We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VIP Suites
Nearby Hotels
$1,175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$829
$693
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,016
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
$430
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$325
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,659
$1,491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,335
$1,016
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$867
$734
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$808
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
113
77
38
25
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
77
38
25
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe clifftourist officethe check in deskcave housesmall fridgewatch the sunsetsea viewsteep stepstoilet paperthe air conditioningtransfer servicea wonderful place to stayyour luggageblue domesthe main streetamazing locationporter
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 280 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Santorini and stayed at VIP suites in cave style rooms that overlooked the caldera. The views were spectacular....each of our rooms had a private patio with umbrella table and chairs which was delightful for enjoying wine and snacks at the end of the day. When we first arrived at 5pm after traveling for 36 hours, we were told our rooms were ready. We were taken to our rooms by a bell hop who carried our bags thru a maze of walkways and down a treacherous three story flight of steps, to find the rooms were a total mess, bathrooms filthy and personal debris from the former guests left behind. It took well over 1 1/2 hours while we sat outside on the patio for room service to clean our rooms. Once the rooms were available, the staff sent us a bottle of wine as an apology for the inconvenience, which we appreciated. All in all we loved our rooms, but found the treacherous steps, which had no handrails and were unlighted in places to be enough of a detriment, we would probably look for other accomodations if we were to return to Santorini. Also the rooms were at the end of Oia, next to the castle, which was a bit of a remote location. There were little ants all over the patio which worked their way into the room, so that by the end of our stay, they were all over the kitchenette area. Although we mentioned this to the staff, nothing was done about it. Aside from the steps and the ant problem, once we got in and settled, we had a most enjoyable visit. We loved our rooms, the view was beyond breath taking and we loved Santorini. One last thing, of all of the accommodations we made during our month long tour of numerous Greek islands, VIP Suites was the only one that did NOT include breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, Front Office Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear guests,
We are glad that you enjoyed the unique view and the privacy of our facility. As regards the inconvenience created by your late check-in, please accept our apologies for this error which was cause by the delayed check-out of the previous guests, a family with small children, who needed to keep the apartment longer.
As regards the ants’ problem that you encountered, due to the countryside location of the apartments, the insects are easily attracted by food. Therefore, we generally advise our guests not to leave anything outside in the kitchen area especially while missing from the room.
Also, since Oia village is spread along the cliff, the only way to reach any accommodation, which is not located on the main pedestrian street, is by taking many steps up and down. Although the location of your apartment was quite central, in the very near proximity of the “sunset point”, the fact that it is built down the cliff, gave you the impression of being remote.
As for the service package for this type of accommodation, we would like to emphasize that since VIP Suites are not included in the hotel room category, being presented and advertised as self-catering apartments with fully equipped kitchenettes, breakfast is not included in the rate (as specified in the description of the facility). We welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to make and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to discuss your stay further. We do hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality accommodations you expect from us the next time your travels bring you to santorini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived at the Ecorama holidays counter, booked in and we were taken to the room. We were utterly disgusted with the room. The pictures on Booking.com show a white painted room which is clean and neat. The room we got was painted 3 different colors (off yellow, pink and some other color), the floor and bathroom was dirty, it was small and cramped and worse than the cheapest hotels which was half the price of this room. The hotel also had what looked like a broken down villa next to it with building rubble all over the place. I went back to the Ecorama counter and told the ladies I am not satisfied. The friendly ladies we met at arrival, quickly turned into snappy, unprofessional and unfriendly women. They claimed it was clean and according to standard, but yet not ONE picture looked remotely the same as the pictures on Booking.com (I understand the pictures does not always reflect the exact room, but at least some features has to be similar). They apparently have a few of these rooms across Oia and all of them are different. After fighting for about an hour, they tried to find alternate accommodation for my wife and me. We eventually ended up at another hotel and the owner of this hotel struggled to get the money from the 2 ladies at Ecorama (they claimed they were not paid yet, which was not true). We heard from other sources at Oia that this is not the first time tourists had a bad experience with Ecorama. I will never work with them again - they are misleading and their business seems unethical.

Room Tip: Don't book with them.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJvdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, Front Office Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you encountered so many inconveniences during your trip to Oia. Nevertheless, we would like to clarify certain issues that you have mentioned. First, we would like to assure you of the cleanliness of our facilities and to specify that, in that specific suites, the “dirty” aspect of the floor is given by the old Santorini technique applied in building it and which is intended to create precisely the impression of old and outworn in order to maintain the traditional style of ancient local dwellings.
However, since you insisted in being accommodated elsewhere, the agency’s personnel did their best to meet your requirements and found an accommodation in another hotel, the counter value of which was paid also by our company. Although you claimed that our staff’s behavior was inappropriate and unprofessional, we consider that they did their best in coping with a customer raising his voice and behaving in an obviously disturbing manner for the other guests present in the agency’s office.
Also, since you quoted some unknown sources that claimed they had knowledge of other “bad experiences” in cooperating with our travel agency’s personnel, we would like to specify that we strongly doubt the authenticity of such sources and that we tend to rely on our 25 years experience and effort of providing good quality travel services and accommodation to our guests.We always enjoying hearing from our guests and we will use your input as we continually work to enhance our property and services. Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days in Oia and stayed in one of the suites on the caldera coast. the service was great and the views were fantastic. We were right above the 3 famous blue domes and overlooked the sea. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there right before the season started so it was pretty quiet but we still enjoyed our trip very much.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Kaldera
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gadi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay. So romantic, particularly in the offseason. We were given a tiny little cottage of our own in Oia, perched on the cliffs just off the main pedestrian road. The crown jewel of the cottage was the balcony. Oh what a view!

Our unit was a two story structure with a lofted bedroom and a living room/kitchenette below. The living room opened up to the balcony, and during the day the entire wall opened to windows so you could take in the gorgeous sea/cliff views. The furnishings were lovely, mostly from Ikea but just perfect for what we needed.

This place is luxurious, though not fancy. The kitchenette consists of a minifridge and a hot plate. Bathroom is surprisingly nice for Greece.

Bottom line: I'm going to be comparing every hotel I stay for the rest of my life to this place. What a romantic getaway. The room was stocked with plenty of candles and a bottle of wine. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were offered a choice of two rooms. One had a much nicer balcony than the other, so ask to see some options.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip2phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The booking gave NO indication that we would need a vehicle to get to the guest house nor that is was on the other side, the down-slope side, of Oia and not in the cliffs. When we checked in we were made to wait an hour before our escort showed up and when we asked to use the Internet, the hostess charged us! The house was supposed to be cleaned every other day, we were there for 5 days and no one showed up ever. We asked that the kitchen water pressure be fixed and were told "no problem," yup, that never happened either. We received no credit for either, only a shrug like "we don't know what happened." The guesthouse was remote and we actually loved that, it was as if we had our own private Santorini. The neighbor had the sweetest dog who spent time with us, we were right over the water and about 1/2 mile away was an oasis hotel, Pelagos, where we ate and swam and used the Internet. It was like having a country club. We'll stay there next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYCtoSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, General Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your valuable feed back.Concerning the internet charges , i am afraid that you ve used the computer system located in a travel agency which is specially made for that purpose.Provide internet access with a specific fee.You need to prepay the internet tickets by choosing the actual time and then you log in. As for the location of the specific house which we are glad that you liked and you would visit again if you would be in Santorini , we are sure that you probably did not take a good look what you had booked since the description of the house was Beach front villa,and all there were photos on the web site that were taken from the particular house as you ve noticed .Its just that all the rest of the Vip suites were on the cliff except this particular one.In order not to have that incident again ( since we had it already 3-4 times already ),we removed completely that house from Vip suites and its now by itself as a separate accommodation/listing with a different name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews