We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and thought it was fantastic! The owners and staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. And for us, the location was perfect. The views from the hotel are beyond amazing! It is perfectly located with great views, an easy walk to the rest of town, yet away from the busy center of town. We cannot think of one thing they could have done better to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpwt1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We ourselves cannot get enough of the amazing caldera views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the antiquarian for 4 nights and enjoyed it absolutely. The views from the private terrace are to die for. The room is wonderful and to top if off, the service is the best we have experienced. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel and am planning our next holiday soon !!! Jiko

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jiko,
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit and the Antiquarian’s House so much.
Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in the Collectors Suits for 4 nights, what an absolute piece of paradise! The hosts and staff were eager to please and the Collectors suite was amazing. The private indoor/outdoor jacuzzi was stunning and a great place to watch the sunset. Can't wait to return one day!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Collectors suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquaribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Aquaribbon,
Congratulations once again on your wedding!
We hope you will have lasting memories of your honeymoon on Santorini and the Collector’s House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I spent six days in the House of the Winemaker. There are many things to love about Ikies and in particular about Winemaker. Here are just a couple:

- If you like having both walking access to a bunch of great things to do, but also a quiet retreat, then Ikies has *the* perfect location on Santorini. It is the outermost of the gorgeous cliff hotels in Oia. In other words, the trail from Oia ends at Ikies. (Actually, if you're hiking from Oia to Fira, then you turn left just before Ikies. So not even the hikers walk past Ikies.) Do not underestimate how busy the town of Oia can be. We visited in late May/early June, and already the streets were jam packed with noisy tourists. Ikies provided us both with easy access to the town, but also an escape from the hustle.
- The staff really are lovely people. They are always ready to help, and their advice was invaluable.
- It's been over a decade since I slept as well as I did at Ikies. It probably had a lot to do with Santorini itself (the fresh air, the beauty, etc..), but I've also got to credit the comfort of the bed, the location of the hotel, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toposophic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear toposophic,
Thank you for your praise!
Sleeping well on a vacation is usually at the top of one’s list, so we are glad that you were able to “tick it off” yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodborough Common
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Writing this from my candle lit terrace, next to my hut tub, with my complimentary cocktail in one hand and the provided room laptop on my knee, I begin to think I'm in holiday heaven.

The room we're in is idyllically located within Ikies on the absolute very edge of the Cadera, just within the boundaries of the picturesque town of Oia. We arrived not seven hours ago, greeted by the staff as we got out of our taxi, to complimentary wine (red and white), beer, water and other soft drinks.

Ikies and the people who work there cannot be described in words praise enough. All I can say is believe the hype and make sure you make a visit here one day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear goodfoodandwine,
Thank you for the support and kind words!
It makes us so happy that you enjoyed the room and its facilities.
We also hope you found 'good food and wine' on Santorini!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We travelled as 2 adults and a 1 child and spent 3 nts in the gorgeous collectors room and being at this hotel specifically made our vacation in Santorini even more wonderful. The hotel was walking distance(10 min or less) to main square in Oia and taxis readily available near main square to return to hotel if didn't want to walk back. The collectors room was absolutely beautiful, spacious & very relaxing. The white bedsheets were so soft and inviting, we got a very restful sleep in a truly serene bedroom and a wonderfully serene setting. The showers and the bath products were amazing(hoping to buy some online). The breakfast was scrumptious, and with terrace view that is just unforgettable.
We relaxed in the hot tub overlooking the view of Oia. The staff, went out of their way to be kind and helpful. Our daughter fell in love with the house Cat, Stratos :)

Santorini, and specifically Oia, is a beautiful, memorable breathtaking place and being at Ikies made it even more a magical stay. We highly recommend Ikies for not only their wonderful accomodations but their even more wonderful staff who made our stay there so very very special. Don't hesitate for a second before booking here.

A special thank you to Katerina, Maria, and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: With families, the antiquarian or collectors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mala,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It was a real pleasure having you and your family stay with us.
We are so glad you enjoyed the Collector’s House so much and that Stratos now has a new friend from across the Atlantic ocean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Like so many other reviewers I have nothing but raves for every aspect of Ikies. The view, the location and the rooms themselves but most of all the warmth and quality of the service. The Ikies team truly cares about making your stay nothing short of fantastic. Having gone once before I knew what to expect but I was still completely impressed with the experience. Katerina, Loella and Maria each go out of their way to help make your stay special. They each have the perfect balance between being helpful but non-intrusive. They are warm, knowledgeable and genuinely want to make your experience memorable.
I recommend getting your own private hot tub - the difference in price definitely worth it. My other tip is to eat outside of Oia for at least one evening. Metaxi Mas is well worth the trip - much less expensive - and more authentic than many of the restaurant options in Oia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie5126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jamie,
It was great seeing you again and we are honored that you chose to stay with us a second time.
Our mission this year is to locate other authentic tavernas around the island so that we have more alternatives to suggest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing