We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view. Don't miss a chance to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1800

1800
Ranked #48 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great view. Don't miss a chance to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We were referred to this restaurant by the owner of the hotel in which we stayed. It proved to be a terrific find. Every part of the night was great. The food equalled the spectacular view we had from the rooftop outdoor dining area. There was also a very adequate wine list. Service was very good too. They were attentive and aided us in making some food choices. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    152
    85
    44
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal we have had. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Set in a beautiful restored house, 1800 offers a scenic view of Olia. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent; sourced locally, well thought out interesting combinations, and cooked perfectly. Overall, a fantastic restaurant, and probably the best we have ever been to.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hjm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fine dining atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is an old aristocratic house with a nice courtyard and roof terrace that exudes quality. Food is lightly experimental but nothing too shocking (yoghurt ice Lollipop with salad, for example). Expect fine dining prices but overall it is worth it if you eat this type of food regularly as it is comparable with similar in most cities in the world. Service is discreet and attentive. Wine choice is good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrralst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine dining on a par with good UK fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Set in an old aristocratic house this is a charming escape from the taverna fare. The food likes to think it is experimental but it tends to keep these to little flourishes rather than full on taste sensations (ie lamb with popcorn/ yoghurt ice lolls with salad) for the islands this is very tempting fare. The predominately Greek wine list is broad and need not break the bank but if you are a red wine drinker you will need to pay for the older wines that are better bodied. Service is attentive and unhurried. Food is well within range for a la carte (slightly pink lamb). Recommend the desserts that are calorie joys (though ill not sold on rosemary as sorbet flavor) take this opportunity to end with a 20+ year Vissanto to really get why this product I loved. If you ardoing this properly yo probably wont walk away with a bill less than 300 Euros for two but there are plenty of ways to pull this cost down (tasting menus, for example) it's a thoroughl enjoyable experience and, coupled with the in-house dining at Mystique (no open to non-residents) this is the best food on the caldera by far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On my list of best meals ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This place should be a Michelin two star. Seriously. The location, decor, service, wine list, and food are absolutely impeccable. I put it on a par with l'Atelier Joel Robuchon in Paris. In fact, the service is better at 1800! The wine list is 100% Greek. It is broken down by region and by varietal, with a brief description of each. It includes a map of the wine regions of Greece, which is also very nice.
The menu is set up with a choice of three different tasting menus or a la carte. We chose a la carte. The dishes were semi deconstructed but not overly wrought. My salad of cherry tomato, strawberry, strawberry gelee, and cucumber/wasabi sorbet was a playground of flavors and textures. Simple ingredients but expertly orchestrated. My entree was lamb loin with truffled polenta, cury cream, tomato coulis, balsamic glaze, and crushed popcorn. Unreal. Every bite was a joy. (OK there were a few hard kernels in my popcorn, but I forgive all).
For desert we shared a milk chocolate affair with ginger rosemary sorbet laced with Vin Santo. Yum! I ordered a 1989 Vin Santo to go with it. The sommelier brought out a 1987 Vin Santo out of magnum by Argyros. Holy moly. We went to the winery the next day and bought a bottle.
Really, it was one of the best meals I've had anywhere in the world. The kicker is that while we were in Greece the exchange rate turned in our favor. So, although it is not cheap it was about $150.00 less than we had expected. Dinner for two with one bottle of wine and all the bells and whistles was $300.00 all in.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1800 also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing