We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous hotel - highly recommended”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed here with my fiance and my parents in August 2009 for 4 nights. We had a fabulous time and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone. Rooms were spotless when we arrived and they were cleaned daily. I booked directly with the hotel who were lovely to deal with and were very friendly. There is a bar which is very quite, however as we wanted a peaceful, relaxing break this hotel was perfect. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the center of Oia however this makes the hotel very private. On the walk into Oia there are plenty of hotels and villas (many swimming pools are located on the main footpath into the village so you have to sunbathe with an audience!!) but none have the level of privacy of Atlantida. Location wise this hotel is excellent, the views are amazing, staff are lovely, rooms clean and comfortable. Pool is small but I have yet to see a large pool in Oia! The view from the pool is spectacular. I booked this hotel on the recommendation of other travels who wrote reviews so I hope if your reading this review you have found it helpful..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    37
    33
    36
See reviews for
71
132
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The wife and I stayed 3 nights @ Atlantida Villas. The highlights of the hotel are the location, view, and service. -the location of the town is away from the big tourist areas on the island, except for around the time of sunset. There are two restaurants across the street and a vineyard down the hill and the town is 10 minutes away. Walking here is a bit dangerous especially at night -There doesn't seem to be a bad view anywhere on this island in fact so not surprising the Villas being located on the cliff you should get a good view. -And with the service we were able to get great advice on where to go, what we can do, and also were able to arrange for rentals to come to the hotel.
THE CONS of the hotel were the pool, our room, and the lack of a bar. The pool needs a couple good cleanings. It's no where close to what the picture on the website looks like and its tiny. This was very disappointing upon arrival. Our room was a suite. The walls were thin so we awoke everynight to guests coming home late or even annoyed with hearing conversations directly through the walls. This place definately need's some sounding proofing work. And finally the inconvenience of no food/drink available during the day, except mornings. It would have been great to get a sandwich or coffee when we first arrived or anytime during the afternoon. On the flip side it was good that the pool was poor and their was no food available because it forced us to explore other areas.

If you want to find a hotel to relax, do not pick this one unless you plan to go to the beach to relax and unwind.

Santorini is amazing, so when we come back we will NOT be returning to this hotel. We love the area of Oia so we would prefer to find a hotel closer to town because their are plenty more high quality hotels around. Just stroll into town one night and you'll see all the clean pools lighted up at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prezjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We spent 7 wonderful nights at this hotel. Our experience could not have been any better. It starts with the extremely helpful owner and his staff. They make sure that you have a great stay 24/7. The hotel itself is located on top of a cliff with fantastic views. It is a short walk into the main village (about 500m). The pool is super and reading on one of the chairs is magical. The rooms are basic but VERY clean. We were very happy with our setup. The A/C worked like a charm.
The service provided by the hotel is amazing. My wife got sick and the owner personally made sure that she got a doctor and the according medication. He took care of everything and even insisted on taking us to the pharmacy to get the right medications. We travel a lot and this is truly unique. It makes a world of difference.
We highly recommend this place for various reasons: The owner & his staff, super-clean rooms, fantastic views, great location.
Last but not least, there is a great Taverna right across the street. Great food & great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpcervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We just returned from the Atlantida and we have to say the staff is top notch and Georgos Syrigos is the best! We were afraid that when our ride arranged by the hotel, because it was less expensive than taking an airport taxi, wasn't there to greet us that it was going to be terrible, but when our ride did come Georgos picked up the bill. He felt terrible and made things right with us right away. A day into our trip my husband got very ill and needed to be taken to the hospital Georgos set us up with a ride to the hospital immediately. What does this all have to do with the Villas everything, the service is tops!
The views are amazing and despite what another tipster says the pool was just fine and more than adaquate. The rooms do get dusty but that is not from lack of cleaning it is because it is dry and hot and its on an old volcano!
The only and I mean only complaint that I have was, the bed was hard. I mean really hard.
Must go to the taverna restaurant across the street it is fun and very welcoming!
If you want to be in the center of town this place isn't for you.
Breakfast is served every morning from 8-11 and it is included in room, this is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytrails2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The hotel sits cliffside with an excellent view of the Caldera and the rest of Oia. There is even a sunset view from the front side of the hotel that is spectacular. George, who runs the place, is about the most service-oriented person we've ever met. This is not five star luxury; the villas are suites with a kitchenette, living room, bedroom, bathroom and a front porch that looks out over the Port of Armeni into one of the most beautiful sights on the planet. Nice, quaint and comfortable. The hotel serves a basic breakfast of yogurt, cereal, bread, juice, cheese and meats. The bathroom has a shower with a hand-held hose; if we were to make any improvements it would be in this area. But, that said, as Americans we're used to shower stalls and we enjoyed our showers every day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenobserver_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We went to Santorini in May with our 2 kids (ages 6 and 4) and another couple with children.
The hotel is clean and tranquil. The pool has great views as do the balconies. One of the unique aspects of this hotel is that you can see the ocean from both sides of the hotel. You do not have to walk down to the old castle where the evening crowd gathers; instead, you can peacefully view the sunset from the front of the hotel. The hotel rooms come with a fridge and a kitchenette. The bathroom is small and well ancient but practical. The beds are hard but you get used to them. Laundry service is also available. Breakfast is included in your rate. We fell in love with the traditional yogurt & honey breakfast. They also give you cold cuts of meat, cheese, bread, juice, tea/coffee.
The Atlantida Villas is probably a 3 star hotel at best; nevertheless, what it lacks in luxury is made up by the service of Georgos and his staff. Georgos went out of his way to make sure our stay in Santorini was pleasant. He even helped us arrange our tours. (I recommend Drosnos for your tours).
Initially we were skeptical about staying at Atlantida especially since there are "experts" in the forum who tell you to stay away from the hotel. Safety is not a concern (we went with small children), I highly recommend this place.
The hotel is located off the beaten path. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to central Oia where all the restaurants are located. The grocery store is about a 5-10 minute walk down the main road. There are 2 restaurants close by: Santorini Mou (across the street) and Finikia (5 minute walk up the street). The food at Finikia is inexpensive and good. The food as Santorini Mou is good but the atmosphere is even better. This is the restaurant owned by the famous Mihalis. Celebrities such as Jennifer Aniston and Green Day have visited this place. Here you will be serenaded by Mihalis who's performance will touch your heart (especially after some Ouzo!).
We also ate at Nectar of Ambrosia (famous for being recommended by Giada; it lived up to the recommendation.
Georgos, I thank you for the wonderful stay at the Atlantida Villas.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmgfpdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed here for 2 days at the beginning of June, when we got here we were so stressed and wound up and when we left we were different people. This is a lovely hotel, clean, light, airy rooms, all you could need for a relaxed, rejuvenating few days. Georgos is a delightful man who upon our apology for being 3 hours late due to a flight delay said "no need to worry, just relax now." I got completely hooked on the thick, decedant greek yogurt with honey over the top. I've just bought a huge tub of the stuff now that we're home. This is 10 mintues walk from the centre of oia where all the shops, restaurants and most importantly...quad bike or dune buggy hire are. :) We got here feeling old and tired at (32 and 38) and left remembering what it was like to be young again. We would come back again and again to Georgos and this magical rest stop. We also had the greatest ever margarita pizza at a nearby restaurant. The pool was cool and refreshing. I think we went at the perfect time where the places wasn't crawling with tourists.The view by the way is majestic. Almost beyhond words. The breakfast was simple and refreshing but nice, if you want a sheraton buffet to gorge yourself on then go to the sheraton. THey have done very well for people who are preparing western food (a cuisine they aren't familiar with) for us.These people aren't fat for a reason, they eat good healthy simple food and we found it a delightful change. We can't fault this place and it's people, we miss it desparatly now we're home. I wanted to tell Georgos that we'd come work for him for a month per year in exchange for lodgings and food!!!!!!! :) It was a tempting thought.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.8 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantida Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantida Villas

Property: Hotel Atlantida Villas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atlantida Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santorini hotel, atlantida Villas traditional hotel is located in amazing region of Oia santorini. Atlantida Villas hotel of the Santorini hotels belong to the 4 star category of the Santorini hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantida Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantida Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing