We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and thoughtful owners”
Review of Georgis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Georgis Apartments
Ranked #27 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The apartments are hidden in local residences and you do need to walk for about 5 minutes from the car park but for us it was perfect! The walk to the apartments was quite pleasant with a view of typical Santorini houses and the ocean. We never got lost because the thoughtful owner marked the route to his place with blue arrows all the way from the car park. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and travelling in the peak tourist season. We were lost in crowds wherever we went. Georgis apartments are quiet and away from the Oia center where most tourists go to see the sunset therefore it gives you more personal space plus the sunset view on your own balcony. Public transport in Santorini is not very busy therefore it helped a great deal that Georgis offers pick up and send off services. He even has a donkey to transport our luggage from the car park to the apartments. We had a great time and really appreciated Georgis and Donia's hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yao W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The good:
The apartments are located in the quaint, quiet, and charming neighborhood of Finikia, close to Oia. It has beautiful views of the northern tip of Santorini and quick, easy access to the north beaches. It is also conveniently located walking distance from Santorini-Moy, a must-visit taverna that has live Greek music every evening, performed by the owner himself.
The owners are very nice and hospitable, and their breakfast is delicious! In addition to the typical Greek continental breakfast of ham, cheese, bread, yogurt, and jams, were treated to pan-seared zucchini, tomato fritters, vegetable omelettes, and other delicious treats. The rooms are cute and clean, and there is a clean pool available for your use.

The bad:
Georgis Apartments are located deep in Finikia, a pedestrian-only neighborhood. It's a good 8-10 minute walk through Finikia, anytime you want to get in or out. Not the most convenient. And it's not in Oia proper. Without a rental car, expect a long walk to the main part of OIa, where all the shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants are. Oia is also quite a distance from the other main points of the island, so a rental car is pretty much necessary.
The towels are hard. This is a weird complaint, I know, but there it is. It's like drying yourself off with sandpaper.

What you should know:
Make sure you arrange for Georgis to come pick you up from the plane/ferry. You will be wanting his donkey to carry your luggage through Finikia, trust me.
Make sure you are aware of the location and that it is not the main part of Oia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Greece, and the 2 nights we stayed at Georgis were absolutely wonderful. Georgis and Tatiana were so kind. After picking us up from the Port (free of charge) despite our very late ferry, we were welcomed to a donkey luggage service and special homemade Metze wine with Georgis. From our beautiful, private apartment, lovely sunset and ocean views, delicious and fresh breakfasts, and helpful touring advice and information, we were in heaven. Georgis is only a short walk from the main and busy streets of Oia, yet feels a world away with its peace and beauty. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to revisit some day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

For our first time in Santorini, I wanted a greek experience not hotel room, hence we picked Georgis. The apartments are on varying levels due to hillside contour. We were at the top but they all have great views overlooking farmland and out to sea on the other side of the island, not the caldera side. Rooftop balcony provides loungers, a great spot for happy hour and using wifi.
Georgis is in Finikia, Oia is a few minutes scooter ride away. Bathrooms are very small and all different. Our friends had a lower level apartment and could not flush paper in toilet. We could in our higher up apartment.
Breakfast was plentiful and a different treat each day like fritters to accompany the usual stuffed vineleaves, boiled eggs, buns, cereals and greek yoghurt, juices etc.
Georgi and his wife were extremely hospitable and their limited English was not a problem.
An interesting part of staying here is the walk from carpark through the ancient abodes to the hotel, great history here. Free transfers were provided.
A few minutes walk to the main road there is a pub/restaurant providing an awesome night of greek entertainment. The owner plays instruments and sings and was also in the Mama Mia movie, playing the piano.

Room Tip: The varying levels means of course that there are steps. Not suitable for disabled but great if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this hotel as we were not really attracted about the hotel chains that owns the properties on the caldera side. We had a fantastic view of the sea and during summer time, the sunset is on this side of the island, not on the caldera side... We were looking for a relaxing holiday and we had a very great time with Georgi and Tanya. The owner came and provide us with a free pick-up from the port and we were taken to the main parking lot where Georgi took our luggage's and place them on a donkey. We walked to our houses and were invited to attend breakfast the next day. The food was plenty and DELICIOUS! We were the last guest of the season so we were the only one in the hotel at the time; regardless, we felt like we were welcomed and we were constantly greeted by some smiley faces. Internet is provided free -of - charge and was working with a few devices at the same time which was great. The village of Oia is within 15 minutes walk and there are a few grocery stores in the local area. The bus stop is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel and takes you to Hiram in 20 minutes. Georgi took us to the airport, again for free at the end of our stay. If we end up going back to Santorini, definitely a stay at Georgis apartments is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotter933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

You will be picked up when you arrive and then Georgi's donkey will carry your luggage to your room. You will then be given some of Georgi's homemade wine made in the same place it has been made by his family for 400 years! To get to the apartments you walk thru an authentic old
Greek village. The room we stayed in was the cave room that the owner was born in. The room was beautifully decorated with touches that made you feel you were visiting relatives. The roof top terraces provide wonderful views. Breakfast was a small buffet. We totally loved the charm and the experience of a truly authentic Greek home. The main town of Oia is about a 15 minute walk and it was nice to get away from the crowds....I will certainly return!

Room Tip: Walk up to the Santorini Mou for a great meal and fantastic entertainment from the owner who sings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We wanted a budget friendly place to stay in Oia. This place caught our eye because of the reviews on the sunset viewing from the balcony and the donkey. It did not disappoint.

The owners are very welcoming but do not speak fluent English (however, we were able to communicate sufficiently).
The breakfast is standard for Greece with a few fun additions- every morning the owners would cook something like apple fritters or zucchini balls.
The pool and sun terrace offered stunning views, as did the apartment's balcony. Every night we enjoyed a crowd-free sunset that was phenomenal.
It is a 12 minute walk into Oia over an up and down terrain.
PS The donkey made it into our vacation photos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nextthursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#36 of 58 in Oia
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#25 of 81 in Fira
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agnadi Villa
Agnadi Villa
#29 of 34 in Oia
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambelia Traditional Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgis Apartments

Address: Finikia, Oia 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Georgis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgis Apartments Hotel Oia
Georgis Apartments Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing