We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view-fantastic stay!”
Review of Casa Sofia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Sofia
Ranked #26 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2010

If you want a picture perfect view at a great value, Casa Sofia is for you. It was an adorable little "cave house" built right into the cliffs in Oia Village in Santorini. It was very clean and everthing was white and blue. It was directly below the blue domed building you see in all the pictures of Santorini and had an amazing view of the Caldera. Maria Fouka was a pleasure to work with while securing our reservation. She also arranged a rental car for us and was so incredibly helpful. Vasilly helped us with our baggage when we arrived and was very helpful too. At 80 euros, this was a great deal for a quintessential Santorini experience. If you're looking for luxury and an American style hotel, this is not for you. But really, why go to Greece then? A few items to note. If you are very out of shape or have any type of walking problem, this might not be the place for you. There are many steps to get to and from the main pathway in Santorini, but this is typical of the cave houses in Oia. The room itself is small--a double bed, small desk, shelves and rack for hanging, a few steps down to a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was very clean and nice but you did have to take a shorter shower to keep the water hot. Santorini is general conserves water and you cannot drink water out of the tap but they did provide a large bottle of water for us and it's very inexpensive to buy. I would absolutely go back to Casa Sofia again and high recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnellyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

We just left beautiful Santorini and Casa Sofia two days ago and I couldn't wait to write this review. I travelled with my husband and four children (14-22) and we occupied 2 rooms. My husband and I stayed in the studio, my children in a larger spacious apartment. Maria was amazing in getting all the arrangements done, including a car rental company which greeted us at the airport. Visillis met us at the Bus Station and showed us where to park and he helped carry our luggage to our rooms and gave us helpful tips about the island.. As previously mentioned, the walk down to the house takes only a few minutes but is SO worth it once you get there. Privacy, tranquility and a beautiful view from our patio. The rooms were clean, and we too left our doors open to enjoy the fresh ocean breeze each evening. Maid service was provided each day along with a large bottle of water.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here after reading the TA forums and the website of the Casa as there were no reviews. We stayed in the studio.

We are glad we took the punt based on no reviews. Maria is very helpful on the phone when booking and can arrange hire cars, transfers, etc or just provide directions.

When we arrived (by hire car, which we recommend) we called Maria and within 5 minutes the extremely friendly and fun Vassilis arrived to help us with our bags (and I mean help, he carried both our 20kg cases all the way to the Casa. This guy deserves a medal). He also gave us a couple of good tips for tavernas and places to see.

The Casa is located about 30/40 steps or so down from the main path of Oia. Its cut into the rock face. Its not too strenuous a walk (Vassilis takes the bags anyway) and is fine for anyone of middle fitness. I would avoid it if you are disabled or extremely unfit (although to be honest, avoid Oia totally if that's the case). Its about 3 minute walk to the main square and the same to the castle (its located halfway between the two, down the hill).

The Casa itself is very pretty. The view is spectacular and the little veranda has a table and couple of chairs to sit and read / drink wine etc. You can't see the sunset from here (as with anywhere on this side of Oia), but its only 2 minutes to the castle so don't worry about that.

The Casa has a little kitchen, although we didn't use it so can't comment. It has a microwave / grill and little hob and a fridge (which we did use). It also has its own private shower room. The only down side of this is that the hot water tank is small (20 litres). That means about 5 minutes of showering before a reheat is needed (which takes 20 minutes) but the shower is big enough for two people unlike most Greek showers.

Overall this place is extremely romantic, very private and tucked away. The price is good for Oia and we would definitely stay again. We stayed mid-May and it was pleasant, although I don't think there's air conditioning so it might get hot in summer. There is a fly screen door, so you could leave the door open no problem (its totally private and safe, so no need to worry about this).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lnyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Canaves Oia Hotel
Canaves Oia Hotel
#12 of 56 in Oia
948 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laokasti Villas
Laokasti Villas
#32 of 56 in Oia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sofia

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Casa Sofia Hotel Oia
Casa Sofia Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing