We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$663
$531
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,079
$955
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,075
$886
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$755
$672
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
$423
$343
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$718
$651
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$936
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,102
$942
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,271
$980
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
121
79
39
26
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
79
39
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffthe check in deskcave housesmall fridgewatch the sunsetsea viewhoneymoon suitetransfer servicea wonderful place to stayyour luggagethe main streetsteep stepsamazing locationaccommodationvolcanobalconyinternet
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 292 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

VIP Suites is not really "a hotel" but rather a number of properties that book through a clearing office...the Tourist Office in Oia. And one doesn't know exactly where one will end up. We arrived about 9PM in Oia with a transfer arranged in advance by VIP. We had been quoted 25 Euros for the transfer but were asked to pay 30.00.

We were then "escorted" by two fellas who did pull our suitcases for what seemed to be an endless journey all the way through the town and down endless stairs (each of us lugging 20 plus pound back packs) to a small hotel located about a third of the way down the caldera. We were exhausted---and too tired to even consider climbing all the way up again into the town for dinner. The very pleasant manager of the property did offer us a complimentary substantial snack (complete with a glass of wine).

We had a studio apt which consisted of a small kitchenette (mini fridge/hot plate and small table with two wooden chairs and a tiny bedroom with double bed. Suitcases had to be left in the kitchenette as there was NO ROOM in the bedroom. There was a tiny balcony off the bedroom just big enough again for two small chairs and a tiny table.

The manager did offer to move us to another property in the morning as we were most concerned with the abundance of stairs....but in the end with only a two night stay...we did not change hotels.

It was a beautiful setting with a perfect view of the fabled Oia sunset. There was also a small pool at the property.

However we both agreed that the whole experience felt more like we were "camping out" rather than the feel of a real hotel or even an apartment.

Although we would probably do it all again because of the views and the kind manager...we would strongly caution anyone who is stair challenged to request a property closer to the main part of town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I had the good fortune to stay at the Vip suites for few nights,and it was great. The weather was perfect, and just enough people to be fun and charming. Santorini is the Great place for couples as it is extremely romantic.We arrived late at night and our bags were carried down to our apartment which was not an easy feat as like most of the apartments in Santorini it is on the cliff.The ambience and quality of our apartment only added to the spectacular volcanic views and the sense of belonging we felt whilst we were in Santorini.It was very spacious with a lovely kitchenette. The next morning we had the good fortune to meet Diana (at the check in point ) who could not do enough for us. She helped us plan out our days in Santorini. Diana was very good at planning this and she assisted us with making the most of our time (local excursions to the volcano,moto rental,winery tour) .I couldn't have been happier with Vip suites. It has the best location,and the actual cave structure is built solid, and with traditional historic Greek charm and style, through and through. It is definately the real thing! Their hospitality made me proud to be of Greek heritage, and I saw that they were equally nice to all their guests, regardless of where they were from or how long they were staying. They made you feel comfortable like family, and at same time were always professional and on top of things, ready to assist you , to guarantee a wonderful vacation.
I am absolutely amazed and sceptical at the comments made by "Chalynne" as our experience was wonderful.
"Chalynne" checked in right below our apartment and we definately had a panoramic view of their activities (an overweight couple from Virginia).Oh boy they where noisy and fussy.They kept on eating 24 hours on the row for day and night,in both of their apartments since next day they moved to another apartment a few meters away.By the way those were not bugs but ants ,after all that day/night eating ceremony of course ants would approach,since food was scattered all over the house, the balcony,and the hotel stairs.Nothing was good for them.Well hello, if you are paying only around 100 euros a daily and you have a beautifull clean and tidy accommodation and an astonishing view what do you want more?? The most positive compliment we can pay Vip suites is to say a very sincere thank you and confirm that it is now one of our fondest dreams to return to Santorini and the Vip suites

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christosvranas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Those accomodations were absolutely first rate. Our one bedroom suite was spacious (unique in Santorini) with beautiful floors and a wonderful private patio looking out off of the caldera. The overall property was a like a sanctuary; well appointed, quiet and inviting.The view from our suite was breathtaking. We'd wake in the morning and you could see the Caldera from our bed.
It has definately the most amazing caldera view everrrrrrrr,right in the very center of oia. Before our first trip we read the reviews and hoped we were doing the right thing. How can anyone be negative about this place?I truly wonder I'm sure there are some unfortunate incidents, but everything about this holiday vacation complex of houses is aimed at pure indulgence and it works on every level.
From the moment you arrive you are transported to another reality. Tranquil surroundings, beautiful and uniquecave houses and the most friendly staff ( at the check in desk ) you could ever wish for.
I must also mention how friendly all the other holiday makers were, we met so many lovely people, who we would like to thank for making our honeymoon even more amazing, so if Steve & Mary, Patty & Paul, Mark & Carmen, are reading this thank you SO MUCH.So in a nutshell, if you are reading this trying to decide weather or not to book this accommodation look no further, its truly amazing you will not be disappointed.This place is so amazing. We never go to the same place twice but we have booked again for late october, can't wait

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Given all the mixed reviews I think it really is 'pot luck' as to which room you get and luckily we we were blessed with a room that was just stunning.
We stayed in room #1 (rooms located near the sunset vantage point) and the room could not have been better. It was clean and the views from the room were beautiful. The location was extremely convenient and the staff at the tourist office were great and very welcoming. The only negative was the shower which was somewhat awkward to use- but you get used to being careful to not splash the tiles too much. But other than that the room was beautifully appointed and cool - even though it was so hot outside (plus we had no issues with the air conditioning).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I just returned from Greece and stayed at the VIP suites Oia. The suites are an extremely long, hilly walk to the end of Oia. The rooms were not insulated and the a/c could not keep up. The bed was not comfortable- the sheets did not wrap around the bed and there was no mattress cover, and so the sheets constantly were pulling up on the sides and back. When I tried to spread the sheets back out on the bed, I found bugs in the bed. The managment moved us to another room but it was no better. Not comfortable, a horrible walk, and not comfortable furniture to sit on. The office staff were friendly and although we had pre-paid four nights, when we checked out after two sleepless nights, they gave us back money for the two nights we did not stay. They also offered to compensate us for our 30 euro transfer to the port/airport. Believe me, don't stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecorama, Front Office Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Dear Chalynne,

We regret to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and whilst we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met.

However, we would like to draw your attention and explain some points you are mentioning in your comment.

As soon as you informed our hotel staff about your dissatisfaction with the conditions of your accommodation, we took immediate action and you were accommodated in another room. Unfortunately, the room change could not satisfy your expectations as well (from the list of your contributions on TripAdvisor, we can conclude, your hotel experience is based on five (5) star accommodation, please notice, VIP Suites is a three (3) star accommodation and we regret that due to your high standards our accommodation could not satisfy your expectations). However, after investigating all the circumstances due to your early departure, we would like to highlight the fact that if cooking, leaving the food in the room, next to the bed, no matter of the place and location, might attract ants.

VIP Suites offers the unique “cave house” accommodation, by definition the rooms are caves in the rocks. And as you have noticed, all the objects in Oia village are reachable only by walking the stairs. We are sorry you were not aware of the character of the place you chose as one of your destinations.

We are flattered you appreciated our hospitality. We always encourage our guests to discuss with us any concerns they might have while they are in the hotel, in order to assist in any way we can and resolve any issues prior to departure. Our team did all their best to satisfy all your inquiries (as you mentioned, we applied a refund of two (2) nights stay, although our cancelation policy is to charge all early departures in 100%, additionally you were offered a free transfer to the port/airport), we regret we could not keep you us our guest.

However, we would welcome the opportunity to have you as a guest in future.

VIP Suites
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews