We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelekanos has it all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelekanos

Pelekanos
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pelekanos has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived just before sunset and the roof terrace was crowded with people who wanted to get the best shot: If I had been eating at a table facing the sunset at the time I would have been very annoyed with people leaning over me with their camera. Luckily, I was not, and 10 minutes later most bar guests had left and we got a table without reservations.

The food was excellent and we even got free dessert - I don't know if this was standard. The staff was very attentive and we got the best Mojitos on the island at the bar which had an impressive cocktail list.

Both restaurant and bar is placed on the roof top terrace from where you have a stunning view of the caldera, the sunset and the city of Oia. It's placed right on the main pedestrian street and therefore easy to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank piaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    256
    75
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset,England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident but had a fantastic evening there. We decided to eat on the rooftop. Spectacular 360 degree views of the Caldera and the Agean. The food was great and service very attentive and efficient. The real fun started when we moved to the bar area to watch the sunset. The barman had a great line in good natured insults ("there you go Del Boy" said to my hubby as he was served his pina colada). He also seemed to be on a mission to get the customers chatting by introducing them to each other. The sunset itself was accompanied by Andrea Bocelli singing Time to Say Goodbye, timed to perfection as the sun disappeared. Pure cheese but a really memorable experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank welshgirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great views, Cold Drinks, Nice View for Tired Family of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did not eat a full meal, but did have Greek Salad and various appetizers, very good. Great place to cool off and look around. Very friendly staff. Nice cold Mythos beer and clean bathrooms! Just what a tired mom and dad need after carting the grade-schoolers around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chios, Greece
1 review
“a place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visited the restaurant going by a reference travel book and was a nice experience.Food was very good and prices were decent.The sun set was great and the staff was gorgeous.
It is recommended by us one of the most difficult and demanding visitors on mother earth!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, plenty for leftovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spectacular location and view; good teamwork approach to service, and very tasty food in ample quantities. We went back a second time for crepes for dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelekanos also viewed

 

Been to Pelekanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing