We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was place was like a postcard...picture perfect! We were upgraded to a Superior Suite. We enjoyed the view from our private patio and hot tub. Room service breakfast with this view was incredible. The staff was very accommodating, even lending me a phone charger! The eight course dinner in the cave was an outstanding experience. Our private catamaran cruise was unforgettable. This experience was one to never forget and to recommend to everyone! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: They are all perfect...all with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCHAI, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kathy B,

Thank you so much for your kind words! This is definitely the ultimate satisfaction for all of us!

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Markos Chaidemenos

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    71
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
619
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great change! My fiance' and I switched to this hotel after we found our original hotel (Caldera Villas) unacceptable. They offered us a junior suite with a hot tub on the balcony. The service was outstanding and they gave us a complimentary welcome drink and bottle of champagne. As with most hotels in Santorini, the views were amazing. The complimentary buffet breakfast was great as well. We would definitely recommend this hotel! A+

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you for trusting us with your vacation in our beautiful island and for your nice words!
It was a real pleasure having you here at Canaves Oia Hotel & Suites.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Santorini in the future!

Warm regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at Canaves Oia Suites and I cannot say enough positive things about our stay! We travel often, and I have never felt so compelled to write a review for such a wonderful experience. Everything about this hotel and the staff was outstanding! The location/view was truly amazing and exactly what you picture for an ideal Santorini vacation. The staff really made the stay wonderful...everyone was so attentive and made every detail so simple. They were friendly, gracious, helpful and pleasant at all time. All we had to do is ask a question and everything was handled immediately - from dinner reservations to transportation requests and directions/advice/etc. The best service we have ever experienced, world-wide!! The rooms and private terrace and plunge pool in our suite were beautiful and ideal. Everything absolutely exceeded our expectations! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santorini. We will definitely return in the future!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxs472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear cxs472,

Thank you for trusting us with your special vacation!

We are always glad when we read that guests have enjoyed our accommodation but we feel even more inspired when our dear guests praise our staff and services.

We invest time in order to train our staff and always try to keep the same team together every season many years now. This makes us work like a team and we believe that in the end this makes the difference!

A big THANKS from all the team here at Canaves Oia Hotel & Suites for your nice words! You definitely give us strength for the upcoming busy season!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island.

Kind regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our family just stayed at the Canaves Oia Hotel and Suites and it exceeded our expectations. The location in Oia is perfect, just on the outside of the busy section. The views are fantastic, the food was excellent, the resort is very clean, but the highlight was the staff. Prior to arriving they were very helpful in arranging activities such as sailing and a wine tasting tour. Vas, Mario and Jenny who served breakfast, lunch and dinner made our stay most enjoyable and couldn't have been been more accommodating. If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy amazing scenery you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa and it was great for a grown family and would also work well for 3 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Exceeded our expectations!!! It is by far the most amazing hotel I have ever seen in my life!!! We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely. We were very lucky to join the "Greek Night" which is organized only on Sundays at the restaurant. The food was delicious. The whole stuff was really helpful, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatiaStoykova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Mrs Stoykova,

Thank you so much for your nice words!

The Greek Nights is a very special event that we started last year being inspired from the Year Of Gastronomy for Santorini in 2013.

It is very difficult for our guests to find a place where they could combine good Greek food AND Greek Live music here in Santorini and we feel it is our obligation to offer them this option!

The feedback until now has been great and this is only the first of many surprises that we are bringing to you this summer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Santorini!

Friendly regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia District, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at canaves oia hotel during our visit to santorini. It was the first hotel that we spent three days and then we moved to another hotel nearby. We wanted to stay more days but unlukily we didn't make a reservation so the hotel was already fully booked. Canaves is "the paradise" by all means. It is the most upscaled hotel I have ever seen. The staff was very very accommodating, the wine tasting at the restaurant was lovely and the food was delicious! We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ierodiaconoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Canaves Oia Suites during our trip to Greece! Though Santorini was the last stop for the trip, it would not be a lie to say that the hotel made this stop the best part of the holiday. Oia is about 20 minutes away from the airport by taxi, and this hotel has a breathtaking view of the town and the coast. Upon arrival, we quickly learnt that the staff members are very helpful and informative. The rooms were very spacious and well put together, complete with an information booklet/packet for guests. This hotel has a free wifi-internet service that is really fast, which was a pleasant surprise. I truly felt like I was staying in a palace, and highly recommend anyone going to Santorini to stay here! Thank you Canaves Oia for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing