We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure travellers”
Review of Georgis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georgis Apartments
Ranked #31 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adventure travellers”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

If part of the allure of travelling for you is getting to experience the culture of the place you are staying, then Giorgis Apartments is for you!! If you like a 'North American travel experience', then you're better off staying in Fira with the hordes of tourists. We just stayed at Giorgis and can't recommend it highly enough. We were greeted at the ferry port by the owner and received complimentary shuttle service to the parking lot of the "traditional settlement" of Finikia. Finikia has no roads - charming passageways connect the community and a donkey carried our luggage up to the apartments. I'm mid 50s and had no trouble, but the setting wouldn't be suitable for people with mobility issues. We arrived before check-in time, but were warmly greeted and offered coffee and cake before being taken up to our apartment. Our apartment (the studio for 2) had a private balcony facing the sea, a large, comfortable bed, a small fridge and hotplate, cooking utensils and dishes, a kitchen table, and a day bed/couch. It was a place where you could feel/be as connected or as disconnected to the world as you would like - from donkeys to having Wi-Fi in your room. The pool was a really nice amenity to come home to, and a place to meet other guests. My husband went up to the pool (Giorgis apartments is built on different levels) after an incredible day sightseeing. The owner brought out a bottle of homemade wine which led to a lovely evening with hotel guests chatting over the shared bottle of wine. Breakfast was very good by European standards - bread, jam, honey, yogurt, egg, cake, juice, coffee/tea, and the service was great. Amazing value for the money - we paid only 70Euros per night, through booking.com.
If you're concerned about the lack of a caldera view - the view is maybe 10 minutes walk away. We like to be out and about seeing everything when we travel, so it wasn't a big deal for us to appreciate the view while out walking or sitting at one of the many tavernas situated through Oia that have the panoramic caldera view.

We were only there for two days, but made the most of it - we rented a convertible Smart Car one day and drove to Ancient Thira - remarkable ruins with a series of rather remarkable switchbacks taking you to the top where the hike begins. Saw the red volcanic beach and the black volcanic beach and spent time in some small villages. Spent the other day exploring Oia which is a short walk away. An amazing weekend -
could have easily stayed a week.....or more. We were actually hoping that the volcanic ash problem from Iceland would result in our airport being closed so that we could be 'stranded' there :=)

So, if you like to support the local economy and appreciate family-run businesses with great warmth and hospitality, this could be your dream vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheSaraSara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

this is in a quiet village about 10mins walk to oia. welcomed us with homemade sweet wine! they recommended great restaurants in finikia itself which were not in our guide book. good breakfast and pool. only thing is the room was a little cold for us and bathroom only had a handheld shower. but a good view of the sunset!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaursids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed there for 3 nıghts after reading another revıew. It was totally worth ıt. It ıs not ın Oıa but in the vıllage of fınıkıa about 10 mınutes walk away. But thıs was a god send as ıt was ına proper Greek village that wasnt full of tourists lıke Oıa and ıt was quiet whıch Oıa wasnt. If I was to go back to Santorini I would only stay here that way I could go to Oia when I wanted to but have the peace when I wanted to as well. It felt lıke a true Greek holıday not some place over run wıth tour buses. You also get an unımpeded vıew of the sea from the other sıde of the ısland.

Also Gerogıe ıs a great guy. He even gave us some of hıs wıne that he makes there and the qualıty of the accommodatıon was top notch and the pool ıs lovely as well. A really quaint qualıty place.

Thanks Georgıe and Tanıa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanlen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I did some research before deciding and finally found little reviews of this hotel which impressed me. Now that my friends and I stayed there for 2 nights, I intended to write the review here for the first time after I used this tripadvisor for many trips before. We loved the place from the pick-up at the port by a new car followed by a 10-min walk on the narrow cycladic way to the place led by the friendly owner, Georgis, and his loyal strong donkey carrying our luggages along the way. Four of us shared two rooms with beautiful seaview outside our large balcony. Rooms are very clean with a friedge and kitchen and small dining table. Kitchen utensil are new and clean. Small homemade breakfast with good bread and a boiled egg by his smiley wife is included. We felt like we stay with family and relatives....warm welcoming feeling in a cozy lovely place. We wish we would be here again but in summertime for a dip in a small nice pool with sunbathing areas to enjoy fantastic view of the sea infront. The place is in a small Finikia town next to Oia where we can walk to enjoy the famous sunset there in 15-20 minutes with lovely shops and restaurant along the way so we would not feel bored but enjoyed great view of the caldera overlooking the sea while walking. It's a total relaxing vacation... away from crowded expensive areas. If you don't mind walking in a little village feel...this is the place...Fantastic apartments with great value. We are so glad we found this place and picked it thanks to tripadvisor. (The tiny clean shower room needs curtains or else everything will get wet after showering. That's the only complaints we have for the place.) We definitely told our friends to support this family-run lovely apartment. The pictures on the web are what we found there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arasmas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.2 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#35 of 56 in Oia
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambelia Traditional Villas
0.1 mi away
Agnadi Villa
Agnadi Villa
#24 of 34 in Oia
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun Anemos Resort
Sun Anemos Resort
#18 of 34 in Oia
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgis Apartments

Property: Georgis Apartments
Address: Finikia, Oia 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Georgis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgis Apartments Hotel Oia
Georgis Apartments Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing