We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a beach lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Katharos Lounge

Katharos Lounge
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are off the beaten track and tucked away in a private location at Katharos Beach in Oia. We focus on light & healthy tapas style dining with spicy accents and international flavors. Music is central to our ambiance and we often host live musical acts. Comfort, quality and simplicity are key to our business. Come join us for a relaxing experience. During our peak summer months from June~Mid September, we are open until 2am.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beach lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice view and great breeze from this wonderful outdoor cafe overlooking the beach. The food and drink were reasonable priced and very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank golferdude56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    133
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best dinner ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Awesome sunset view!! Romantic atmosphere! Awesome food with big portion!! Friendly staffs and great service! Will definitely go back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vava0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great discovery for light lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We happened on the lounge accidentally. What a great view, wonderful service and nice shady breeze. The grilled vegetables were fantastic. The remainder--sandwiches etc good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Saw the very high ratings on this place, so originally intended to visit for sunset dinner. However on the day we had planned to go it was extremely cloudy so we aborted. Instead we went for lunch a couple of days later - really glad we only went for lunch rather than dinner. Firstly, it's quite a trek by foot from Oia - not for the faint-hearted - and the experience definitely does not warrant the climb back up! The 'approach' to the beach is far from scenic and the views from the restaurant are spoiled by the electricity / telephone cables which go into the sea at this point. The beach itself is very small and typical black volcanic sand - dont come here for the beach alone.

At lunch time, it's basically a snack bar menu with salads. No choice of wine - only the house red, white and Rose by the glass or carafe. Our Greek salads were large, though somewhat bulked up by the unnecessary and not particularly pleasant chunks of bread thrown in. Wine was drinkable. Overall, not worth the effort of getting here. It may miraculously transform for dinners, but you certainly wouldn't want to attempt the walk here in the dark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Proud_scot_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved loved this restaurant:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Wow where do I begin?
Turned out to be a cool evening with wind and rain.
Everyone huddled inside, it was like a Greek kitchen party!
Our tapas plates were amazing as was the Sangria.
The owner is so hospitable sending over Sangria over to our table on the house.
Wow!
We were at the restaurant for 4 hours gorging ourselves on tapas and drinks and the bill was $71!
Thank you guys for making our stay in Santorini even more memorable!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katharos Lounge also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Katharos Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing