We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where I learned to love luxery hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“This is where I learned to love luxery hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

I loved this hotel. In fact, it's where I first officially learned to love luxury hotels, after my wife and I discovered it walking around Santorini. For my entire life until this place, I was always the guy looking for the cheapest place that i could stand on any giving night. This changed all that. It was by far the nicest place we stayed in all of Greece.

We spent a week in a sr. suite with a semi private pool. I highly recommend that option.

I'll skip some of the great stuff that others have said and respond to a few of the negatives since there are lots of reviews giving a great description of this lux hotel. The good stuff is all true.

"The staff are always watching me": someone thought that the staff was always watching them. I call this outstanding service. At the slightest indication that I needed something, they were on top of it. I liked that. A simple glance at my empty glass means "Christina, I'd like another glass of wine." -- great!

"It costs a lot" - ya. That's right, which is why TripAdvisor let's you sort by deals, etc., It's a great place AND it does cost an awful lot. If this is not OK, use the value functions in TA and find a better value. This is 5star service and it costs. You are probably paying a fair amount for that last 10-20% of quality...that's true. But if you want the best place and you can afford it, here you go.

"The pools are small" -- true, but they are not THAT small. Not a great place to pull up the bago and drop the 10 kids in the pool. The concept at a beautiful place like this is to sit by the pool, having a drink and reading a book. Every now and then, take a quick dip to cool off (pool) or warm up (spa), then repeat. If you want a swim up bar and the waterslide, this is NOT your place (hey I like those things...just saying, this is not it).

i don't think that kids would like this place. Contrarily, if you don't want to be around kids, this is a great place.

  • Liked — Utter quality and beauty
  • Disliked — Pool was a little cold
  • Stayed June 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    60
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
54
637
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

We were lucky enough to spend 5 nights at the Katikies at the start of June 2007 as part of our honeymoon. I haven't added a review onto sites like these in the past, but we had such a great time at this hotel, I want to tell everyone about it!

The whole stay, from check-in to check-out was 'out of this world' - including the rooms, the fabulous infinity pool, the views, the location, Oia (the village), the island, the weather, the food, the 24 hour jacuzzi, the wine..and above all the staff! Matt and his team were just great - and I agree with another reviewer - they seemed to have the knack of knowing what you wanted just before you did! Very professional and very friendly service at all times.

Definitely try the 'traditional Greek meal' - an amazing six-course meal, served by the pool overlooking the sea and also make use of the 24-hour jacuzzi. We made good use of it and ended up down there nearly every night with a bottle of wine! Heaven!

We will DEFINITELY go back again! Can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnyaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

Katikies is a dream hotel and everything that we could have wanted. It really matches the calm elegance of the town of Oia with the beautiful vistas as well as how private an quiet the place is.

Location: Oia was our favorite town on Santorini, very classy with great restuarants and walking areas. Within Santorini, Katikies has a great location giving you a nice walk to the opposite edge of town.

Rooms: Think Bed and Breakfast on Martha's Vineyard built into a cave on the side of the mountain. Very nice antiqued furniture in rooms that are professionally decorated.

The Pool: Unbelievable. Also, they have two other pools, one that was right next to our room that was a smaller, infinity pool as well as a "cold pool" located in a cave. The service at the main pool is perfect without going over the top. We thought it was kind of funny that they didn't want you to jump in the pool, only go in and out by using the ladder. A bit much, but it certainly kept things calm and quiet. Nice to have a library right next to the pool with books in all languages as well as a laptop with internet access.

Service: impeccable. Really all the way around the best service of any hotel that I've ever been to.

Food: Breakfast was great and served in your room(or on your balcony) everyday at a time of your choosing. Lunch next to the pool was pricey, but very good. We also did the wine tasting which was setup in a perfect spot with a very good server, Matt.

5 stars all the way around, and I highly recommend the Katikies.

  • Liked — Beautiful, calm, service, pretty much everything.
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

After reading up on hotels on Santorini (great info from Trip Advisor), my husband and I decided to book a week at the 5-star small
hotel, Katikies, on the island of Santorini. Katities is located in the small village of Oia, the most picturesque town on the island.
The hotel has many large honeymoon suites, but since we've been married for 24 years, we opted for the less-pricey double room (still
not cheap!). We had heard that room #5 was nice, but upon arrival, noted a funky bathroom smell and very small shower, so we were moved to #11. If you don't book a suite, this is a great choice. It had two
showers, one that was large, with the stucco painted purple and a big rainshower head. (We're both into great showers, so this mattered
to us.) The bed was comfy and the terrace had a great view of the negative edge pool and Mediterranean beyond.

Speaking of pool, wow, what a spot! We spent more time there than we planned because it was so stunning, a crystal clear blue negative edge floating above the deeper blue Med. Sea.

But the best part of this hotel was the service - absolutely impeccable without being intrusive. They seemed to know what we needed before we realized it! Lots of staff constantly on the lookout for their guests needs.

If you want to spend some money on a very fine hotel, this is a good choice, in our opinion.

  • Liked — Incredible views and service
  • Disliked — Tons of steps so you need to be in shape to enjoy the entire property
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

In short: GO THERE IF YOU CAN AFFORD. If not, beg on the streets for money and GO THERE. Do not go to Greece without visiting this hotel.

My wife and I are regular travelers to 5 star hotels, and we have never been in such a beautiful place. The service was spectacular also.

The hotel is very, very small and they arrange the common areas in very separate ambiances. Therefore, you never see more than three or four couples in each area. It is really romantic and everyone speaks very low.

The service was amazing. Starting in the breakfast left at the entrance of your "villa like" room in the morning. Very customizable to your taste. You can have lunch anywhere in the hotel.

The "restaurants" for dinner are each with maximum 4 tables!! And they just set them up in the most charming places of the hotel.

Staff really courteous and efficient, and all spoke perfect English (most of them were not Greek).

Location is perfect. Right on the spot of the other little restaurants, shops of Oia area.

You will find out that Santorini is more about enjoying the view than going out for tourist activities. Thus a beautifull hotel with the best view and close to other nice restaurants and shops is all you need.

Save money in the other Greek Islands, but DO NOT MISS THIS HOTEL !!

  • Liked — Calm, chic, beutiful ambiance
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Eduardo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

This hotel is absolutely incredible. My wife and I stopped here first on our honeymoon and it was the perfect place to completely relax. The service is phenomenal, and the view from the lounge chairs (which are like outdoor futons) is probably the best on the island. It's like staring at a beautiful painting, only it's real. Oia (or Ia, if you will) is the most romantic part of Santorini, and offers the best sunset-viewing opportunity. Katikies is right near everything in Oia, so it's very convenient.

The slightly bad:

1) Nobody from Katikies came to pick us up from the airport.
We expected a sign waiting for us when we walked exhausted out of the airport, and there was nobody there. When a van from Katikies did come 15 minutes later, it was not for us. They didn't even have us down on their list of pickups, which upset us, and started to make us wonder if they even had a room reservation for us.

2) Confusion about our room at Katikies.
When we arrived at Katikies, we assumed we had a senior suite since we never heard back about our waiting-list request to get a junior suite (slightly less expensive). When Arturo (the host who greeted us) first showed us to our room, we were disappointed with the size of it. And when we asked him if it was a senior suite he said yes. Luckily, we went online at the hotel's computer room and searched the specs for Katikies' rooms and learned that there was no way that was a senior suite. So we went up to the front desk, and a nice guy named Vasilus explained that we got a junior suite, and that while it was small, it was the only one available that night.

The very good:
1) Although the Katikies van driver didn't take us, he found us a ride with a cab driver who was one of the nicest people we've ever met. Ironically, his cab ride was cheaper than the van ride would have been, and we got a great intro to Santorini. And, the same driver picked us up from Dmitry's a few nights later!!

2) Room switch
Katikies was very accomodating, and gave us a bigger junior suite with a bigger balcony the 2nd day, and smoothly transferred our luggage.

3) The service at Katikies
etween the bartender/umbrella mover at the lounge, the woman who took our breakfast orders each morning saying "of course" to every request, and the waiters serving us breakfast each morning on our balcony, we felt like royalty.

4) The greek breakfast at Katikies
YUM!!

5) The infinity pool at Katikies
Breathtaking

6) The sun lounge at Katikies
So comfortable. And after lying in the hot sun, we could dip into the pool under the amazing white caves for a cool-off. So relaxing!!

  • Liked — The infinity pool
  • Disliked — The stray cats
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank blk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2007

This little gem is like nothing you will experience any place else in the world. We have traveled to over 104 countries and thousands of hotels in our lives, and my husband and I agree that this is a place to experience more than once. From the post card like setting to the almost dream like quietness, Katikies will fill a special place in your heart long after you are gone. The staff is off the charts: kind, effecient, helpful, and respectful. the rooms are all unique and very very clean. Breakfast is a lovely spread (brought to your room) of local cheeses, fruits, and breads.
This is the kind of place that will change your "views" of the run of the mill accomodations you may be used to paying for. You will never again be able to stay in the "ordinary" accomodation. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG HERE!
We were handed a little cell phone upon our arrival - just in case we needed to call the staff at any time for any reason. There was always someone a few steps from our room door if we needed service of any kind. We visited in October ( a slower season) and we would go back again and again and again!
We loved the Greek people, and the beautiful Greek Islands. This trip is WELL worth every penny! Especially the Katikies.
The candid photos you see on this sight are exactly what you will see from your room etc. Don't miss it!

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
5 Thank jmaxboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#18 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing