We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go, you will have a great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 2 Food & Drink in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Farnham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go, you will have a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We shared our trip with two other couples, all of us admitted to NOT being wine experts, although we all enjoyed a glass of wine or two! Phenix is a great hostess guiding you around the wines of Santorini via 3 different wineries, explaining the history & processes behind the production of the wines as you enjoy tasting the very different wines that are produced. The trip was very informative without being too 'heavy' that combined with meeting new people whilst enjoying a few drinks made a very enjoyable day out which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CT1Farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for joining in. You are right... it is a great way to spend the afternoon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    3
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, reasonable company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great way to see the island vineyards, learn about the wine industry and sample some really good local wines
It's informative, but not too overload level and the pace of the afternoon is just right
After two vineyard visits and tastings we found ourselves at a local restaurant for our cooking lesson. This was part demonstration and part 'hands on'. As an experienced cook I would have liked a bit more hands on action, but overall the class was enjoyable. We made a local salad, great tomato fritters and pork in a vinsanto based sauce.
All washed down with more wine and a leisurely end to our trip.

Phoenix is passionate and knowledgeable - do take a trip, it is worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustralianOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for joining in, glad you enjoyed yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow - such a great time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The wine tour with Phenix was absolutely amazing. It was such a great experience with my wife and I along with two other couples. Phenix was able to tell us all about the history of the wine making process in Santorini and she was so down to earth, it felt like we were with an old friend. She facilitated the whole experience in such a way that by the end of the night, none of us wanted the tour to end, so we all hung out watching the sunset. Phenix changes up her wine tours daily and that really makes a difference; you could tell that she really wanted to share her passion with us. We can't describe what a wonderful and unique woman Phenix is. This wine tour is a must!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Yes it was a great day, everyone hit it off so well! Happy you enjoyed yourselves, the island and the tour. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Phoenix is an amazing guide tour, she knows her wine and is most informative about the islands fascinating wine culture. A definite must do!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SNT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to immerse yourself in Greek life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We did the wine tour and cooking class while visiting Santorini on our honeymoon and can't say enough good things about this tour. Phenix is amazing, so friendly and quite knowledgeable on wine as well as local Santorini customs. Her selection of wineries to take us to were spot on. Such a good variety with amazing views. The tasting area for Gaia, which is literally on the beach, was well worth the price alone. I loved the wines from Estate Argyos as well. Thanks to Phenix and her suggestion, we now have a couple special bottles from each winery which we will save for our 1st and 5th anniversaries respectively.

The cooking class was the perfect complement to the wine tour. We learned how to make tomato fritters, Greek salad and then a fish with fava bean purée, all while still drinking more local wines. Our chef was great in that he patiently explained how to fry the perfect fritter, cook the fish, etc. and gave us tips on how to make the food at home--including providing recipes. We finished off with having a delicious dinner on the beach near Kamari Beach. Such a perfect day and way to enjoy Santorini. A must for couples, families and lovers of wine and good food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the review and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Now you can produce a few local dishes to go with your wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing