exceptionally beautiful hotel. Location, service, staff, and design are all wonderful. Their breakfast is one of the best I have ever had and the view while enjoying it on our private terrace was priceless!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joumrachid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you Joumrachid – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing