We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marizan Caves & Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marizan Caves & Villas
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed on 20th oct 2013. Recommend you arrange pickup with marios owner as hotel a little hard to find cost 25 euro. Marios and janet are the perfect hosts give advice on where to eat and arrange any trips you are interested just lovely people. Your view totally unobstructed to view the amazing sunset at oia as this is the last hotel overlooking the agean sea. Watch the huge cruise ships pass by truely an amazing view. As we stayed late in the season the pool was closed but they have a roof top spa which did the trick. Fresh bread is delivered to our door each morning and we have cereal, milk, juice, water, fresh ham, cheese & youghurt in the fridge wow. Fresh sheets every morning this place is not to be missed the experience of staying in a traditional cave was fantastic would recommend to anyone. Dont go too late in the season as a lot of trips etc. Ferrys may no longer be going and places stadt to close down. Plenty of restuarants to visit all overlooking the views. Make sure you have good walking shoes as stdps everywhere, knees a little sord at end of trip. All in all a great place to visit and lovely hosts thznks xo much for a memorable trip that i will never forget

Room Tip: Stayed in cave no. 4 no-one to block our view, view from bedroom the agean sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne0733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
282
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Marizan Caves is a wonderful place to stay in Oia, Santorini with excellent views out to sea and the perfect uninterrupted views of the sunsets.
Marios and his sister Janet (maybe zanet in greek??) were both really friendly, welcoming and helpful. Upon arrival Marios sat down with a map and detailed several places to visit on the island, talked about boat trips and also pointed out lots of restaurants to try depending on your budget.
The rooms at Marizan are all on different levels down the cliff face so you need to walk down some quite steep steps, but as long as you're steady on your feet you'll be fine.
The rooms are all of decent size and are nicely decorated inside with pastel colours. The only downside seems to be the size of the bathroom, which in ours and the neighbouring room were very small. However you don't go on holiday to live in your bathroom do you!
The rooms and bathroom are very clean and they are cleaned every day; they also provide fresh towels every day. They also provide some towels that can be taken out of your room to the nearby "public" pool (more about that in a bit) or onto the beaches.

The patios/terraces outside each room are really nice with several chairs, a table, some deckchairs and a sofa chair and lots of nice flowers. It is a fantastic location to sit and watch the sun go down whilst all the other tourists are struggling to find space on the streets leading up to the Marizan ... it makes you feel very privileged to be sat with a glass of wine and plenty of space around you :-). Marizan seems to be the furthest west than any of hotel so you really are perfectly located for uninterrupted views of the sunsets.
The walkways and patios are all lit up with subdued lighting at night so it's safe to walk around but dull enough to feel quite romantic.
There is a Jacuzzi on the top level of the villa which can be used by anyone staying at Marizan.

Each room has a little kitchen area and every day some ham, cheese, yogurts, butter, jam and honey are left in your fridge as well as fresh bread delivered outside your door at about 8am so you can have a continental breakfast on your patio enjoying the views over the bay. There is also a jar of some cereals.
There is a kettle and filter coffee maker in the room, they even supply the filters which is handy along with teas and coffee, milk, sugar, salt, pepper, serviettes and a large bottle of water. There are also plates, bowls, knives, forks and spoons.
We definitely recommend Marizan and would be very keen to go back soon.

It takes literally 5 minutes of walking before you reach the start of the main part of town, however there are a couple of nice bars only 3 minutes from Marizan.

There is a "public" swimming pool just a couple of minutes walk from Marizan which is basically a cafe/bar that has a nice clean swimming pool and loads of sun loungers etc. All they request is that you make a purchase of about €7 per person to use the loungers. They serve drinks, including alcoholic and really nice snack food so you can easily stay there for a long time if you wish.

In Oia we went to some really nice restaurants such as Skala (far side of town, about 15-20 minutes walk, cheap and simple but great food, worth the trip), Lotza (about 10 minutes walk, nice and cheap, quality food), Pelicanos (about 11 minute walk and is located high up on the roof of a building, so you can't miss it, very tasty, lovely staff.... the "home made donuts" were realllly tasty) and also Dimello (about 11 minutes, amazing deserts!). Finally keep your eye out for the cake shop next door to Dimello which is in the basement so keep an eye out for a window as knee height where you can see straight into the cake display. The cakes were SOOOOOOOOO nice we just had to take some back to our room every day :-) .... You can eat the cakes in the restaurant just above the shop, which has a beautiful view of the sea. My wife says it was the best Mille Feuille she's ever had.

There are a couple of cash machines (ATM) located near the bus station which is about 15 minutes walk from Marizan. Also the local shops are much cheaper nearer the bus station, or even further away from Marizan. For example an average bottle of wine costs €13 in the shop near Marizan, but the same bottle costs €8 at a small shop near the car hire place on the far side of town.

Oia isn't particularly cheap, costing about €5 for a bottle of beer and €5-7 for a glass of wine and €10 for cocktails or shots or mixers, but it is such a wonderful place. I felt safe the whole time, the tourists aren't noisey and is just so pretty ... well worth a visit .... even if there are lots of hills and steps :-).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip_Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The view is absolutely spectacular since the location of Marizan Caves is situated at the best spot to view the sunset. One can sit on their own personal terrace to enjoy the view while other tourists have to scramble for an ideal spot throughout the village.

While we sat and watched the sunset a glass of local vintage was offered to us by the manager.

Marizan Caves offers a very substantial breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, juice, milk and delicious granola mixture, small container of ham and cheese slices that are in the room's frig and a fresh bread basket that is delivered to your outside table very morning. The well equipped kitchen also includes a coffee machine for filtered coffee and electric kettle to prepare tea. One has everything if they do not want to leave the room and can enjoy the tranquility provided by the view and surroundings of tour very secluded cave room.

Room Tip: If you pay a little more your room location is further down the cliff side hence a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Brian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a few hotels during our 8 days' visit to Santorini this Oct. Each one has its own charm and attractions, and we like adding variety so that we can explore local towns and proximity. We are glad we stayed in Oia for 2 nights, and what we like about Marizan are:

1. the breathtaking view of the caldera and the famous Oia sunset in your own "backyard" without having to go earlier to reserve your spot. Indeed we found ourselves lucky to be able to sit back and relax in our balcony (even though we had to share it with our fellow hotel guest neighbors depending on which room you reserve)
2. outstanding customer service from the hotel (Marios and Georgia) with their warm greetings and informative travel tips. Marios would come to check on us from time to time to make sure we were taken care of but it was not done intrusively.
3. Hotel is located at the far end of island, which makes it more private compared to some other hotels we have seen which may have people/tourists walking past all the time

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Marizan and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room at the bottom (forgot the name) would be the most private but also requires a few more step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a cave house almost 8 months before we went to Santorini. Was looking so forward to stay in a cave house, but unfortunately our room was nothing like a cave house. I was a bit disapointed in this, but the room was nevertheless at a superior location. The sunset from our room was breathtaking beautiful. The WiFi did not have any problems and the room was clean, but very small with a double bed. The room next door was much more spacious with en extra single bed and a seperate room. I will probably book their again, but will make sure that it is in a cave house.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book they will give you a cave house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the Villa and it was amazing. We love the private balcony and Jacuzzi. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They checked in on us to see what we were planning. The weather in September is perfect.

Room Tip: The Villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Enrique de Guadiaro, Spain
Level Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Georgia and her dad are lovely. We had the cave house right at the bottom and it's not for those with bad knees! Brilliant to watch the sunsets with all the crowds gathered away above you like little meer cats.

Only negative is that it is really really dusty and the wifi only worked outside the cave (where it was too dusty). I guess you can't do anything about that at the prime location on the tip of a volcanic island, but good to know if such things bother you.

The accomodation was delightful. Go!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marizan Caves & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marizan Caves & Villas

Property: Marizan Caves & Villas
Address: Oia Santorini | Garbinoi Miloi, Oia, Greece (Formerly Marizan Studios & Villas)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marizan Caves & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marizan Caves & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marizan Caves & Villas Hotel Oia
Marizan Caves And Villas
Marizan Caves & Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing