We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, but crowded”

Sunsets Cafe-restaurant
Ranked #35 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good view, but crowded”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here, of course, to see the sunset and have a few drinks. We sat in the cafe downstairs. The view would have been excellent, but it was right on a walkway where many tourists decided to stop and watch the sunset as well, blocking our view. The service was a little slow, but our waiter was very nice. It may have been better just to sit somewhere on the walkway to view the sunset.

Helpful?
Thank ginnyh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    103
    42
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The main attraction is the sunset.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Oia is famous for its sunsets and, as the name suggests, this place is in a great location for viewing the sunset. In fact, they probably rely on this for most of their trade. We had a pleasant meal while watching the sunset but would recommend watching the sunset from somewhere nearby, then going to one of the better restaurants for dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Spectacular View AND Meal”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were four couples who reserved the best table for the evening ceremony to say ""good night" to the solar father - Mr. Sun. We were looked after expertly by the single male server who was managing at least 20 covers. We ordered drinks and starters. Five of us had the spicy chicken breast and the others the salmon. Make sure you take a sweater or shawl for your shoulders after the sun goes down. We have sampled 7 restaurants over the last week here in Santorini and this rates high for food, view and ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tough2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect view!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stumbled upon the stairs up to this restaurant by chance and were so glad we did. The view was PERFECT. We shared a bottle of sparkling wine and 3 appetizers...we weren't planning on a full meal...the white eggplant dip was rather flavorless but the dolamdes and fried cheese were so tasty. We were overall very happy with our experience. We were really not focused on our appetizers but more so the experience of catching the sunset from an uncrowded place. Just below us in the walkways, hundreds of people were watching together....nice to look down upon while being able to relax at Sunsets :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenS1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and view!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great food, great service, great view!
One of the only places in Greece that served us cold beer. Friendly service, fresh seafood and nice appetizers!
Only drawback is the strong wind!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank guga82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunsets Cafe-restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sunsets Cafe-restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing