We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Coolest little bookstore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Books

Atlantis Books
Ranked #1 of 18 Shopping in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coolest little bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stopped by this little bookstore while on my honeymoon and picked up a couple books. Atlantis books is a treasure. Great selection of books, complete with a friendly cat to great you. The man working there was very helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    18
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the love of reading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Amidst a sea of tourists shops and what else lies a hidden jewel ....and so by accident we stumbled across Atlantis Books ...a hidden literary gem in a basement in Oia... Part Hobbit part den part cat's paradise...with books for every taste , age and language..we did not want to leave..we just wanted to browse....and worship...and never forget that there are still places in the world waiting to be relished, to be discovered...and to enjoy ...!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEREHDEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the big blue marble
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Oia is already a pretty amazing place, but I felt like I'd descended into a magical kingdom when I went down the stairs to Atlantis books. So sorry I missed a roof top evening, but spent hours there. Went back for me and even called after we were home to get a 1st edition book they'd had lying around. More than a bookstore, Atlantis proves dreams really should come true.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No cats available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Was so disappointed they really didn't have cats for rent
Still a unique and fun place to see amid all the standard galleries and souvenir stores

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atlantis Discovered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It had been a dream for years to one day make it to this fabled bookshop -- and it was exactly what I'd expected.
A wonderful place, magical, stuffed with books old and new, supervised by the obligatory bookshop cat. The perfect place to buy a book for one's traveling companion and inscribe it while drunk on the Oia sunsets. Don't miss the shop's own publications, Paravion Press. They're beautiful, and make wonderful small gifts to take home. Craig, the owner, knows his stuff, and not only books: he recommended the nearby Candouni restaurant to us - definitely the best meal in recent memory. In short, don't miss this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank amalyah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Books also viewed

Oia, Santorini
Akrotiri, Santorini
 

Been to Atlantis Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing