We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on Santorini”
Review of Galini-Oia Pansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galini-Oia Pansion
Ranked #12 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Galini-Oia is located just minutes down the road from the town of Oia--making it easy to explore this part of the island on foot. Great restaurants and unbelievable views are easily accessible, yet the pension is situated on a quiet street with pretty views of the sea (especially nice at sunrise). Our hosts were very accommodating, driving us to and from the port and making sure that we had everything we needed. They provided many suggestions upon arrival of places to see and restaurants to try. The room itself was clean and we enjoyed the small porch outside of our room, as well as the pool. This is a great value on Santorini and a fantastic jumping off point from which to explore the rest of the island by car or bus (the bus system is very easy to use). We enjoyed our stay at Galini-Oia.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The whole point of a review is to notify people of the good and bad points. So, I consider this a fair review.

Pros: Cheap. Good sunset view. Owner lady is very informative. Short walk to Oia and some shops. Clean.

Cons: We specifically asked for a double bed and got two singles. Very loud every morning with main access door constantly slamming. Internet connection is TERRIBLE! We had to go to a cafe in town to use Internet. The pool area is a silent area... Don't make noise when using it. No splashing or playing or fun. There are some old men that seem to live on the property and they just sit in their seats all day and night and stare at people. Didn't want to go on the balcony for this reason. Every time we opened the curtains to our room, the old men were staring at us.

Unlike other travellers have mentioned, we were not offered a lift to the port.

And lastly... We travelled to 6 different countries over 4-5 weeks and on our final day we ate breakfast at Galini Oia. HUGE mistake. Our stomachs were turning for the rest of the day. We were both very sick.

Summary - Had an 'ok' stay, but defintiely would not return.

Room Tip: Maybe at the end of the corridor if you get an upstairs balcony room, as then you are less likely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttttrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place was such a great deal for the money. The rooms are big and clean and have views of the sea in the distance and sunset in the summer from your balcony (though not a view of the volcano side). There is a beautiful pool you can use next door at Maria's place but pay less and stay at Galini. It is just a 2 minute walk to the bus stop to get around Santorini and to the market and a 5 minute walk to the pedestrian walkway in Oia and the amazing views. It takes about 20 minutes to walk all the way to the end of Oia for the sunset but the walk is so enjoyable and beautiful. You also get a/c and a refrigerator in your room! Finally the owner Ana is amazing and super helpful. She sat down with us when we arrived and suggested things to do and explained the island and answered all of our questions. They even picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry dock (45 minute drive) for free. We would definitely stay here again.

The only minor problem is the internet is weak and we often had to go on our balcony to get a stronger signal. Also like most European bathrooms there is no shower curtain for the shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

super i loved my visit and Anna who gived us tips of what to do,where to eat ,visit etc...
Anna made my visit to Santorini EXCELLENT !!!
pool, good value, good service, super location, tv, balcony, small room but it had all we
needed and the pool was lovely and quiet

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was one of the best value for money hotels we have stayed in. It is about 5 min walk to the start of Oia Town with all the beautiful white buildings, (which is much less touristy and nicer than Fira), and 20 minutes to the centre of town. There is a rental car company, bus stop and mini mart about 100 metres walk from your front door. The rooms are small but clean and have an awesome view across farm land to the ocean. I would definitely stay here again.

Upon arrival, Anna was there to greet us with a cool drink and provided a full overview of the island which saved us hours trying to figure it out for ourselves. Anna gives the type of service that you normally have to pay 6 times the price for. Cons? The cheap mattress protector felt like plastic and fitted sheets would have been nice, but for the price, this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_M7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Galini and loved it. We are retirees who travel on a tight budget, and this was excellent value for money. Our room was small but had all we needed, especially a terrific balcony with sunset views. The location is very peaceful and quiet, and we slept perfectly. It is a 7 minute stroll to the start of Oia's Marble Walk, the main pedestrianised tourist mall, and another 15 minutes from there to the Kastro area and its maze of alleyways. We are happy to walk that sort of distance, especially for the fitness benefit, and considering that a room with sea views in that area might cost up to 10 times as much, maybe even more, this was fine with us. The location was handy for the bus, the mini market, the unmissable cliff-top walk track to Fira, and also the Lignos car hire company, 10 Euros per day cheaper for a quad bike than the hire places in central Oia.
The pool area at Galini is lovely. Big pool, lots of sun loungers, chairs and tables.
Best of all, Anna and Kostas were perfect hosts, genuinely concerned that we should have an enjoyable and memorable time. Kostas collected us from the airport and drove us to the port for our departure by sea, no charge. Anna's advice on what to do and see is first class. They are lovely people. Please support them with your business.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at Galini Oia on my own for 4 days and absolutely loved it. Anna was exceptionally friendly and ensured that I was 100% comfortable at all times. It is a short and beautiful walk into Oia central shopping and resturant strip and the pool is fantastic.
Anna made my Santorini holiday what it was she was a gorgeous host that did everything in her power to make my stay incredible. The rooms had everything you needed and the Galini Oia property is stunning! The sun set is gorgeous and much more private that walking through Oia central to watch it. Thank you so much Anna and all the staff at Galini Oia!
I will never forget my Santorini experience.
Kate- Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#35 of 58 in Oia
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Georgis Apartments
Georgis Apartments
#26 of 73 in Oia
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension The Flower
Pension The Flower
#9 of 34 in Oia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galini-Oia Pansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini-Oia Pansion

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $58 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galini-Oia Pansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galini-Oia Pansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini-Oia Pansion Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing