We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Santorini's Soul!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambelia Traditional Villas
Ranked #18 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Wonderful spot with big,clean and fully-equiped apartments (with huge terrace) that ensure you a very relaxing stay..Finikia is a nice small tradicional village, so there you actually enjoy some quite real greece (try the restaurant close to the hotel!!) then it takes a short walk to Oia Town (breathtaking view, sunset, shops and turists everywhere!!). The top is renting a Scooter or atv to explore the island..Thanks to Sam and Sisi to make our stay really unforgetable!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelealbanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

I spend a lovely week with my wife in this hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. Sami (the manager) was so great, friendly, doing his best to please your needs. Our villas was absolutely amazing, spacious, excellent décoration, clean with incredible view. Sami speaks many languages and he knows all about the places and sights you can visit in the island! Sissy (Sami’s wife) is also very kind and helpful. She is young and beautiful and they have an amazing little boy, he looks like an angel!!!

The village of Finikia offers an ideal retreat to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. Amazing colours, beautiful traditional houses, excellent greek hospitality. You can walk for a long time and always find a little corner unexplored!!! There are lovely beaches just some minutes far away from Finikia, Baxedes is just 15’ minutes walk but we liked Kolubos more!!! Also in 10 minutes you can be in Noisy Oia, it’s worth seeing the Caldera and the sunset ( if you wanna watch it with crowd ), but we preferred to sit and watch it from the church across from Ambelia, more romantic for couples.

I recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stay on 16th July 2011. The hotel is a walking distance to the caldera but it was nice and peace with sea view. The staff was very kind and compromise. I really love this place , my honeymoon was just perfect in a very big cave room with kitchen inside. The service was the best that I ever had. I wish I could come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamatilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thank you very much for your thoughtful accommodation and hospitality. We've had a lovely 4 days and enjoyed our stay very much! The apartment was extremely clean, simple and beautiful, really luxurious (which we found to be excellent value) with excellent view towards to Cyclades islands. Sami is always smiling, ready to help you, he speaks many languages and he knows everything about the island.

Don’t miss Ammoudi bay, it’s a really very special place and it’s famous for its fish restaurants (you can eat and enjoy really fresh fish)!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank frangeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed for a couple days and we loved it.

The location is perfect, the room was huge and the prices reasonable.

Thanks for all,
Christos

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsichr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for 4 days and we wish we had more time.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Sami was a wonderful host and gave us recommendations to restaurants and other places on the island. He was very friendly and efficient.
Our villas was spacious, well-maintained and good value for money. It was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and the view was amazing towards the bluest of aegean sea.
Finikia is a very peaceful and beautiful village and the local people are very nice and friendly. It's located 15 minutes walk from Oia.
We would stay here again if we returned to Santorini. Highly recommend this hotel for both couples and families!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We booked Ambelia for our Santorini vacation based on the pictures and reviews on tripadvisor and going to Ambelia's website. We left completely disappointed.

The villas are pretty much apartments. Ours had a full kitchen and a large porch area. From the porch you can see to the west coastline, which gives great sunset views. The beds are big and comfortable. Sami, the owner, manager, and maid, is a friendly guy.

It's too bad those are the only good things I can say about Ambelia. We felt duped by the misleading advertising that Ambelia uses:
(1) Our booking said free breakfast was included. When we got there, we found out that free breakfast meant half a loaf of bread delivered by Sami at a random time of his choosing. I guess that's technically breakfast but no reasonable person would have any way of knowing that based on the hotel's descriptions.

(2) The descriptions of the villas indicated free wifi. In fact, wifi is only available inside Sami's house, which doubles as the reception area. The reception on the wifi is so bad that you can't even get it when you're standing a foot outside of Sami's door. Again, that's technically free wifi but again, no reasonable person would expect that's what was meant by free wifi

(3) The website clearly says Ia is a 10 minute walk from Ambelia. That is 100% a lie. It probably isn't a 10 minute RUN from Ambelia. We are a young couple (mid-20s) and in great shape. It probably took us 30 minutes or more to walk to Ia. The walk is mostly along a narrow road with Greek drivers speeding along it. There are no sidewalks, so it is quite dangerous, especially at night.

There are also other minor inconveniences. The towels are very crusty. The inside of the villas are very dusty. There are stray cats running around everywhere. Only bar soap is provided (no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.). The TV did not work at all. The kitchen had an ant problem. The porch had an insect problem. The complex itself is impossible to find in Finikia. Sami never once turned over the room during our 5-day stay except for giving us new towels.

Based on our experience, there is no way we would stay here again. I actually wish I could get my money back, since we felt we were lied to. Don't make the same mistake as us. Stay somewhere actually in Ia.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digitaltraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.9 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.4 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#40 of 58 in Oia
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marizan Caves & Villas
0.1 mi away
Elysian Santorini
Elysian Santorini
#9 of 73 in Oia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambelia Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambelia Traditional Villas

Address: Finikia, Oia 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $87 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambelia Traditional Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Αmbelia Traditional Villas” is a group of stunning, fully self-contained cavehouses located in Oias’s Finikia. 8 genuine village-houses of a neighbourhood have been totally renewed in 2009 to become high luxury cave houses that offer all modern facilities. Each villa overlooks the blue northern shore of the island and has a private terrace with an amazing panoramic seaview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambelia Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambelia Traditional Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing