We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
52
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oia center sunset view perfect location minute walk cool off amazing sunset would stay here again the cliff a wonderful stay christina supermarket edge crowd apartment footpath jacuzzi balcony
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

I enjoyed our 3 days - 2 nights stay at Captain John mostly for the great location (5 minutes from Oia center) and the views o the cliffs / sea / village. Sunsets are spectacular. The jacuzzi s super nice with a great view too. Anastasia the staff was very helpful. Highly recommended but you need to book in advance

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank evelyne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

The hotel offers amazing views of the caldera and the volcano.
You can see both Oia and For a from here.
The staff is polite and helpful.
The double room is huge and with a balcony to take your breakfast (you make it yourself).
Internet is good but reception is not great in all areas of the room.
I would recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 903giannisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I booked this hotel for the sunset view, as Oia downtown gets crowded around sunset. We were able to enjoy a gorgeous sunset privately and quietly (we shared the balcony with a few other rooms, but other guests were out that evening). This hotel is located at the edge of the curve of Oia, so you get a gorgeous view of not just the caldera but the buildings on the cliff too which I love about Santorini.

A few things to clarify:
- "breakfast included" meant that there's bread and milk in the kitchen. Breakfast is not prepared for you as some hotels do.
- wifi was weak even after closing the front door (as instructed). We were not able to do much beyond checking emails, could not read news, facetime or load photos.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2015_SandW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I could not asked for a more beautiful spot to spend our last few days on this spectacular island. We were greeted by the lovely Anastasia by the parking lot as our driver pulled in.
As she led us to the entrance of Captain John's, we were captivated by a little boat propped on the roof of this 4 room hotel overlooking the breath-taking view of the caldera.
It sure does take your breath away.
The hotel has 3 rooms on one level next to each other with a communal jacuzzi on the far right of the property. Each has their own sunlounge(s), table and chairs on a common balcony. Above, is the fourth room with its own jacuzzi as well as the office/reception, all with a panoramic view of the caldera.
Naturally, the sunset was amazing, even more so in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine in your hand.
We had the middle room of the 3 and it was a generous size. Anastasia had water and juice in the fridge for us as well as coffee, pastries and crisp bread, a very thoughtful touch.
I found the pillows a bit flat during my sleep that night so i used the cushions from the sofa. The next day when we returned from our walk, Anastasia had made the bed with two extra pillows without me uttering a word. That was so incredibly observant and definitely earned brownie points from me. The room was always very clean and tidy and it was mopped everyday.
Two minutes away is the closest supermarket where you'll find you're daily supplies.
An easy fifteen minutes walk away is the beautiful town of Oia.
Captain John's is self contained and has a portable 2 top burner, pots and pans, crockery and a drip coffee machine. It is perfectly located in a lovely and quiet spot. I would highly recommend this adorable place if you're after a view of the caldera and nightly sunset. Amazing!

Room tip: The room at reception level has no neighbouring rooms and has its own jacuzzi hence more private.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank datstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Captain Johns! First of all, the view is simply unbeatable. Just on the edge of Oía, you really get an amazing perspective of the entire village. Pictured do not do it justice!

The location is so peaceful and probably as private as it gets in Oia, at about a 15 minute walk to the main comercial area.

The room is very comfortable and immaculately clean. They don't offer breakfast but were kind enough to include milk, water, toast and jams in the room.

This was a wonderful find and we look forward to coming back!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FiorePebbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews