We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and food but can get busy”

Strogili Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great views and food but can get busy”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Strogili is a very popular restaurant as it offers both Caldera and sunset views. It is set on 2 levels, one a sheltered but still open lower floor, and the other a completely exposed rooftop terrace.

The roof is completely unsuited to windy conditions, which unfortunately are a feature in Santorini. The lower floor is more sheltered but oddly cramped around the tables.

Food is very good and the menu is varied with lots to pick from. Service is good but can get a little stressed at busy periods, particularly around the 8pm - 9pm sunset catchers.

We enjoyed 2 meals here during our 2 weeks away and thought it one of the better restaurants we tried. Fresh ingredients and simple delicious food - my pasta arriabatta was excellent and contained the only fresh chillies I'd seen in 2 weeks. Very reasonable prices for the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    120
    51
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pure Delight”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family enjoyed a delightful meal during the sunset here. The service was outstanding. We asked the manager to reserve a table for us during sunset--we went out for a bit, came back, and our table was ready and waiting. We enjoyed a wonderful meal, beautiful sunset, and smiling and gracious service. The restaurant is certainly busy, as it should be! But we would return again and again. Our food was delicious, and the prices were reasonable. When we asked about the easiest way to get a taxi back to the other side of the island, the manager called one for us. Don't miss this spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were really disappointed with our meal here. Everything was so rushed.

What restaurant brings out your starters and main courses all together, and then complains when you ask for the mains to be sent back while you finish your starters?!

The food was pretty bland and felt very mass produced - nothing tasted fresh, more that it was cooked from frozen.

I wouldn't return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lady_kates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a lovely light late afternoon lunch here. We shared the Lamb Souvlaki and a tomato/caper & greek cheese salad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, awesome view”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a really lovely meal here and watched the sunset - perfect clear views to the horizon and the sun sinking into the sea, as well as a full 360 view of the whole of Oia. Book earlier in the day or the day before and make sure they tell you exactly which table will be yours. Also try the halloumi with honey and sesame, truly one of the most spectacular dishes I've ever eaten!
Waiters were attentive and helpful and really couldn't fault the whole experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strogili Restaurant also viewed

 
Santorini, Cyclades
 

Been to Strogili Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing