We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time”

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 2 Food & Drink in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were on a cruise ship that stopped in Santorini late in the afternoon. Phenix picked us up at 3:30 and we did a half day semi private tour with her. She took us to a vineyard and explained the unique methods of grape growing on the island and then went to 3 wineries that each had different methods of making wine, from traditional to modern. At each winery an extensive range of wines were tasted. At the last winery a sampling of tapas style, delicious Greek food was provided. There were opportunities to buy wine at each of the wineries but no pressure to do so.
Phenix is very engaging, friendly and knowledgeable about wines.You don't have to be a wine connoisseur to enjoy this tour for, as Phenix says, if you enjoy the wine, it's a good wine. It was an informative and very enjoyable way to get a taste of Santorini. Definitely recommend this tour!

1  Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and very happy that you enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did the half day tour with Phenix and thoroughly enjoyed it. Phenix picked us up from our accommodation, and returned us at the end of the afternoon. She had a great understanding of the Santorini wine culture - teaching us all about the traditional basket method used by the Santorini wine growers. Phenix is very personable and had a good relationship with the staff of the vineyards we visited.

For fist time visitors, the tour provided us with a wonderful introduction to Santorini, the island history, and her wines. Highly recommended.

Thank cupcake488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review! Glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Phenix makes this experience amazing! The wine is amazing and you get to see all sides of the island. Phenix gives you great insider information. She is originally from the US so her English is great. She brings you to some of the best wineries on the island. There is no pressure to buy anything at any of the wineries, although after you taste the wines you most likely will buy some! Overall, this is a great alternative to just laying out at a beach!

Thank FrequentTraveller416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your review & I can't agree with you more. The beach is great, but the wines are the real star of this island! Enjoy yours...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I did the half day wine tour with Phenix. The tour started at 3:00pm and we got back to the hotel around 7:00pm. We had a great time learning about the local wines and some history of the island. We visited 3 wineries, family run and tasted about 11 wines and ended up buying 6 to bring home. At the last winery we even had a light lunch. Phoenix is very knowledgeable, fun to be with and had a great rapport with the the wineries we visited. I highly recommend her.

Thank klbrooks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and glad that you had a fun day. Enjoy the wines and come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent the day with Phenix, she is friendly polite and speaks excellent English. We toured and sampled 5 superb vineyards that demonstrated the character of Santorini's unique wines and vineyards . Capped off with a very nice meal in an experimental vineyard. In all we sampled nearly 30 superb wines and VinSanto . No question was too hard for our host.
Recommended to all wine lovers and people who want some background to the culture , geography and wine history of Santorini

Thank DavidW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you joined in on the day. The 2 of you made it very enjoyable for me as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing