We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Romantic, Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing, Romantic, Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the Artisan's Room, which is the second to the leftmost room on the premise. The view of the caldera was amazing from the room; sunset is not to be missed especially when champagne is served. Breakfast is per-ordered the night before, and nicely laid out in the balcony the next morning. You can order anything you want and as much as you like, it's something that we looked forward to every morning. The Artisan's Room is a bit on the smaller side, but it does spelled "traditional" in a good way. The only down side of this room is that the people in the next room have to trespass your balcony to get in and out, so you do lose a little privacy there. The private jacuzzi is spectacular, the staff was very helpful, all and all, it was a wondering experience.

A few practical details, they offer pick-up/drop-off from airport; staff will help you to rent cars and make dinner reservations. They also offer in-room massages, free breakfast in the morning and free champagne / snack in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcmessier73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
543
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ikies for our honeymoon at the end of September and absolutely loved it. We started out in the Carpenter's Suite (one of the two honeymoon suites), which was really spectacular. It had an amazing view, was incredibly spacious and had a nice private jacuzzi. Upon our arrival, we were greated with complimentary local wine (which was delicious) and some local snacks. Each morning we had the delicious breakfast, and the two mornings in the Carpenter's Suite we also received complimentary champagne. After two nights in the Carpenter's, we switched over to the Boatman's studio. It was smaller than the Carpenter's suite, but we actually liked it a bit better. The jacuzzi there was right up against the edge of the balcony, so you could sit there and feel like you were right on the edge of the caldera, which was amazing. The staff at Ikies was super friendly and helpful. Even before we got there, Katerina and Maria were helping us arrange transportation from the airport and helped set up excursions. Once we arrived they answered all of our questions and were really helpful in making reservations and suggesting restaurants and activities. The rooms were super clean and very comfortable. Ikies is just on the outskirts of Oia, so it was pleasantly removed from the hustle and bustle, but a short and easy walk into town. Ikies was definitely a little pricey, but 100% worth the money! I would absolutely recommend it to other couples and honeymooners!

Also, because I know I like to know what there is to do near a hotel, I'll give a few recommendations. We went on the SAFOWI wine tour with Phenix our first day and it was fun and informative, totally recommend it. We also did the sunsert catamaran tour, which was one of the highlights of our trip as we got to watch the sunset swimming in the middle of the ocean. As for restaurants, our two stand out favorites were 1800 and Floga (the tomato bruschetta things and the almond coated fried feta here were delicious). Skala was also good. Many people rave about Ambrosia and, while it was good, we felt it was overrated. We also took a walk down to Ammoudi Bay and ate lunch at the Sunset cafe down there. My husband and I split one of the fresh caught fish for lunch, and it was probably the best fish we had ever eaten. Just be prepared for a long walk (or donkey ride) back up those steps once you get down there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Soon2bworldtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I loved Ikies! The staff, the room and the island were amazing. Thank you Loella, Katerina and Maria for making our time in Santorini a wonderful experience. We will recommend to everyone we meet.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room with a jacuzzi - they cool it off during the hot day and heat it up during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

As with our previous visits, this is the place to stay in Santorini! It is not the most expensive hotel in Santorini but , we think, it is the best. The rooms themselves are comfortable; good design and layout, traditional furniture,but modern beds and bathrooms. The rooms have a romantic feel ...not a sterile contemporary look. The breakfast, served on your deck in front of your room, is bountiful and beautiful and the choices to eat and time are chosen by the guests the night before.They set up candle lit lanterns on the tables outside of your room at night. The views from the decks of your room, are of the caldera and are spectacular from sun up to sun down.One of the highlights of staying here is the staff; they are so accomodating that they have spoiled us for stays at other hotels. Katerina, Loella, Maria, Michael, Beckim, Stavros, Nikos and the rest of the staff made us feel at home. They were never too busy to answer a question or tackle a problem. Some of their dinner recommendations were the best meals we had on the island. This time we came to the hotel with four of our friends. They also enjoyed the place, the pace and the staff just as much as we did!
If you want to stay at an elegant, beautiful, small hotel with accomodating staff, superb breakfast and unbelievable views the this is the place for you!

Room Tip: all good; price is proportional to size of room and amenities...we have seen them all and would sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel meets all what you expect from a luxury trip in Santorini.
It' s decorated and built in typical and characteristic style.
My room, a studio, it was furnished in a simple but elegant way. The bathroom was very good and beautiful.
There is also a beautiful balcony with a breathtaking view.
Wonderful location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irisde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

460 euro per night without free bottle water for all stay long (3 nights). Without free transfer from airport / port to hotel and return. Without 24h reception availability. Without privacy in the room because of housekeeping during our breakfast.(this has happened every day for twice a day.) Without a good separation between shower and toilet so floor was always full of water and no good flow of water in shower. Without a good laptop to connect in internet. (Connection did not work well, I worked better on my mobile phone!). Conclusion: this is not the fair service that justify my money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happydays1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, General Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review IKIES and to post your personal opinion which we respect, as it contains the reasons why you were not happy with your stay. It is a shame however that you did not contact the reception and/or manager with your issues so that we could deal with them immediately and provide you with alternatives.

It would be very easy for us to ask the housekeeping to stay clear of your room when you were there so that you had your own privacy. Privacy is very important but also subjective so it always helps us to know whether our daily procedures create issues to others. You are correct about the water on the bathroom floor and we should put extra bathmats in this specific room for now until we provide a more permanent solution.

With regard to the taxi transfer, we try to make it as clear as possible at the time of booking that it is an extra cost and that the hotel does not have a transfer bus or car to provide the service free of charge. We also inform our guests on the website and on the confirmation email that our reception is not open 24 hours. In addition, as we explain during check-in, the initial contents of the minibar (bottle of water, soft drinks, beer and wine) are complimentary. Finally, had mentioned that the wi-fi signal for your complimentary laptop was not strong enough, we would have tried our best to remedy any possible problems.

We do try to offer all of our guests the best service possible and we would have promptly served you better had we known about your issues and personal preferences. We hope that this experience does not deter you from visiting Greece and Santorini again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Where to start? The room - house of the carpenter - characterful, comfortable, slightly rustic, has televisions ( never turned on - why would you), bathroom good, steam room very good. large patio area with a good hot tub and magnificent views. Not particularly overlooked.
Breakfast - delicious with the best view I've ever had
Snack menu - limited to be fair, but excellent quality.
Staff - could not have been more helpful and pleasant
Clientele - its not cheap which has the added benefit of keeping the louder and noisier element away.
Location - at the outer edge of Oia, nice 10 minute walk into town, no effort. Parking just up from the entrance, signposted on the main road with a rather discrete sign.
I can only offer my highest recommendation, worth every penny, my wife did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms with hut tubs are more expensive but worth it if you can stretch the finances
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing