We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing and relaxing trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Opelika, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing and relaxing trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a well deserved overseas trip so that we could relax and unwind. I've personally always wanted to visit Greece, because I had heard the views were magnificent. We weren't sure where to stay, but wanted to relax in an atmosphere that made us feel like royalty. This is why we chose the Canaves Oia Hotel.

While on our trip, we got to enjoy breathtaking views while also enjoying the luxurious hotel and its many amenities. We chose to stay in a junior suite, which gave us a large living room area as well as a jacuzzi tub, which made for a truly relaxing experience. The room itself was spacious and made for the perfect place to unwind. We hardly wanted to leave our room to see the outside world!

At Canaves Oia Hotel, there is also a great pool with a pool bar. This made for exciting afternoons. We enjoy each others company while sipping on our favorite cocktails. The food was also delicious and every interaction with the staff was top notch - something that is really hard to find these days.

We also enjoyed the free parking - it was a big plus for us!

If you're looking for an unforgettable vacation experience, be sure to book your next stay here!

Room Tip: The junior suite is the perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    71
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
614
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

After extensive research we decided to stay at Canaves Oia Suites in Oia! We had a couple of friends that stayed there before and they raved about the property !! And it certainly lived up to our expectations!! Apart from the location and the quality of the hotel itself the staff was above and beyond!!! Everyone knew our last names, what coffee we like t have in the morning!! It gives a very warm feeling!! It makes you feel at home!! I only spent 4 days but next summer i am going for 10!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a junior suite at Canaves Hotel the beginning of September. I must say we were very impressed with our room and the spectacular view of the caldera. The room was pretty spacious by European standards and had a cozy feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the room also included a very cozy couch to kick back and relax on. The bathroom, which was located directly behind our bedroom was also very spacious, it included a full size jacuzzi and a separate shower that is more than big enough for two people. The view from our room was stunning and we found ourselves spending most of the night sitting on our balcony with a bottle of wine and some snacks just soaking up the beautiful night sky enjoying the lights of Santorini. The included breakfast was not bad at all, we had it delivered to our balcony every morning. My only complaint would be that the hotel tries to up sell you on excursions and dinners that are way to expensive, other than that we had a great time and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your nice words! We would like to thank you once again for trusting us with your special vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island in the future.

Friendly Regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room we had a spectacular view of the sea. We had a "private" pool (hot tub size) on the balcony which was a fabulous treat, although the water was not warm. The bathroom and sitting area were quite nice and the entire suite very clean. The bed was in an alcove and no window, so ventilation was not good.
We dined here for lunch and dinner and food was as good as any we had at any restaurant on Santorini, but a bit pricey. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Oia.

Room Tip: request one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Taylor52,

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a pleasure hearing that our guests left with good memories from the island and of course our hotel.
We are really glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon Suite!

We need to mention that the majority our suites , like almost all cliff side hotels in Oia, are cave like and have only one or two windows. Being built on the edge of the cliff, our hotel's rooms used to be "Canaves" , natural caves were Santorinians were keeping wine stored in ideal temperature, aging all the way back to the 17th century. Those caves have their own, very advanced, ventilation system.

We cannot wait to have you back to Santorini!

Warm regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Canaves Oia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

After research and reading of reviews we (2 couples)
decided to stay at Canaves Hotel in Oia which is definitely the loveliest village in Santorini
On arrival we were informed that we had been "upgraded" to Canaves Suites. Of course we were wowed by the breathtaking views, but our rooms, although very large, were certainly not 5 star. There was a definite smell of damp. The furnishings and the bathrooms were more suited to a 3 star hotel.
After speaking to the manager we were moved to a much nicer suite with upgraded bathrooms. One couple had a large bedroom and bathroom, while the second bedroom and bathroom was extremely small. There was a nice living room which opened onto a terrace with a hot tub and amazing view of the caldera. The rooms were spotlessly clean, but the toiletries were not replaced every day.
A good breakfast was served on the terrace by the pool, although we felt that there could have been a little more choice. The serving staff were extremely professional and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night which was excellent.
The day we checked out we requested to keep our room longer as our flight was in the evening. We were told that this was not possible, even the ough the hotel appeared to be quite empty (end of the season). We felt that after a 5 night stay for 2 couples they could have been a little more obliging.
All in all, the hotel is lovely, but definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a renovated room with upgraded bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPRaanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear JPRaanana,

Thank you for submitting your review!

Firstly I would like to thank you for your nice comment and all your kind words on our services and facilities. We feel ,though, it is necessary to reply on some of the remarks you have made.

We checked with our reservations department and the hotel was indeed not full on the day of your check out. However your suite was expecting a new arrival the same day. Being a unique room type it had to be ready for the next guest, the latest by check in time. We always do our best for a late check out but sometimes as you also understand it is not possible.

Regarding your first suite, unfortunately we didn't have the time to implement changes in few of our largest, best suites during past winter due to limited time. However as of next winter the hotel's renovation will be completed and there will be no room that has a more classic/traditional style. All our suites in both Canaves Oia Hotel or Suites will have a white contemporary style like the suite you stayed at.

We have seriously considered your remark on the variety on breakfast and as of next year we are planning on adding many more options in our breakfast menu. The hotel will also fully upgrade its dining facilities in general adding a new restaurant at Canaves Oia Hotel section as well.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your vacation in our beautiful island. It was a real pleasure meeting you in person during your stay.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Santorini in the near future.

Kind regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Canaves Oia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

wonderful hotel with lift and amazing views. this hotel is very new and with convenient facilities such as lift, and it is almost the first hotel at the beginning of the walking street which means the car can drop you off just at the door of the hotel.

Room Tip: the suite has two bedrooms with two double beds, suit for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantoriniCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a lovely place to be! Our suite was fabulous with every need met.The staff were always cheerful and very helpful. There was a good variety of foods for breakfast.
Dinner was not cheap but the food was great and the wine was superb and the setting was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing