We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extra star for Mr. Yiannis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marizan Caves & Villas
Ranked #1 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This being the most expensive place we booked through out our trip to Greece, we were left underwhelmed by the quality of rooms and place. We paid 160 euros a night for a romantic cave early June for 4 nights. Most people confuse hotels and santorini and end up writing a review on santorini instead in these reviews. Hopefully I don't tread that path ;)

So we arrive at the hotel on a hot sweltering afternoon; our room was right next to the reception so that meant we didnt have to walk too many steps. However we were disappointed in our room. The room looked shabby and dark. There was a stench in the bathroom that wouldn't go. Not to mention that the bathroom was of a ridiculous shape and almost unusable.

We discovered later too that while a lot of other hotels had personalized breakfast service, this hotel's breakfast is in the refrigerator! All you would get fresh is the bread and nothing else. Don't go expecting any sort of real breakfast as this will disappoint you as it did. Not to mention the bread service itself. Every morning the moment i woke up and opened door and got outside, I would be handed a basket of bread. Hello, I just woke up, I am clearly sleepy and still opening up, and bham - bread by your side. Its this kind of impersonal service that really disappointed us for a room that 160 Euros a night.

That said, to be fair, the location of the hotel is FANTASTIC. There is NO better place in Oia to watch the sunset than this place, that much is for sure. There is practically nothing between u and the sunset if you stay here.

Mr Yiannis the owner is also an awesome man too. We had declined the 2 day car rental, for which Mr. Yiannis himself took us on a trip to the entire Santorini Island. You can make out that he loves Santorini and he loves looking after people. He is really a gracious owner. Cristos, the guy who acted as the reception guy was also very sweet and helpful. Extremely nice guy.

If not for the people running this hotel, we'd be very disappointed. We would not go here in future again, but wouldn't mind going to the hotel and say hi to Mr. Yiannis. I am told that expecting a lot from Oia hotels is not a good idea, so keep that in mind when you go there ;)

If its sunset that you want and don't care abt the quality of rooms you stay in, then yes, Marizan is the place. If not, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supremus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 430 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights and I would definitely use it again and I would recommend this sweet place to all of our friends.
The area is great, close to everything. The view is out of this world. As we arrived we were served with champagne and fruits right on the terrace outside of our cave house. The terrace is huge. The cave house is very big and clean. The kitchen is functional. Every day the breakfast was served. The breakfast is simple and fulfilling enough: bread roll, cheese, ham, yoghurt, and juice.
The hospitality was top notch. One night, as we were enjoying the stunning view from our terrace, the owner served each of us with the glass of white wine, which was very nice. The hotel stuff was very welcoming. Nadya, the lady who cleaned the house did an excellent job and was extremely helpful and kind. The room and the terrace were always clean. When we mentioned to her that the towels were stiff, she told the owner right away and I am sure this problem will be solved. Chris helped us make some calls and was always there when we needed him. He also helped us to carry our bags.
Overall, I thought it was a great little hotel and great value for money! We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Santorini.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crashik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We had a lovely stay at Marizan Villas in mid-May. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed each night. Its located at the western part of Oia just past the bustle of the main streets. We could watch the sunset from our patio which was amazing. Owner Yannis is a character and extremely helpful and friendly. One night we asked for a recommendation for a place to eat and when we asked for directions he just decided to walk for 15 minutes right to front door of restaurant and we got free wine at end of our meal on his behalf! Traditional cave rooms are a unique experience. Rooms were quite clean with modern decor. Breakfast was very good with fresh bread delievered to our door first thing in the morning. We very much enjoyed our experience and our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoJoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveLoverDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metasimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marizan Caves & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marizan Caves & Villas

Address: Oia Santorini | Garbinoi Miloi, Oia, Greece (Formerly Marizan Studios & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $197 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marizan Caves & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marizan Caves & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marizan Caves & Villas Hotel Oia
Marizan Caves And Villas
Marizan Caves & Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing