We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of sunset at bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelekanos

Pelekanos
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great view of sunset at bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate here one night, but ended up going back two other nights to sit at the bar for the sunset. The bar has an excellent view of the sunset, and you don't have to fight the crowds. We were lucky to get a seat both nights. Going about an hour before sunset is a good idea. My husband called the bartender "The Happiest Man on the Island of Happy People." He was fantastic! Friendly, funny, attentive! Go here for a drink and a beautiful sunset view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    257
    75
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE VIEW, THE VIEW, THE VIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Pelekanos is all about the view. It is truly a magical spot; one of the most amazing views in the Greek islands, period, if not most anywhere else in the world. Be there for dinner and the sunset and you will never forget it. The food is average-to-good, as noted by other reviews, but the food is not why you are there. THE VIEW is the reason and it alone is worth it. Plus, in terms of prices, the food is not nearly as expensive as other spots with far inferior views. Also, there is a very lively bar directly below the rooftop restaurant that is quite a happening place after the sunset. One note, if you are visiting Santorini on a cruise ship and will not be on the island but for lunch, the view is still amazing and the lunch menu is very reasonably priced. Finally, if going for lunch from a cruise ship, take the bus from the bus park in Fira. Don't even think about a cab. Ridiculously priced. Ask any of the locals for directions to the bus park, they will direct you to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely views and atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to Pelekanos directly after sunset. The views from their terrace are amazing and there is a wonderful atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and attentive but unfortunately the food was average, especially compared to the excellent meals we have had in Oia and the rest of Santorini. We were disappointed after reading all of the good tripadvisor reviews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location for the Sunset and Volcano views.
Good food - sufficient choice for vegetarians.
Nice choice of cocktails.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamboLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ah, the serenity. And the filo-wrapped fetta. Oh, and the views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I often plan my holiday dining around Trip Advisor recommendations, but we randomly stumbled across Pelekanos on a hot summer afternoon in July. We had no idea if the upstairs dining area would be full of coach-loads of tourists but were pleasantly surprised.

Around midday on a Friday, the place was calm and civilized. A few couples and small groups were scattered around, but we were easily shown to a table and escaped the heat under a shadecloth whilst scanning the amazing view as far as the eye could see, as a cooling breeze swept across the balcony.

The staff were lovely, attentive and charming. We shared our seventh taramasalata of the trip, and it was perfectly balanced, having had some too salty and some unnervingly pink. My favourite dish of the trip was the filo-wrapped fetta prepared at Pelekanos, which sat comfortably oozing in a pool of honey. It's one of those holiday dishes I'll try to recreate at home and fail miserably at.

The three of us shared mussels [delish] and the santorini pasta [a huge and delicious portion, filled with tomato, capers, olives and fetta]. We also shared the burgers, which were koftkas served with salad, and although tasty, not on par with the other dishes.

We overheard a young girl booking for that night's dinner service, and she secured the last table, so it sounds like the place does get busy for sunset. It would be a magical setting for the sunset, so do pencil this place into your plans. Easy to find, on the main path in Oia. The restaurant itself is up two flights of stairs, but the ground-level bar is also signposted.

You'll also spy a few iconic blue domes from the balcony....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelekanos also viewed

 

Been to Pelekanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing