We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such kindness and a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Angel Cave Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Cave Houses
Ranked #21 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Such kindness and a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

After having such a lovely time in Fira, we headed for Oia for a couple of nights and couldn't have chosen much better than the lovely Angel Cave houses.

As we were visiting during a quiet time of year, we were given a suite well beyond the one we had ordered, with a lovely secluded shaded balcony and even a Clavinova piano which we luckily only discovered on the day we left.

Athanasia (Soula) looked after us so dearly, even coming back early from town on the day we left so she could personally see us off to the airport. Nothing was an inconvenience, the breakfast was just right and brought to our room, and she had left a carafe of home made wine for us on our arrival. Soula's family live on site, and the place maintains a family feel, though her family are perhaps a little more shy.

We didn't use the hot tub on the balcony, but the bedroom was very comfy and spacious and the two rooms and bathroom were kept very tidy throughout our stay.

The small houses are fairly easy to get to from the main road, at the start of the main bit of Oia, round the back of one of the main churches, though are still quite hidden away on the south facing side of Oia. The suites were tastefully furnished, and notably clean.

If you are at all wondering over whether to visit in Winter, I would thoroughly recommend it. We had warm weather with really bright sunshine and cloudless skies on three of our five days. Oia is wonderfully peaceful, restaurants and hotels are delighted to welcome people, and though quite a bit of building work is going on for the summer, it is not noisy. It has a very different feel to Fira, and earns its reputation as a very beautiful place indeed, with amazing views of the bay and caldera.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Thanks so much for giving us this memory to our first trip in Santorini :) The view of our room is so good that we directly face the sea in front! The decorations in this room are very romantic and the jacuzy is so comfortable! Besides, my boyfriend and I both think the owner of the hotel is so nice :) Additionally, we had the company of a little cat every morning, which was so sweet :))) (The cat is not owned by the owner of the hotel, but a wild one.) Overall we had a memorable experience in Santorini and we think we would return!

Room Tip: in winter, all rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miaomiaoown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Angel Cave Houses is the most perfect choice if yoou want to stay in Oia Village!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is located on the clif and it has an excellent view out to sea , the famous caldera and the perfect uninterrupted view of the famous sunset.
Soula and her mother Helen were both very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
We booked the Kallisti Honeymoon Suite. Upon arrival Soula provided us a map and detailed several places to visit arround the island, and many restaurants o try depending on our budget.
The Honeymoon suite was amazing.It had a romantic decoration and we liked the piano!!!!!!!!
The suite was very clean, there is a fully equiped kitchen, just in case you want to cook be sure that you will find all the enquired equipment , in order to enjoy your meal outside with the view of the caldera.
The room has an inside jacuzzi and an outside one on the private veranda.
The wi-fi was free and fast.The homemade breakfast ( Helen cooks the breakfast for you ) , is different every day and it is just perffect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!So delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! like their homemade wine also!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you are looking for a quite place with the panoramic view of the sea , the famus caldera the volcano and the most beautifull sunset Angel Cave is the most ideal choice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We just cameback from our honeymoon trip and we will definitely go back again during the summer !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Soula and Helen.See you soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the room types have the same incredible panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Perfect for us after a stay on the beach at Perissa was the incredible view from the balcony. The cave houses are located about 100 metres down from the big church at the start of Oia and are suprisingly quiet away from the bustle of the town. The house was very homely and comfortable and Sula was a great host during our stay, cooking our breakfast as soon as she saw us on the terrace and providing us with lovely home made wine. Sula also arranged taxis and recommended and booked restaurants for us which was great and also the best place to take in the sunset. We had a junior suite which has its own hot tub on the terrace which is a fantastic experience when taking in the view.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been to Angel Cave Houses in September 2012 with my girlfriend and it was fantastic. It is similar to a Bed & Breakfast but it is perfect. I have never felt so peaceful as I felt in Angel Cave Houses. I had total privacy without bothering staff that you usually get in a fancy hotel. The distance for the main spots in OIA is short and you just need to go over 20 steps to the main road, which is a GREAT advantage in OIA. Best hotels in town are far below and demands athletic skills to climb up to the main road. The view is absolutely perfect, the sunset is the best in the world, specially having a beer/wine in the private jacuzzi. The quietness of the place is so amazing, you can't hear anything but birds and the sea, I will definitely go back !!! Room is of excellent size, bathroom too, we were in the Junior Suite. There is a living room with 8 seats table which I did not use. The staff was discrete and helped us with the suitcases.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is the best by far, the one on the second floor on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Angel Cave Houses in the middle of August, during a week that the entire island had a power outage. I understand that this is incredibly stressful for a hotel with guests, however I dont think that is an excuse for the owners and staff to be incredibly rude. When we arrived we were told of the situation. We were very understanding and low maintenance about it, but still felt like the staff saw us as a bother or an annoyance. None of the staff we encountered were friendly or even smiled. I totally understand that the situation with the power couldnt be helped by them, but the way they approached us as guests definitely could have.

I will say that the location is beautiful, the views are amazing, and the room was big and clean. However based on the customer service alone, I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

the view, the view and the view. The Cave Angel Hotel is located in a cliff with a panoramic view of the caldera.The room is very big and the decoration has a bit of art deco. Wake up every morning , open the door and see the deep blue ocean was a lifetime experience. It is a family host hotel, so the staff are very kind and helpful. The relationship between price and what do you get is excellent if you consider that other hotels in the same place are much more expensive.

Room Tip: Anyone with the view, try the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambition Suites
Ambition Suites
#31 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thirea Suites & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lava Oia's
Lava Oia's
#20 of 74 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimida Villas
Rimida Villas
#10 of 74 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Onar Villas
Onar Villas
#9 of 74 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Cave Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Cave Houses

Property: Angel Cave Houses
Address: Oia - Santorini | Cyclades, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Angel Cave Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel Cave Houses hotel in Santorini is a personal matter so we are expecting you from January to December to feel right from the beginning of your stay the warmth of a family environment in one of our apartments, studios, suites and honeymoon suites. We are eager to welcome you with complimentary Santorini wine and fresh fruit upon your arrival and we will be glad to offer you our afternoon traditional treat of homemade sweets. If you prefer to experience the excitement of the Santorini upbeat atmosphere and spend endless hours basking in the Aegean sun, opt for July and August for your Santorini holiday. Spend incomparably relaxing moments, enjoy a cool climate without extremes and get acquainted with Oia and the rest of Santorini at your own pace during Easter time, early summer months as well as September, which constitute ideal periods for an Oia Santorini vacation. On the other hand, if you are looking for a secluded castaway haven to loosen up your body and mind, while gazing at the breathtaking Caldera view, opt for an autumn or winter trip at the amazing Angel Cave Houses hotel. Whenever you decide to take your trip to Oia Santorini, the Angel Cave Houses hotel, always committed to its every guest, will pamper you offering high quality facilities and supreme services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angel Cave Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Cave Houses Hotel Oia
Angel Cave Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing