We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
121
80
40
28
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
80
40
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffthe check in deskcave housesmall fridgewatch the sunsetsea viewhoneymoon suitetransfer servicea wonderful place to stayyour luggagethe main streetsteep stepsamazing locationaccommodationvolcanobalconyinternet
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Excellent view and service (most important for Oia, we had our luggage carried down there), clean, serene. We would be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

VIP suites is not a hotel. Instead, it is a travel agency that books room throughout Oia. They then rent these rooms out to travelers.

We ended up staying at Oia Mare Villa's through this process. This was a very nice place, but because we booked through VIP suites, we felt like unwelcome outsiders. This seriously detracted from the experience.

VIP suites may still be a good option for you, but make sure you understand what they are actually offering.

Other notes: You have to pay for your stay upfront, and the staff is not very friendly at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Would definitely reccommend. Lovely views. Gorgeous accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our stay at the VIP suites was just okay.
Positives: great location - situated right on the cliff, grerat views of the caldera, good customer service, very spacious, has a mini kitchen, balcony

negatives: damp sheets and bed!! , there is a weird smell in the balcony (almost like a wet dog smell) but it could be because there are a lot of dogs in Oia, no internet (but you can use the internet at the Best western hotel as well as the pool (I believe they are the same owners).

Overall it was an okay stay considering the very affordable price!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shugakookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

When travelling to Santorini, I spent a long time looking for a space that would give us the cave experience without being insanely expensive. I am so, so glad I discovered VIP Suites Oia.

First, let me say, it benefits you to book a transfer directly through the hotel. Even though our plane was late, our driver found us immediately and took us to the check in office. Santorini's airport is virtually deserted so it really helps to have someone waiting for you. It also helped to have him direct us towards the tourist office. If we had arrived on our own, exhausted and at night, it may have been difficult to find the right check in spot. Also, be aware that you're essentially on your own after checking in. If you need a concierge at your every whim, this is not the place for you.

The VIP suites are about a 15 minute walk from the check in space, the last area where you can really drive so be prepared for a hike. Porters will lead you and carry luggage for a tip. The VIP suites are located a short, steep hike away from anything else so do be aware of this.

Once at the suite, there were a few things missing: obviously no TV but also no telephone and no alarm clock. But the space itself is perfect. It feels indescribable to stay in space chiseled into stone. The stone keeps it cool during the hot sun and our room had tons of character. The stone also blocks out sounds from your neighbors well. Our room was perfect, though our neighbors weren't as pleased with their configuration. Also, the cheapest room option provides plenty of space.

The best thing, however, was its location. The suites are located right on the perfect sunset point -- really, there is no better spot to watch the sun set in Oia. Everyone from the rest of the island comes and sits in front of your suite to see the gorgeous sun dip below the horizon while you get to lounge on your private porch with a bottle of local wine. That can't be beat. This is the only time of day when the crowds of Oia's streets extend down to the VIP suites area. The rest of the time, the location is pleasantly removed from the bustle of Oia's packed streets of tourist-packed streets.

I highly recommend this spot. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews