We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but........”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel but........”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed here on the last leg of a 3 week holiday in France and Greece . This hotel had been recommended to me by a number of friends and so it was with much anticipation that I arrived at this hotel. I stayed in a " senior suite " which was terrific.The room was spotlessly clean , a good size , extremely comfortable and the service was efficient and respectful. The views were unmatched and it was convenient having a separate entrance to the street via a set of stairs . There is no doubt that this is the part of the island to stay being the " sunset " part of the island. What was wrong with it ? The only fault I could find with the place , and there is nothing they , or any other hotel in their vicinity can do about it given the topography of the island , is that there are approximately 40 - 50 rooms and only room around the main pool for about about 15 couples. Whilst there are 2 other pools there was only on lounge possible for one very small pool and the 3rd pool was inside a " cave " and you had to lay on lounges nearby. when we arrived it was hot and despite paying some 750 euros a night , I was unable to get a lounge by the pool and had to lay on a lounge elsewhere and walk down several levels to the pool to have a swim.
I had to resort to getting up early and putting towels and books on loungchairs to " reserve" a lounge which I something I detest doing.
This would not stop me staying here again as it is a problem with all hotels in the area so it should not be viewed as a criticism of Katakies , but a comment and warning to travellers.
Santorrini is a place that you would go to once and put it in the " ticked the box" category. I was only there for 3 nights which was enough. The island is beautiful and the scenery everything you see on postcards , but if you want to swim in the ocean , I would go to other Islands such as Mykinos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    62
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
59
646
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was definitely one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Room 14's view was unreal! The only complaint we have is that management was rather arrogant and non-accommodating/sympathetic. We had a situation where the lights turned on in the middle of the night in our room and there was nobody around at the front desk or on the entire property to help remedy the situation. Eventually we found someone to fix the circuit breaker. Then, at 6:30 am the cleaning crew started washing our balcony and windows, while we appreciated the cleanliness and up-keep of the property, just wished it wasn't intrusive on our sleep. We did bring this up with management (manager and assistant manager) and they weren't as apologetic as we would have thought given it is a leading hotel of the world and a five star property, they did compensate us with dinner, which was lovely, however we were just really looking for a basic, "I'm sorry." Other than this the property was magnificent, clean, delicious breakfast on the balcony, fantastic infinity pool and all workers were accommodating friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel, just hope management can step it up a notch with their customer service to match their five star status.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is our second time at Katikies, and this time it was for our honeymoon!
Wow, what a spectacular place! The first time we were impressed. The second time blown away!

Why they get all kind of awards and why we will make this a yearly visit is simple:
- Service is top notch
- Setting, view, room, design - all minimal and incredible
- The food is amazing, although a bit too fancy at times. Greek food is good when it is village style. It would be great if they could include a whole grilled fish as part of the men. Nevertheless, the food is great.
- They have an iPOD preloaded with great music in every room - not a big deal as we always bring our iPod, but this little touch is simply the best!

- Every morning the staff would walk up the many stairs and serve us breakfast.
- One really does not need to leave...I could just sit on the patio and look at the stillness of the sea water for hours....and it doesn't get old, or star gazing at night while chatting with my husband and sipping on champagne...or going out to the local bar and having the best dance party...whatever you like, it's there!

Compliments to Management! You have done a great job Alexander!

See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live4thebeach072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful setting and flawless service!
Just wish they had more simple traditional Greek dishes on their menu and more alcohol in their daiquiris.
Room view stunning with lots of privacy.
Some of the best service we have ever had in a hotel.
Pool areas each providing a different kind of experience. One had restaurant that allowed people watching and stunning view from infinity pool. One with cave pool and beautiful views and infinity pool. Last private infinity pool.
All restaurants small and intimate.

Room Tip: Request a room with patio privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The are so many good things to say about this hotel it is difficult to know where to start!

The hotel itself is just delightful with views to die for.. The rooms are all spacious and very comfortable (we had a superior suit which was excellent with a lofted bedroom).

The food is outstanding and if you have the Katikies Dinner experience (which I highly recommend), then it is some of the best food I have ever eaten anywhere in Europe and the chef deserves a Michelin star, in fact make that 2!!

All the staff are very friendly and always there just when you need them without being over bearing, in fact the general level of service is up there with some of the best hotels in the world. I highly recommend having breakfast on your personal terrace each day.

The pools (all three including the cave pool) are fantastic horizon pools that are incredibly private and wonderful.

The spa, the restaurants, the cave rooms, the views, the staff, the welcome, the service, even the great wifi! - I could go on but I will soon hit the word limit for reviews...

It's simple, stay at this hotel you won't regret it I promise! My wife and I will be returning and once you have stayed there you won't want to leave and like us will be working out when you can go back...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Exceptional hotel and unflappable service. Rarely an experience in an hotel is perfect, but this was the case for our stay in Katikies.
We were lucky enought to be in the honeymoon suite, but the real pleasure is the site itself, the attention to details and kindness and helpfullness of the staff.
A must do!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well what can I say, I had high expectations coming from Australia and having traveled extensively many many times overseas. Not to play it up but I've stayed at the most beautiful 5 plus star hotels around the world and this one is worthy of high accolades.
Where to begin, the setting of this stunning hotel is breathtaking, arriving after a short drive from the airport with bags that your grateful you don't have to carry you are confronted with the classic Santorini setting involving many steep paths and stairs. After a warm greeting from the manager and staff the journey to your room will be the first indication as to your fitness level. Spare now a thought to the porters who with bags on shoulders bring your bags to your room.
We were fortunate to have room 2 at the pool level, wow what a room, large, bright and on one level built in the cave style nestled into the hill. A communal horizon edged pool only feet away. So begins our love affair with this hotel and it's ever attentive and adoring staff.
Without exception each one of them makes your stay more rewarding each day. They act like family and after 7 days leaving there was like leaving family. Queen of the pool was Katerina but honestly each member of staff were exemplary.
Other high points were the food, cocktails and if course the views.
I could go on about the things to do in Santorini but that's well documented elsewhere.
Big thanks to Martyn who made sure my pregnant wife never waited more than a few minutes for her requests to be met,
At times it was hard not to feel a little sorry for the staff, standing in the heat all day with sweat beading on there foreheads, but never a complaint.
Finally I can honestly say that should any visitor here write other than glowingly it may have more to do with them and not the establishment or it's staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dryazabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#20 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing