We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path= fabulous!”
Review of Georgis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Georgis Apartments
Ranked #34 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path= fabulous!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We wanted a budget friendly place to stay in Oia. This place caught our eye because of the reviews on the sunset viewing from the balcony and the donkey. It did not disappoint.

The owners are very welcoming but do not speak fluent English (however, we were able to communicate sufficiently).
The breakfast is standard for Greece with a few fun additions- every morning the owners would cook something like apple fritters or zucchini balls.
The pool and sun terrace offered stunning views, as did the apartment's balcony. Every night we enjoyed a crowd-free sunset that was phenomenal.
It is a 12 minute walk into Oia over an up and down terrain.
PS The donkey made it into our vacation photos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nextthursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from santorini. It was definitely pre-season, many properties closed, but this apartment was perfect ready. Quiet place in a village like 15 min walk from Oia, friendly host
and efficient service - cleaning, pick up etc. If you don't mind walking and steps (we don't) and have time for leisure (not just say Wow! to caldera and go back) - it is a very good option. We liked it.

Room Tip: There are rooms with sea view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here with our two children for four nights on the last leg of an island-hopping holiday in summer 2011. Santorini generally is congested and tawdry after the other islands, but the village of Finikia and Georgi's Apartments are a refuge from all the coach parties and probably as near to old Greece as you will find on the island.Georgi and his wife are welcoming hosts, and it is a huge benefit that Georgi will pick you up from and drop you back to the airport/port. The apartments have been created from traditional houses, so they have quirky character and are solidly-built. It should be said that the apartments are a reasonable (though level) walk from Oia and that the pool is more of a plunge pool than a proper-sized swimming pool. What you do get is tranquility and good value by the standards of this island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. Comfortable accomodation, lovely village environment, and the friendliest staff. The apartments are located in Finikia and are about a 10 minute walk to Oia - what an oasis away from tourists and noise. The staff (including Georgis) are incredibly welcoming, helpful, and really make you feel at home. Breakfast was great and the view onto the farms and oceans below is great. The apartments are also about 3/4 mile from a quiet beach below. If we are back in Santorini, we will definately stay with Georgis again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed with Georgi and Tania for 3 nights in June. Georgie picked us up at the ferry, which was very good, and we enjoyed the trip up the steep slppes of the island wondering where we were going. The furtheer we went the more doubts we had until we arrived at our change of transport area at Finikia, where we put our luggage on Georgies donkey for the final assault on the "roads" to the appartments. What a lovely unique place , and the greeting by Tania added to our comfort. The appartment was well cleaned and serviced, good greek breakfast, and a lovely swimming pool. The walk into Oia was a little strenious, (we are both well into retirement) but this area is the one to definitely stay as it has the best scenery and local restuarants and shopping on the island. we would recommend Georgies providing you can walk a couple of kms, as a restful and enjoyable place to stay. Well done Georgi and Taina

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank royvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved, loved, loved it. Georgis, Tania and their family are brilliant hosts. lovely welcome and breakfasts. Spotlessly clean and a home from home. Location excellent.
Can't recommend highly enough. We will be back.xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The couple who owned Georgis Apartments, Tania and Georgis, were warm, super friendly, and very accommodating. Staying in Georgis Apartments was like staying over at your uncle and auntie’s place for vacation. Our room was very nice, clean, and equipped with small kitchen (including cooking utensils). Location required some walking (15-20 minutes walk to the center of Oia) on hilly path, but we didn't mind because we were able to enjoy the traditional settlement of Finikia where Georgis Apartments located. Having the donkey brought our luggage really helped and quite an experience for us.

One down side experience was the two-in-one heater/air-conditioning in our room was not really working. We stayed in Georgis Apartment in middle of last April when it supposed to be warm enough to have the heater turned off. But during our stay, the weather turned ugly and the temperature at night dropped (I'm guessing) below 10 degrees Celsius and it even rained on the second night. Coming from tropical country, this was a total shock to us. Luckily, the blankets that Tania provided us were able to keep us warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemis_the_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#36 of 56 in Oia
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#34 of 56 in Oia
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambelia Traditional Villas
0.1 mi away
Agnadi Villa
Agnadi Villa
#26 of 34 in Oia
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiklamino Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgis Apartments

Property: Georgis Apartments
Address: Finikia, Oia 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Georgis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgis Apartments Hotel Oia
Georgis Apartments Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing