We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety and views.”
Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Chef Panagiotis Kerpelis is obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination and a kitchen that delivers the very best products of the earth to the table.No detail or element can be less important or more important than another.Because a great meal is not one that fills you up.A great meal is a kind of journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten and takes you to places you haven't been before.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We enjoyed a great meal while enjoying one of the best sunset views in Santorini. Staff was very friendly and attentive. I had a great appetizer of mussels prepared in ouzo which was very good but a little small. However for an entrée I had a lamb with apricots and olives cooked in parchment which was unique and delicious. Overall this was one of our favorite meals while in Santorini.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 291 of 745 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Food was ok, nothing too fancy but i left full and feeling well. Waiters did their best in this really busy place but all food isnt overpriced and ive really been to some overpriced and overrated places there so cant really complain!

Thank SarunasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went because they told us that the restaurant is an excellent place to watch the sunset and it didn't disappointed us. However the service could have been better, they are understaff and the food was ok nothing memorable, but the location is unbeatable!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pashagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We ate here last night based on recommendation from our hotel reception and did some research on TA beforehand. We've been traveling for 7 days in Greece (Athens and Crete so far) and this was the most expensive yet worst meal so far. Tip - If your coming here to see the sunset (obviously) your better off eating elsewhere before or after and watch from either infront or behind this restaurant. The views are just as good and you'll save yourself a lot of money, time and disappointment.

We expected the service to be hit or miss based on other reviews and we're pretty easy going...but it was sad to see 2 waiters serving over 30 tables (mismanaged?). Both waiters did their best to keep people happy. Actually the waiters truely went above and beyond, running up and down the stairs, trying to sit people with and w/o reservations, and fending off compliants from customers along the way. That really is the only positive thing I can say about this restuarant. We ordered the lobster spaghetti for 2 based on recommendation (fyi - the most expensive item on the menu) and although it was very big it was overcooked and unedible. I felt bad for the lobster. I tried to break the claws (no cracker provided) but it was hopeless since the meat was stuck to the shell and so dry. I've never had to eat fish with a knife before. The pasta was ok. Another table sent their meal back since the chicken was uncooked and I overheard some other compliants (maybe chalk it up to a new chief?). The waiter did try to make good on the other table with the chicken by offering another meal or complimentary drinks. Ours didn't even ask how our meal was. We actually felt bad for the waiters since how could they expect a tip with such bad food and challenging service?

They offered us 2 complimentary deserts as we were getting up that we regretfully accepted. We had 2 bites each but it was aweful. The wine was good and make sure to have yellow donkey beer while in greece(our fav).

I typically don't write bad reviews but I had to share this to hopefully help out any other travelers. If your really set on coming here just order some drinks (maybe order 2 rounds at once) and watch the sunset.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mtfb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great place to view the sunset in Santorini. The service was excellent and the food was good. The view was excellent and worth having your hotel book your table in advance! Very friendly and great drinks selection.

Thank AKSAOPM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing