We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out”
Review of Skala Restaurant

Skala Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: $28 - $34
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: No Sunset View
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great evening out”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner here. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was very romantic and relaxing. Will visit again when we return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    501
    207
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unpretentious delight”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Care is needed in Oia, as it is extremely up-market and restaurant prices can be similarly hiked. The St.Tropez feel can certainly lull one into paying over the top. No such worries at Skala, however, where the food is delicious, the staff friendly and very efficient (we witnessed them cope admirably with an unexpected arrival of a party of at least 16 people with tables effortlessly pushed together, orders taken and food and drinks delivered!). My melt-in-the-mouth Lamb kleftiko was suberb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great views and value”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We tried this place as per the recommendation in Frommer's Greece travel guide as the best value choice in Oia. The staff was very friendly and indeed the prices are good, when compared to other parts in Oia and Santorini. However, the food was rather average in our view. The caldera view is great, though - however, note that you will not catch the sunset from here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but far from our best meal in Greece”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went here for my birthday dinner around 9 p.m. Were waved in by an employee who seemed kind of harried, found our own seats. Whereas in the rest of Greece, we'd have a server's attention almost immediately, here we waited for a while (though not as long as you often do in the States). Other diners were smoking, and the smell was noticeable. Got the seafood salad, which was tasty if a bit strong. The octopus came as two tentacles and was resoundingly average. Also got some cheesy onion cakes that were decent. Service was meh -- not curt but not friendly either. Pretty caldera views, though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blubonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A must try in Oia”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped in for late lunch/dinner. Food was really good, wait staff friendly and fun. And you can not miss with the views of the caldera. Calamari stuffed with feta and spinach. Beef short ribs with white santorini eggplant in a white sauce similar to stroganoff. Both excellent. Topped diner with a glass of the locally made vinsanto wine kind of a cross between a port and a moscato, sweet bold and oh so good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skala Restaurant also viewed

Oia, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Skala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing