We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maryloujohn Villas Oia”
Review of Maryloujohn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maryloujohn Villas
Ranked #61 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Reviewed December 3, 2012

John and his family were very friendly and helpful. Communication about my reservation was quick. They offer an excellent dinner option for vegetarians.

The view is to die for. From the balcony you can see the breath taking sunsets that Oia is famous for. Out you can take a short walk down to the bus station and experience the sunset from there.

The hotel has a great location close to the main bus stop, shops, bakeries, shopping, supermarkets etc.

I highly recommend staying at Maryloujohn Villas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averlont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The good: the rooms were cheap and the views are great from the terraces. The location is also perfect. John was friendly. There was wifi but it didn't work very well for us in our rooms, worked OK on the terrace but still not great.

The bad: we booked two rooms - a single and a double room. Nobody else was staying there so John said he would give us the 'best' rooms.....if they were the best, I wouldn't want to see the worst! As mentioned by another reviewer, the door handle was falling off, the bathroom shower was very poor, with a mouldy shower curtain, and the bathroom cupboard was falling apart. The single 'cave' room was worse. It smelled badly, was full of moths and other insects, is right next to the main road, and badly needs painting and brightening up to make it look more welcoming.

For one or two nights this is not a bad place to stay, but in these particular rooms you wouldn't really want to stay any longer than that. Looking at pictures on here, we obviously were not given the best rooms at all. It's a shame that we were not offered these, we would even have been willing to pay extra if necessary.

Room Tip: Avoid the cave room like the plague!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Freddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure what people are expecting when they give this place a bad review... The balconies and common areas all have outstanding views (we hardly left the place!) and the location is very close to the heart of Oia but also far enough away to not have hundreds of tourists on your doorstep. Oia, Santorini is not the cheapest place in Greece so our room for 65 euros was terrific value! Definitely would come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wandered into the Maryloujohn on the 1st day of 3 day side trip to Oia-Best decision we made during the entire 8 day stay in Greece. The cave apartment- clean, spacious, cool - great amentities for the value (fridge to keep your water/drinks cold is priceless). Outstanding views & sunsets from the terraces, free wireless to upload all the amazing pics you will take. The best thing about this hotel? The owner Yianni. Talk to him for more than 10 minutes & you learn he is a local, down-to-earth, Athenian guy working his tail off to ensure the integrity of this family business. He will provide you all the info on what to see and do on the island and introduce you to coffee the Greek way. You might even hear some great guitar! In my opinion, this is the stuff that makes for wonderful travel, not how many burners the kitchen has or size of the shower. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Oia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I travelled on Santorini alone at the beginning of july and I had double room. There was enough space and air conditioning what is very important, everything for cooking. As I came to spend time on the island, and stay in hotel just for sleep and shower I've got everything I needed. From terasse you can see very beautiful views. And, of course, I must say about hospitality of the owners. Mary and John were very nice and meet me warmly. John provided me with all information to make my time in Oia very comfortable. Mary cooked very tasty traditional greek dinner. I really enjoyed my time in Maryloujohn!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DariaPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Little disappointed with my little room,
Very cheap stay, however, kitchenette consists of a single burner, holes in bathroom and mirrow with vanity kept falling apart.
No water pressure, took lots of water and time for hot water to come through when showering.
Door handle falling apart.
The place needs a renovation to update basic needs.

Room Tip: No fitness centre, no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolliBenizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Maryloujohn Villas provided a welcome opportunity to enjoy a stunning caldera view - we suspect equal to that to from many five star hotels - at a three star price. John and Mary made us welcome with the best frappe that we tasted in Greece, and Mary poped by with several other treats during our stay. The room was basic but clean, and was one of the few in Europe to provide a fridge and facilities to make a cup of tea or coffee. A bus stop for travel elsewhere on the island and convenience stores for drinks and snacks were very handy, and we were right on the marble promenade that forms the backbone of Oia.

We had intended to do a bit of simple cooking to help manage the budget, but discarded that idea when we discovered the many cafes and restaurants just a short walk away offering lovely food at what we thought were affordable prices, and all offering sublime views over the caldera.

A temperamental wifi service was the only real criticism we would make - usually but not always we could connect by wandering around the property outside our room, but not inside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#27 of 58 in Oia
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ducato Di Oia
Ducato Di Oia
#21 of 34 in Oia
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canaves Oia Hotel
Canaves Oia Hotel
#13 of 58 in Oia
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryloujohn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryloujohn Villas

Address: near St. Georgios Church | Nikolaou Nomikou 9, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $132 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maryloujohn Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This converted 200-year-old Santorinian captain house boasts 2 outdoor terraces with panoramic volcano and sea views. Maryloujohn Villas is located on the central pedestrian street of Oia, 1 km from the beach. With views over the Aegean Sea or the volcano, the air-conditioned rooms come with a kitchenette with fridge and a bathroom with shower. Some units also include a seating area. Wi-Fi is free in public hotel areas. Guests can take a Continental breakfast or enjoy a cup of coffee at one of the villa's sunny terraces with panoramic caldera views. A restaurant and a mini market can be found right next to the complex. Maryloujohn Villas is 20 km from Monolithos Airport and 22 km from Athinios Port. The picturesque Imerovigli is 10 km away, and busy Fira centre is 12 km away. The bus stops just 20 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maryloujohn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryloujohn Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing