We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
121
80
40
28
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
80
40
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffthe check in deskcave housesmall fridgewatch the sunsetsea viewhoneymoon suitetransfer servicea wonderful place to stayyour luggagethe main streetsteep stepsamazing locationaccommodationvolcanobalconyinternet
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 296 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We are a party of three who spent five nights in Oia in the beginning of April. When we were initially looking for accommodation on the internet, we wanted to find something that was relatively inexpensive but had a view of the caldera. VIP Suites appeared to offer both so we booked two of their standard studios.

We cannot be happier with our decision. Our rooms were right beside the famous sunset point and had truly breathtaking views of the caldera and the caldera side of Oia. Wow!!!! The rooms and the surrounding area were peaceful, quiet, and private. Our rooms were larger than we had expected and had everything we needed - a bathroom, a kitchenette (plates, utensils, a small fridge, a hot plate), large double beds, and a TV (which we didn't use).

If you stay in Oia be prepared for lots of steep steps. For example, at VIP Suites 54 steps led to one of our rooms while an additional 43 led to the second. However, our party had two 60+ adults and they could manage them without any problems.

We arrived in Santorini by way of a ferry from Athens and then used a transfer service offered by the hotel (~30 euros) to get to Oia. Our driver was already waiting for us at the port when we arrived and took us directly to the tourism office in Oia (where we picked up our keys). We strongly recommend this service as it is not trivial to make this trip unless you rent a car as soon as you arrive.

Finally, the staff at VIP Suites were as great as the rooms. Diana at the tourism office was very welcoming and helpful - she advised us on many details such as car rental, posting mail, etc. Moreover, she was also very friendly and always had a smile for us. The same is true for Sami. Without him we would still be at the top of the stairs wondering how to get our luggage down to our rooms and back. Sami threw our heavy suitcases on his back one after the other and in a moment they were down in our rooms.

Overall, ourstay at VIP Suites was wonderful and we would recommend the hotel to anyone. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nitronium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

First of all, the the service was impeccable and faultless, the staff are friendly and helpful ( from the front desk clerk to the porter ) .If you want space and seclusion this is great. Suites are spacious, modern, and clean. All suites are scattered across a 500 meters hillside,with a magic view over to the volcanic islands. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melegimkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Some of the ViP rooms we saw were old and moist but the girl who was in charge was very polite and helpful and at the end we stayed in a very large room fairly traditional .Keep in mind that these rooms were old houses refurbished for touristic purposes.So you must know that the bathrooms are usually dark and moist and often there is also a smell.Anyway these are the only cons cause the view is fantastic and this for 80 euros a night.This price maybe the best you can get if you want to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Off the main track. Hidden down a hillside, away from the roads. Very cosy in our cave like room. Basic yes, but then it's not the most expensive hotel around.
Beautiful small private balcony, looking straight at the crowd pulling sunsets. We could sit, eat, drink and watch the sun disappear over the horizon in perfect relaxation.
On arrival a “porter” carried our bag down to the complex – quiet a walk on one’s own with any luggage – through the small town/village, up and down steps. He also carried it back at the end of our stay – thank goodness, wouldn’t want to do it myself!!
The cave room was small-ish, but big enough for 2 people, looked clean and tidy too. We were surprised to have our room cleaned and bed made each day. Did not expect that service. A few basic things in the kitchenette to do one’s own thing if required.
The lady in charge – Delice – was really pleasant and helpful. Getting near the end of the season, but the place was still quite busy with guests.
There’s a terrific restaurant at the bottom of the winding steps in the bay, called Katina’s. Excellent service and a wide choice of fish dishes. Very busy for an out-of the-way eating place. It has a high reputation around Greece. Well deserved I think. Although an arduous trek back up the steep steps to the complex.
I loved the place and would recommend it. Plan to come again next year - 2011 - will stay longer.
Reading other reviews here on Trip Advisor I think we had a really good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-j-S-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Upon arrival---u check in at Ecoroma which is right where bus drops you off---we arrive 9am and check in was 2pm----our room was available so they let us check in early---SUPER!! Bell boy type carry's both of our luggage all the way thru the town center and down the way to our room..as we walk down the stairs and reach our private patio there was dog urin that lead all the way to our front door--aweful smell that stuck with me for rest of day (as we went in someone wiped it up within seconds)--not cool!!

The week before the trip I called and down graded our villa to the standard room----but the villa was huge---i came to find out 3 days later that they kept us in the honeymoon suite with standard room charge---ok that was nice. The living room is huge, the kitchen was cute with utensils/fridge, bedroom cute, bathroom small----the bathroom has all one floor and there is no separator from shower to rest of bathroom---meaning the water fills the whole bathroom!!! Learned to keep bath matt outside the bathroom door---this was kinda gross. There was gobs of hair on the shower wall. It has a soap dispenser in shower--didn't like so went and purchased some hand soap. The shower took some time getting used too--was nasty!! We were told the bed and sofa were brand new but the bed was very squeaky. There was dogs that joined on our patio every night and at 5:30 am would have dog fights and wake us up and they would sleep on our cushioned lawn chair----every morning the lawn chair would be covered in dog hair--nasty....i have allergies and by the 4th day i was sneezing and eyes were watering-----these dogs are not the petable type---they are very grandly but cute at same time. The dogs would crap every day up above our villa where the walk way is and no one would clean it up---then at night time there was no lights you would have to pray you didn't walk in it---one night i did and was not happy--it was all up and down our stairs--disgusting!!

Service---we were told free internet....but you had to pay for it at the check in lobby----across the street is a pizza restaurant--great food that had free wi-fi--we would go there. We were told we could go over to the Best western and use there pool----after the first day the lady at that hotel said we had to pay 9 euros each to use pool---shady. wasn't a nice pool anyway. She recommended using the community pool-----that pool area is huge and was may be a 15 min walk---at the very tip of island-----u can also go there to vew the sunset----actually is the best spot to view the sunsets----the pool area is huge and is multi-leveled and has a restaurant type.

Location---the villa was located right in the center---perfectly located---beautiful views of caldera---very good restaurants all around.....not many amenities...nothing worth talking about.

overall---i would not recommend to stay here----it kinda ruined our whole experience of santorini

Restaurants--cheap eats but good--blue sky rest, edwins pizza--free wi-fi embrosia--fine dining

Transportation----buses can get you easily all around the island in short periods of time---1,50 euro pp( the bus will stop in fira--main bus station--and then you have to catch buses to go to the selected beaches or towns--very easy)....Karmari beach was great...rocky black beach--4-8 foot waves, perivulous beach was awesome and more quaint---doens't have many restaurants--but sand is more fine---that was our favorite. You can rent 2 chairs and cabana for 7 euros for the day!! If you plan on going to any wineries----there are some on way to Kamari beach----Go to "Art Space" winery----it is very unique containing beautiful art and a small winery---super experience--the owner does not know much english and don't try the ethanol wine---almost fell off my rocker---defintely a winery to check out----its in Gonia...there is the Art Space sign on the road at bus stop.
Volcano excursion was worth the 27 euros pp......leave at (9:30 in morning come back at 4:30)----if it had costed 60 euro pp i would say no, but it was fun and a good workout.....check out the restaurants at Amoudi bay where you get on boat to go to volcano.....and go to amoudi bay beach----very neat experience, beautiful rocky/boulder beach---saw octopus there!! Walked up the stairs to get back to hotel---thought i was going to die--we walked fast:):)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews