We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious with great ambiance”
Review of 1800

1800
Ranked #53 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
North Bellmore, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious with great ambiance”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I ate here on our last night in Santorini. He had the meat tasting menu while I had the rabbit appetizer and ribeye entree. Everything we had was delicious...best meal of our entire trip to Greece.

The ambiance of the restaurant is great...the rooftop deck has great views of Oia and gets nice and cool after sun sets.
A bit pricey...our dinner was over 120euros and we did not get wine or dessert...however the food was delicious so we would definitely recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    154
    85
    45
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

everything was great about this restaurant, service is prompt, menu is impeccable, good location in the center of oia and the food was delicious, well presented
It is worth experiencing when in Santorini!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tamlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“1800...out of a possible 10,000”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ok, we should have listened to the reviews rather than our guidebooks.
1800 is below the average restaurant in terms of food quality and service, we have had better food at local tavernas. The Chet's welcome aperitif was worth the cost, free. We did not consume more than the first taste. We had the white eggplant salad, which was so sour that we could not eat it. Our entrees were better, which means almost average. The seafood pasta was overcooked, and the croaker over seasoned. We had to ask for things like olive oil with the bread and Parmesan cheese for the pasta. The seating is also very close, so you get to hear all your neighbors conversations.
We have found the food in Greece fantastic during our two weeks here, this was an expensive anomaly.
I recommend you find a different place to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Much Hype”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We heard a lot about this restaurant and while it was a pleasant dinner experience, it most certainly did not live up to the hype. It was very expensive and the staff that served us were most certainly not locals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

1800 is located in the center of town in Oia. The building is beautiful and we sat on the rooftop for dinner. The views of the Caldera at night were wonderful. The food and the service were good- not knock your socks off but we really enjoyed our meal. The wine selection was great and our waiter recommended a fantastic local wine. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1800 also viewed

 

Been to 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing