We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Oia”

Roka Kafeneio Ouzeri
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Oia”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Out of the way little restaurant - great service and the best food.
Can be a bit hard to find, but worth the search.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    341
    85
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, authentic food! Best in Oia”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I were in Santorini for our honeymoon this past September, and while we were thrilled with the views and our hotel (Canaves), we found that the food was not that great. Until we spoke to locals, we didn't realize that most in Santorini are not from Santorini and only work there for the season. Therefore, it's hard to find authentic, good food. Our hotel manager suggested Roka and it was the best meal we had during our five days in Santorini. Authentic, delicious, friendly people. A must-go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank la_chella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming but not the best”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Based on the reviews here, we searched around to find this charming taverna located on one of the back paths of Oia. It wasn't crowded and we had a nice table in the simple courtyard. The food was fine but nothing special - simple taverna menu with good portions. I wouldn't say it was cheap but it was reasonably priced considering it doesn't have the famous caldera viewpoint. Give it a try but don't rush to it if your stay in Oia is limited.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not good.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Do not trust the NY Times recommendation. The food was mediocre, and the service was worse. Locals were served before the tourists and the food came out cold. There are much better choices for the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best food of the trip”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Roka was recommend to us by our hotel. It was one of the best meals we had on our trip. Very friendly staff. Definitely recommend this one!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roka Kafeneio Ouzeri also viewed

Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Roka Kafeneio Ouzeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing