We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but disappointing service”
Review of Kyprida Restaurant

Kyprida Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but disappointing service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked this restaurant based on previous reviews. The food was nice but not great but the most disappointing part was the service at the end. The waitress who served us throughout the meal was lovely was attentive. However, when it came to paying the bill, the experience with the owner left a bitter taste... It was rather abrupt and rude, and we felt it was our problem that the card machine was not working.
What a shame after what a pleasant meal. Not worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annimooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    165
    60
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but ....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It seems like a nice restaurant but we regreted our order. Me and my bf ordered that 2 person plate with 15 dishes to try...well not exactly... the first surprise was that it is actually 7 dishes x 2 (i dont understand how 7x2 makes 15 but anyways)..then we started getting single small portions where we were explained that actually one of this portion is for 2 people (where i am talking about 2 mini stuffed wine leaves or 2 small meat balls considered as a portion for 2). At the end we ended up with 1 normal size piece of cake where we were explained it is a normal portion for 2 people. Totally not worth the 60 euro. Basically we got one 7-course menu for 1 person split by 2 where some of the portions were not even enough for one! Reaaaally disappointing, But I must say it was tasty. Therefore if you decide to go there please do not take the menu with mezze (snacks, bites) for 2!!! Also the house wine is rather poor

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Assya1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“great lunch:)”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really nice little restaurant hidden from the crowds with great local food! the service was excellent and the owner took really good care of us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raphaelmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food with a Water View”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our host at the Inn of the Falling Stars recommended "Kyprida" for lunch on our first day in Oia. The lamb was savory and perfectly cooked, the service was attentive but not intrusive. We had a table by the window with an ocean view...Even with many excellent restaurants in Oia, I would go to Kyprida again, first, on my next trip to Oia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHL4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice in Oia”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When I'm in Santorini I love staying in Oia, but I find that most restaurants there are not very good- mostly they are tourist traps that coast on their views of the caldera.

Kyprida is a lovely taverna with warm service and very good Greek and Cypriot food. We ate the best grilled halloumi cheese of our lives. The house wine, salads, hummus, and grilled main dishes are some of their standout dishes.

We loved it so much that we went back for a second time and made friends with the very kind French co-owner.

The rooftop seating is surrounded by pretty flowers and greenery and one section has a sea view that also has a sunset view.

Value for money is excellent! This is a very special find in Oia, and we will definitely go back on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eviemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyprida Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kyprida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing