We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect morning in Santorini!”

Santorini Sea Trips Anemos
Ranked #8 of 15 Tours in Oia
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect morning in Santorini!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We visited Santorini in March, which was perfect. There were no crowds and the weather was perfect: sunny and 75 degrees each day. Many boat tours and sea trip excursions were not yet running since tourist season had not yet begun. However, upon contacting Captain Stathis via email @ santoriniseatrips@yahoo.co.uk, we were promptly greeted and happily booked a three hour excursion on the Anemos. We met Captain Stathis at the port in Fira, where he welcomed us aboard his ship with a warm and welcoming smile. He graciously escorted us around the beautiful Caldera, over to Oia, and back to Fira, tailoring the trip according to our wishes. He even allowed our four year old son to steer the ship, creating a memory that will last a lifetime! Our first stop was the Volcano, where we were free to spend as much time as we liked trekking around the wonderfully unique black lava rocks. Next, we visited the hot springs. Unfortunately, it was a bit too cool to experience this attraction. The boat anchors in a bay area, where you would swim over to the actual hot springs. We were not prepared for a chilly swim, so on we went around the volcano and did a little deep sea fishing en route to Oia. In warmer times, there would have been amazing swimming opportunities through this area. If I had a do-over, I would come a little later in the season and plan the excursion to sightsee, swim and drop off at Oia for lunch and shopping/exploring, then return to Fira via bus. Now, we know the bus service between Oia and Fira is simple to use, cheap, and frequent enough to accommodate daily travel plans. Since we chose to return to Fira, we were stuck waiting on a broken cable car to get back up to town. (Fira port has three options to ascend from the port to town: 1.) unending stairs up a cliff 2.) donkeys (not an option for us as our little one was terrified somehow.) 3.) cable cars that run less frequently in the off season. This excursion was a wonderful part of our vacation in Santorini. Our morning on the water with Captain Stathis made for an unforgettable set of memories while on this beautiful island filled with gracious, kind hearted and welcoming people.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Excited2Travel_CRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
220 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The most picturesque [man-made] place in Europe”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Forget Paris. Landon, bah. Barcelona, retrograde. Provence and Tuscany, well close. For my money, the most picturesque [man-made] place in Europe is OIA, a tiny village on the northern tip of the Island of Santorini in Greece. Don't take my word for it, consider how many travel magazine covers have appeared this year with one of Oia domed covered churches have appeared, back dropped by the azure sky with the multicolored shades of cerulean and cobalt blues of the Eastern Aegean. And all of the covers do not do it justice.
Unfortunately, I and my lovely wife were on a cruise vacation and we had only two and a half hours to wander its streets, note the people still leading work-donkeys, selling t-shirts, leather goods, etc. to we tourists and I cannot tell you what the inside of what any of these buildings look like. Nor can I review a single restaurant; although I can tell you -I saw them deliver it- the food, especially the seafood, was fresh.
The rest of Santorini, alleged site that inspired Mama Mia (I heard that said of several places was prosaic. Nice, but not up to the standard set by Oia. Take a donkey ride down the cliff, or the cable car. Go the the winery. By the way, except that the wine being free, you can skip the winery. Either way, ou will still prefer Oia.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The cherry on an already amazing trip!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

On our second to last day we took a three hour tour on the Isabella with Karen and Nick. We nearly missed the boat, having underestimated how long it would take to get from Oia to the port, but they had kept an eye out for us and turned the boat right around to collect us. They were without a doubt, the most hospitable and lovely people. We were on the boat with a family of four so it felt more like being on the boat of a family member as opposed to being carted like cattle like some of the other service operators.

We weren't able to get to the volcano because of extremely choppy waters (nobody was making it out) but we were able to sail along the coast, swim in the sea, and lounge in the sun. We had lots of wonderful nibbles that they prepared, as well as sodas, and it was an incredible experience. Excellent value for money.

I'd strongly recommend this over other boat tours - this was a far more personable, high quality and relaxed experience than what you'd get on a boat with 50 random people.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of a magnificent island”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We took a tour of Oia & the Winery on the Island of Santorini from a cruise ship. We were met by our tour guide who was excellent , her name was Georgina. She was the best, her english was very good and she never missed a beat telling us all about the Island with every little detail. She kept the group in order politely asking a couple of folks who were talking among themselves to keep it down so that we could all hear what she had to say and therefore getting the most out of the tour...very good at her job.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank obanitevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great day”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had the most perfect day. 11 friends went out on the boat for the day. Captain Stathis was so wonderful and took us wherever we wanted to go. We started out by going up to OIA for a couple of hours. They arranged to have a mini bus pick us up to take us to the top and then back down when we were done. Then he took us to a private bay where we had a wonderful lunch that his wife prepared for us. We also had some wine that Stathis had made himself and tomatoes that they had grown in their own garden. After we ate he took us to another place to snorkel. The water was an unbelievable blue. After that we went to the hot springs and swam in the hot water. It was such a great day. We had a couple people in our group who got a little sea sick. Captain Stathis was nice enough to find places in the water where it wasn't that choppy.

If you don't want to get stuck going up or down at Fira I would also recommend them just to take you up to Oia and back. The view from the cliffs by boat was worth the money just for that. Out of our entire trip it was one of our most favorite days.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank McParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Sea Trips Anemos also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Sea Trips Anemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing