We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 2 Food & Drink in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We did the wine tour and cooking class with Phenix and it was fabulous. The wine tours were great- learning about the wines of Santorini while tasting the product in beautiful settings was a definite highlights of our time in Santorini. Phenix keeps the group size small, which made the entire tour far more personal and enjoyable. The cooking class was also really enjoyable- definitely geared for people with any level of cooking experience. Would absolutely recommend an outing with Phenix to anyone who is interested in learning more about the wines of Santorini from a local expert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Brittany, I am so glad that you got to join in the fun. It was a great day, thank you for letting me share it with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    3
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must-do experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are interested in good food and wine, don't miss this; A visit to 2 wineries with an informative explanation of the history of winemaking in Santorini and the uniqueness of the region, followed, not only by a sumptuous dinner in an excellent beachfront taverna, but the opportunity to help the chef prepare it, learning the little tricks to good greek salad, tomato keftethes and pork medalions in vinsanto. Of course it was washed down with the wonderful local assyrtico wines. Our host, Phenix, shared with us her passion for Santorini and its amazing food and wine. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel and were lucky enough to share our experience with a beautiful mother and daughter from the US. Well worth doing, a great way to spend an afternoon in Santorini.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks Nick, it was a fun afternoon.
Let me know if there are any hook-ups between the offspring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Phoenix, the best !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

TRUST Phoenix !!!! She knows how to make you experts in Santorini wine and food !!!
You will really enjoy a wonderful half day tour !!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ifestiosantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trip for adults and nearly adult kid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to go on Phenix's wine tour in late May 2013. It was a great side trip to see the island and get a very detailed tour of the beautiful wineries and the island. My husband and I and our two nearly adult children (17 and 20 years old) enjoyed learning about the farming practices and of course tasting the wines and appetizers. Phenix was a very skilled tour guide and certainly knows her stuff so you won't go wrong here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBolinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole family and am very glad it was a hit with all of you. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Santorini - Wine AND Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I were able to make a last minute reservation with Phoneix and I am glad that we did. We both like wine, and like to cook, so the idea of combining the two was interesting to us. We had a pretty much private tour of the city, and learned a tremendous amount about the history of wine making. We visited 2 wineries, did a lot of tastings and explored some of the vineyards to see how the grapes grow. We ended the day with a cooking lesson and learned about the local cuisine and customs, followed by dinner on the beach.

The whole trip - starting with picking us up at our hotel and dropping us back off- took about 5 hours, and was well worth the 260 Euro for 2 (130 per).

Phoenix was also a blast to be around - very fun, great story telling ability, and a lot of information about the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jhsst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am so glad that it all worked out so we could spend the time together. Thanks for the review and I hope the rest of your stay was as enjoyable. Did you make it to La Ponta?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing