We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Perfect!”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Perfect!”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were absolutely blown away by this hotel - the service, the rooms, the view, the pool, the food and location. This hotel was recently voted "Best Small Hotel in Europe" by Conde Nast Traveler and definitely deserves it. I traveled with my husband, brother and parents and we all felt the same way. All of the rooms are simple and large - my parents had a superior suite and it actually had 2 double beds. We all thought my brother's room was the fanciest room when we first got there and his was the smallest. The rooms are very basic but charming and chic. As far as the view and location, the pictures on their website speak for themselves. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is expensive, but we did go to a close mini mart and buy wine for cocktail hour. 3 of us had massages and they were fantastic. There were a lot of stairs but no one minded and it wasn't unpleasant. We walked into Oia a lot and enjoyed the walk every time but I do recommend flats.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBP1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    29
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
239
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This has blown our minds away, what a hotel and location. This has set the bar for us now. Extraordinary service, excellent food and a view to make the price tag totally worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We plan to return in the next year or so. The staff really makes this hotel extra special too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Heavenly place for honeymoon!

The staff is incredible, very warm and friendly. We were introduced to the Perivolas suites features and offered a welcome drink. All suites are designed so as to have a great Caldera view. Every suite has a different design in white-cave like structures.

The rooms are very pleasant, our room had an indoor jacuzzi. Everything inside was very comfortable and all services were perfect.

Complimentary breakfast was delicious and full of Perivolas' "home baked, home made" delicacies. The quantity also was great and the staff was quite fine about room service of whatever breakfast we choose to have. The restaurant is by the infinity pool and they serve drinks even if you are in the pool. Lunch and Dinner is not included in the room charges and need to be ordered separately.

Gym and Spa services are incredible. Room service are good too.
Children are not allowed in Perivolas..

Location wise, it is 10 min walk to the sunset point in Oia. Sometimes in winter, sunset can be seen from Perivolas itself. There are other restaurants nearby. Airport is 30 min drive but complimentary pickup and dropoff is available suitable to flight time.
5 min away is a small market for shopping in Oia. There are several art galleries too.

Indeed a great posh place for last 2 days of our honeymoon in Santorini :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amkibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May NJ
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

If you are going to Santorini stay at Perivolas so you can experience the best that Santorini has to offer. The rooms are cavelike - comfortable, clean, classic with a Swedish sensibility. I woke myself up early to sit on my patio which overlooks the caledera - what an amazing view. Forget your book you can't get enough of the view. Loved this place! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Perivolas Traditional Houses for five nights in September 2010. We’d just had three days of madcap touring in the Athens area and were ready for a break before the next step in our trip which was a cruise to Istanbul. To say that Perivolas was an exquisitely fine experience is an understatement. It far exceeded our expectations in almost every way. You’ve read in previous reviews about the incredible views of the caldera, the superb service, the excellent food, and great infinity pool. All true. One suggestion, however: unless you are a sound sleeper try not to select a room at the very top of the Perivolas facility. Since the rooms are “cave” rooms they are built into the hillside and the public walkway goes right over the top of the uppermost rank of cave rooms at Perivolas. We had Room #2. You can hear the footsteps of folks walking to and from Oia. This was most noticeable for about an hour each evening beginning at 10PM as late diners and revelers were returning to other inns further from town. I solved this issue with my traveler’s earplugs which I always use, anyway, being a light sleeper by nature. Go to Perivolas but ask for a room that is not topped by the public walkway.

Santorini was a magical place for us and we’d absolutely return to the Perivolas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just returned from four days in beautiful Oia at the Perivolas Traditional Houses. My husband, and adult son and daughter and I stayed in the divine Perivolas Suite and virtually never left the suite except to explore the village for dinner. The views were astounding, the service spectacular, and the experience unmatched. This truly should be on everyone's bucket list!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippotraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Loved, loved, loved Perivolas! This was our final stop on our honeymoon in Greece and it was absolutely wonderful. We spent five lovely nights at Perivolas in a junior suite (plenty of room for a couple) - we were in one of the rooms toward the bottom so a bit more privacy than some of the others at the top of the hill... we enjoyed the views from our own patio as well as from the pool/common areas. The rooms themselves were spotless and the housekeeping staff operated like little magical elves - as soon as we'd head off to breakfast, they would sneak in, straighten things up and refresh towels and amenities, leave the large bottles of complementary water in our room, and then be off... We slept like babies in our little cave/alcove - very quiet and comfortable. We didn't miss a TV (we never watch TV when traveling anyway) and we liked being able to borrow some CDs from the reception desk for our room's mini stereo... simple but effective.
The restaurant staff at breakfast, throughout the day poolside, and dinner was super personable and just wonderful to chat with (and they all spoke multiple languages)... not to mention the food being amazing. We loved that things got taken care of with a smile quickly but without too much pretentiousness - no fuss, just good service. We had dinner one evening at the Perivolas restaurant on one of the private balcones - wonderful... service and food! Loved it! We should have done this every night!
The reception office staff was magnificent - they booked our sunset tour and our scuba excursion, confirmed our airport transfers, lugged our luggage up and down the stairs effortlessly, provided wonderful recommendations on places to dine and things to do around Santorini. Angie was particularly helpful, but the others were too.
The famous pool is very nice though it could have been a tad bigger - it probably is a little less crowded when it's not so hot outside... but it was toasty when we were there.
Since we were leaving early in the morning, we pre-ordered breakfast in our room which was delivered the evening beforehand and carefully placed in our mini fridge - it was enough food and drink for practically our entire trip home back to the the West Coast of the U.S.!
My one complaint would be some of the guests who would camp out by the pool all day and just hog the best spots... and smoke! I know smoking is allowed in Greece (outside only, I think), but if there were a way to have a smoking only area and spare the rest of us, it would have been a bit nicer... and maybe confine some of their cell phone conversations while we're at it. ;-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techygirlinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Property: Perivolas
Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia, Greece
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing