We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great view”
Review of Sunset Ammoudi

Sunset Ammoudi
Ranked #26 of 103 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Having booked in advance, we made our way down the stairs.... arriving at the restaurant, I was ready to sit down and relax.
On arrival, our table by the water was ready even though we were a little early.
We chose to have a lot of the small dishes rather than large meals. This meant we got to try a variety of meals.
The roe dip was different from anything we have had in Australia and we loved it.
The mussels were fresh and flavoursome.
Next was the tuna and avocado which disappeared from my plate in minutes its was so nice.
While we finished our meal quickly, it was a pleasant dining experience.
Finally, the restaurant called us a taxi to make our way back up ... the stairs were just going to be too much for me.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 629clairef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2019

We’ve eaten at this restaurant four times and previously recommended it to numerous people. We were looking forward to another enjoyable seaside dinner of lobster spaghetti. We had our hosts in Oia make the reservation for us a week or two in advance then walked down to Ammoudi the day before to confirm. Chris met us and welcomed us back and assured us we would have a fine seaside table the next evening. When we arrived we found all the seaside tables taken and everyone slow walking their drinks and dinner to assure they caught the sunset. Chris backpedaled and hemmed and hawed then gave a couple who were finishing up the bums rush to seat us at the very worst seaside table. There was no view of the sunset from the table which was literally outside the covered area of the restaurant. He told me to just have a drink and relax. We accepted that it was what it was but we’re unaccustomed to poor service in Greece. We ordered the lobster spaghetti and shortly our waiter presented us with the price of the lobster, €127. In the past we’ve been shown to the fresh fish and lobster case where the lobster was weighed and priced in front of you. I doubt very much that we actually got the €127 lobster but it was sweet and tender. The spaghetti though was almost devoid of their famous sauce for which we’ve returned four times. We had a delicious Santorini salad to begin then waited forty minutes for the lobster spaghetti. We ordered dessert, baklava which was good but accompanied by a chintzy tablespoon or two of ice cream. The bill was €160 for a poor performance all around. They are trying to serve too many people with too small a kitchen. They are more greedy than good. Avoid unless you feel comfortable taking a seaside table at six in the evening and nursing your food and drink for the next two hours for the sunset.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pdxtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

Incredibly fresh seafood with an amazing view and friendly helpful staff. I wouldn’t have any hesitation in recommending here to any of my friends or family. Reasonable price considering what you get.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jameskQ146IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

The location of this restaurant is simply incredible, though if you are going to eat here then you will really want a waterfront seat, and therefore should book. Due to the location, the prices are high, Ammoudi Bay is probably the most expensive area to eat on Santorini, an already expensive Island.

The food was incredible.

The service was good, though compared to the exceptional service received across much of Santorini, it felt a bit cold and like we were an inconvenience.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank bmwagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Giannis Vasilis made us so comfortable as we sat literally on the EDGE of the pier - overlooking the crystal clear water of Ammoudi Bay - 300+ steps below Oia! (take a taxi!) Dinner was awesome- pricey but worth every Euro - Beautiful sunset - then watched all the catamarans unloading. Giannis kept it lively - people around us were sharing their travel stories - laughing over glasses of liqueur after dinner. Many choices of restaurant but this feels like the old Oia fishing village!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing