We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Highly Recommend It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days for our honeymoon inthe end of of August 2005, it was amazing. The view is unbelievable and our room was huge. 2 Bed 2 Bath full kitchen. There are quite a few stairs so if you are older or have problems walking the hotel is not right for you. We had our own patio to sun bathe so it was perfect and the smaller pool is hardly used so it feels like you have it all to yourself. Its right next to the town of Oia so perfect for walking around to shop. There are very few beaches on the island so you have to enjoy the 2 pools which are built right on the cliff. The service is impeccable and the food great, dinner can be a little pricey but the view along with it is breathtaking. For anyone thinking of going we highly recommend it. They provide full amenities including a cell phone to call the hotel at anytime. Limited to dial up interent in the library, but there are plenty of internet cafes in town. If you're staying for more than a few days you should rent a car and drive to the town of Fira or the other beaches, but be aware there is one road in and out of Oia and its on the side of the Mountain. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    60
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
54
637
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2005

this is a beautiful hotel in a great location on the island, the staff, service and food were all wonderful. but we have several major caveats. 1) we had a room with a king size bed (requested) that was miniscule, and the bathroom was even worse. for 330 euros a night, we expected better. 2) we found this to be true all over greece, but the AC in these hotels leaves a lot to be desired. 3) there are very limited lounge chairs at poolside here (like room for 8 people), although there are other areas available. if you plan on poolside, you need to be up at crack of dawn. 4) the hotel is set deep on the cliffside, and the stairs are numerous, steep, and treacherous. no railings, and no alternative (that is to say, no elevator). my husband and i are both athletic and in good shape, but if stairs are an issue for you, stay elsewhere. as it is, my husband slipped on wet stairs by the pool an suffered a badly sprained ankle. none of this was indicated in any of the materials we saw prior to booking.

Helpful?
18 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 days nights in April of 2005 for our honeymoon. We didn't quite know what to expect really, except for all the reviews and photos we had seen of the Katikies Hotel. THIS PLACE CANNOT BE BEAT, the views and the hotel staff are amazing. Once you step foot on the hotel you know you looking out into one of the most spectacular views on earth. And the staff are one of nicest people you will ever meet who are so ever helpful in making your stay the most enjoyable. You will be waited on hand and foot, but in the most un-intrusive way possible. The views are spectacular and I'm am so thankful that my husband and I have so many fond memories of our honeymoon, so if this is a special occasion while spending your time in Santorini, the money spent is well worth it in the end. The hotel staff even helped us take the best pictures with all the amazing views behind us, so we have many many fond memories of our honeymoon in the years to come. Just sitting out on the tanning deck or looking out from your balcony you will see some of the most gorgeous views of the Aegean. Also close by are the most amazing sunsets you will see in the town of Oia. Breakfast was good, although by the end of your stay you might get sick of the menu because of the lack of variety, but everything is very tasty. The pool was a bit cold, mostly because it was relatively cool this time of year, but in the summertime I'm sure its a nice swim. The jacuzzi also was not hot enough, the temperature of the water could've been a little warmer. When we asked the hotel staff if they could increase the temperature they said they could not. However, these are all minor things compared to the great luxuries of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank love2laugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
football
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

We stayed at Katikies for 4 nights in early August and we really had a love/hate relationship with this hotel. They did some things really well and others were just awful. First, the hotel is located on the side of a cliff with the reception at the top and the pool and other activities at the bottom. The rooms and other facilities are located in between. There are 140 steps that connect the top and bottom and it's a maze to get from the top to the bottom. The view is incredible from any part of this hotel! It doesn't matter if you're sitting out in front of your room, or if you're in one of the small restaurants, or you're at the pool. The place just oozes coolness, which is what this hotel is all about. Now, about the love/hate part.

Katikies is really good at the flashy part of running a hotel. There is champagne at check-in and champagne with breakfast every morning. They deliver breakfast to your room or you really can eat anywhere you want on the property. They look after you with service on the small things that is very attentive. If you need your umbrella moved, there are 4 people close by willing to do it. They do a wine tasting on one of the decks that is outstanding, and you feel like you're the most lucky people on earth watching the sunset and doing a tasting at Katikies. That's the good part.

What they are really not very good at is actually running a first class hotel. We reserved 2 rooms for 4 nights each, as we had 2 couples traveling together. They checked us in to 2 rooms that couldn't have been further apart from each other. One was at the top of the hotel and one was directly at the bottom, next to the pool. It's 90 or 95dg every day and it's just about a heart attack getting from the bottom to the top of the hotel. Why they would do this is still a mystery to us! The air conditioning in the bottom room was not working very well and had a freon leak. It just blew a lot of not very cool air. In 4 days, they couldn't get it fixed. In all fairness, it was a huge Greek holiday and it might have been tough to get someone out there who could actually fix it. So what! For the enormous prices that they charge, you ought to get A/C, and it shouldn't be broken for 4 straight nights. A really good hotel would never let this happen. They forgot a wake-up call one morning, and there were several other omissions that were pretty glaring. They aren't very good at the actual hotel part. The confusing thing is that they try really hard. It just didn't happen the way that it was supposed to.

Santorini is a pretty awesome experience, but there are other hotels with the same view and the same facilities. I don't know if you would consider them as luxurious as Katikies, but they certainly are far less expensive. We'll go back but not to Katikies. You can do far better with your money. It would be really easy to confuse the experience of Santorini with staying at Katikies. Santorini is terrific weather you're staying at Katikies or not.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank bobjusacoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

When you are booking your reservation make sure it is for the Katikies Luxury Suites because that is where we stayed. The hotel and the luxury suites are just down the street from each other and owned by the same person but this review is for the luxury suites! This is a five star Greek hotel with a view that will live in your mind forever! If your in love this is the place to stay! The serves is also of the highest calliber! The manager (Lefty) made sure that every detail was to the highest standard! If you are going to Santorini this is the place to stay. Worth every euro you will spend on it!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 957dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2005

We booked the "Honeymoon Suite" at the Katikies Hotel more than a year before our arrival this July. We were disappointed to learn that the suite we thought we booked was currently occupied and we were given an upgrade into the "Katikies Suite" at the hotel instead. The manager explained that there are THREE honeymoon suites total for the Katikes--two for the hotel, one for the Katikies Suites.

What you really need to know is that #24 (Honeymoon Suite) the best room at the hotel. You will only get this suite if you specifically REQUEST IT BY NUMBER. It has the most privacy of any room at Katikes and a wonderful, large private deck.

Our stay at the hotel was very nice except for the whole room mix-up thing. The staff was excellent and unusually accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michellemtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

From the moment we arrived at this spectacular hotel we were taken care of and greeted with a cool glass of champagne. The views were breathtaking and the staff were so helpful and friendly and would bend over backwards to make your stay as memorable and perfect as possible. The very helpful ladies in reception would often recommend other restaurants to eat and would happily book us a table.

The breakfast was served directly on your balcony and was so romantic.

I've been reading through previous comments and i am slightly angered at the comments submitted by the honeymoon couple who stayed on 14th July who wrote such dreadful comments about the best hotel on the island, uhh hello which hotel did you stay at? Did you really stay @ Katikies???!!!

A once in a life time holiday, truly wonderful, excellent food and pure luxury! We will definitely be going back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TashR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#18 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing