We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Great wine - not so great service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine Sigalas

Domaine Sigalas
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An award winning winery of Santorini that offers a Wine Tasting Tour (Vineyard, Wine, Gastronomy) and Menu Degustation.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great wine - not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friends and I were introduced to Sigalas wine when we first arrived in Santorini and loved it so we were very excited to hear that the winery was just down the street from where we were staying. Unfortunately, the service was so bad at the winery we preferred to buy the wine and drink it back at our place. When we arrived, we were seated on the terrace and it took almost 20 minutes for them to take our order. We asked for the wine flight but soon realized after another 15 minutes of waiting for the first wine that we would be there for hours so we reduced our order to taste a few wines. We had to repeatedly remind the waitress that we were waiting for our order and couldn't wait to get out of there. It's too bad the experience at the winery didn't match the great quality of the wine.

Visited June 2013
4 Thank Kristen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Relaxed and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sigalas does not offer tours but offers a selection of terrace areas where you can relax with a number of local wines. We took a cab from Oia at the cost of 10 Euros at around 5pm local time and found it relatively empty.

We took our choice of table in partial shade and took the opportunity for a little amble round taking photos.

The wine menus are very good. Sigalas offers around a dozen wines and you have the choice of trying a glass, a bottle, a mini tasting or a full taste of all wines on offer for 11.05 Euros. There is a small food menu to give you something to nibble on while quaffing. All prices for the glasses of wine are about half what you'd pay in the restaurants.

We chose the full tasting. Well it would be rude not to wouldn't it? For our 11 Euros a head, we received 13 glasses of wine: 6 white, 2 rose, 3 red and 2 dessert wines; tasting notes to go with them and as much time as we wanted to go through them.

They are not miserly with the measures either and we enjoyed a good couple of hours there.

All wines are available for sale inside the shop and the ladies who work there are very knowledgeable. They will also order a taxi for you which we were happy to take advantage of - 8 Euros back to Oia.

Very much recommended.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Santorini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This winery offers not only excellent wine but a fabulous menu as well! The views are great, the staff is friendly (helpful with ordering / recommendations, if needed) and the atmosphere is peaceful. A very relaxing afternoon!

Tip: If you are not part of an organized "wine tour" that includes this winery, you will need to either rent a car or take a taxi to reach it. The bus from Fira to Oia doesn't stop near here. My recommendation - rent a car so you can stay as long as you like!

Visited July 2013
1 Thank HolliC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best wine/wine tasting experience in Santorini.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A visit to the Sigalas winery is a must. Their wines are excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgable giving useful information.
Sigalas is off the usual tourist track and it will cost about 10 euros by taxi from Oia or 20 euros from Fira to get there. The cost to taste their full range of 12 wines costs 11.50 euros- but it's well worth it. Their food menu is basic but very tasty and compliments the wines beautifully.

Visited July 2013
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, lovely food and wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped in one afternoon for a quick tasting, was simple and enjoyable. About 15 wines to taste, and a full menu. Setting is perfect under pergolas with the vineyard stretching out the sea. We drove there, would be quite a walk from Oia.

Visited June 2013
Thank CJFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Sigalas also viewed


Been to Domaine Sigalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing