We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
925
74
33
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
74
33
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barinfinity poolour honeymoonsenior suitebeautiful hotelmain pooltour of the propertythe hotel managerprivate terraceheaven on earthpool staffsister hotelmoment you arrivestunning viewsevery morningpedestrian walkwaysuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2005

Lovely hotel built into the cliffs with the most spectacular views. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive . They were unbelievablely great. There was nothing more relaxing than sitting on our terrace looking out at the magnificent views as you are being served a wonderful breakfast.
There are a few negatives- The rooms are cozy and comfortable but the bathroom was annoying. If you need a mirror and good lighting to do your hair and makeup- forget it. The shower also was the hose type- it was not suspended from the wall so it was diffficult to wash your hair.The blow dryer is also very weak.
There are a lot of stairs so if you are elderly or a person with disablities- this hotel is not for you.
But if you want total relaxation,privacy and great service, I heartily recommend Katikies.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days for our honeymoon inthe end of of August 2005, it was amazing. The view is unbelievable and our room was huge. 2 Bed 2 Bath full kitchen. There are quite a few stairs so if you are older or have problems walking the hotel is not right for you. We had our own patio to sun bathe so it was perfect and the smaller pool is hardly used so it feels like you have it all to yourself. Its right next to the town of Oia so perfect for walking around to shop. There are very few beaches on the island so you have to enjoy the 2 pools which are built right on the cliff. The service is impeccable and the food great, dinner can be a little pricey but the view along with it is breathtaking. For anyone thinking of going we highly recommend it. They provide full amenities including a cell phone to call the hotel at anytime. Limited to dial up interent in the library, but there are plenty of internet cafes in town. If you're staying for more than a few days you should rent a car and drive to the town of Fira or the other beaches, but be aware there is one road in and out of Oia and its on the side of the Mountain. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GrandTour6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2005

this is a beautiful hotel in a great location on the island, the staff, service and food were all wonderful. but we have several major caveats. 1) we had a room with a king size bed (requested) that was miniscule, and the bathroom was even worse. for 330 euros a night, we expected better. 2) we found this to be true all over greece, but the AC in these hotels leaves a lot to be desired. 3) there are very limited lounge chairs at poolside here (like room for 8 people), although there are other areas available. if you plan on poolside, you need to be up at crack of dawn. 4) the hotel is set deep on the cliffside, and the stairs are numerous, steep, and treacherous. no railings, and no alternative (that is to say, no elevator). my husband and i are both athletic and in good shape, but if stairs are an issue for you, stay elsewhere. as it is, my husband slipped on wet stairs by the pool an suffered a badly sprained ankle. none of this was indicated in any of the materials we saw prior to booking.

18  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 days nights in April of 2005 for our honeymoon. We didn't quite know what to expect really, except for all the reviews and photos we had seen of the Katikies Hotel. THIS PLACE CANNOT BE BEAT, the views and the hotel staff are amazing. Once you step foot on the hotel you know you looking out into one of the most spectacular views on earth. And the staff are one of nicest people you will ever meet who are so ever helpful in making your stay the most enjoyable. You will be waited on hand and foot, but in the most un-intrusive way possible. The views are spectacular and I'm am so thankful that my husband and I have so many fond memories of our honeymoon, so if this is a special occasion while spending your time in Santorini, the money spent is well worth it in the end. The hotel staff even helped us take the best pictures with all the amazing views behind us, so we have many many fond memories of our honeymoon in the years to come. Just sitting out on the tanning deck or looking out from your balcony you will see some of the most gorgeous views of the Aegean. Also close by are the most amazing sunsets you will see in the town of Oia. Breakfast was good, although by the end of your stay you might get sick of the menu because of the lack of variety, but everything is very tasty. The pool was a bit cold, mostly because it was relatively cool this time of year, but in the summertime I'm sure its a nice swim. The jacuzzi also was not hot enough, the temperature of the water could've been a little warmer. When we asked the hotel staff if they could increase the temperature they said they could not. However, these are all minor things compared to the great luxuries of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank love2laugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We stayed at Katikies for 4 nights in early August and we really had a love/hate relationship with this hotel. They did some things really well and others were just awful. First, the hotel is located on the side of a cliff with the reception at the top and the pool and other activities at the bottom. The rooms and other facilities are located in between. There are 140 steps that connect the top and bottom and it's a maze to get from the top to the bottom. The view is incredible from any part of this hotel! It doesn't matter if you're sitting out in front of your room, or if you're in one of the small restaurants, or you're at the pool. The place just oozes coolness, which is what this hotel is all about. Now, about the love/hate part.

Katikies is really good at the flashy part of running a hotel. There is champagne at check-in and champagne with breakfast every morning. They deliver breakfast to your room or you really can eat anywhere you want on the property. They look after you with service on the small things that is very attentive. If you need your umbrella moved, there are 4 people close by willing to do it. They do a wine tasting on one of the decks that is outstanding, and you feel like you're the most lucky people on earth watching the sunset and doing a tasting at Katikies. That's the good part.

What they are really not very good at is actually running a first class hotel. We reserved 2 rooms for 4 nights each, as we had 2 couples traveling together. They checked us in to 2 rooms that couldn't have been further apart from each other. One was at the top of the hotel and one was directly at the bottom, next to the pool. It's 90 or 95dg every day and it's just about a heart attack getting from the bottom to the top of the hotel. Why they would do this is still a mystery to us! The air conditioning in the bottom room was not working very well and had a freon leak. It just blew a lot of not very cool air. In 4 days, they couldn't get it fixed. In all fairness, it was a huge Greek holiday and it might have been tough to get someone out there who could actually fix it. So what! For the enormous prices that they charge, you ought to get A/C, and it shouldn't be broken for 4 straight nights. A really good hotel would never let this happen. They forgot a wake-up call one morning, and there were several other omissions that were pretty glaring. They aren't very good at the actual hotel part. The confusing thing is that they try really hard. It just didn't happen the way that it was supposed to.

Santorini is a pretty awesome experience, but there are other hotels with the same view and the same facilities. I don't know if you would consider them as luxurious as Katikies, but they certainly are far less expensive. We'll go back but not to Katikies. You can do far better with your money. It would be really easy to confuse the experience of Santorini with staying at Katikies. Santorini is terrific weather you're staying at Katikies or not.

Stayed: August 2005
13  Thank bobjusacoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews